Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Maie Bartlett Heard School

Public | PK-8 | 680 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

I really like Heard school even though my child had a rough start. The teacher was not the best fit for my child. When I brought this up to the Principal his comment was he cannot help at this time. His reasoning was if he transferred my child to another class it would be too much for that teacher. He kept expressing about the numbers to high. So he said there is no solution at the moment and transfer my child to another school. I was very distraught and stressed. I didn't know who to reach out to. I did talk to someone at the school and they gave me the help I needed. Now my child is still at Heard and did get transferred to another class. My child is doing great and learning a lot. So remember when your at a loss there are great people and awesome advocates at Heard school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

I like my children school pretty much because it is like our family all the teachers and workers from school are very nice to others. They are always there for our and our kids. And if we have any questions for them , they always have the correct response and that is what make parents to fell welcomed to heard school. I also like that parents are always welcome to volunteer on the school and at our kids classrooms . Our principal leadership it is awesome because Mr. Antony it is always around the building taking care of parents and children. And answering our concerns about any little thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

I think of this school as a five star school . The progress has come a long way sense last year. ! The teacher are experienced ,and have build a wonderful environment for kids ton be successful in class. The principal has wonderful leadership qualities in communications whit teachers and parents and students. I volunteer here working whit other volunteers, staff, teachers, and the principal and this has been amazing experience for my children and I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

Heard School is an amazing school. Our students and staff go over and beyond expectations. Our school motto is Be H.E.A.R.D.= Be Helpful Be Extraordinary Be A Leader Be Responsible Be Determined AT ALL TIMES!! BE HEARD!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2013

In my 5 years with this school, I have had the pleasure of witnessing its growth, in so many positive ways. And with such a diverse population of students, it is important to have a staff that is ready and willing to push their students towards their potential and beyond, and I believe Heard accomplishes that daily. Not only is there a caring and driven staff, but the students are what really make Heard so special.... None compare....
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2013

I love working at this school. We have created a great team and are working hard to improve not only our students education but our own as well. We are a dedicated bunch would love to come to work every day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2013

Heard is a school where everyone works together to provide the best learning opportunities to students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2013

Heard is an exceptional school! They have such a diverse population of students that they educate. Even with so many cultures brought together in one place, there is such a sense of community between the students, staff, and families! I have never worked in a school that is as welcoming, generous, and hard working!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 16, 2005

The teachers and students are really putting theire efforts forth to improve this schools test scores. It is a positive environment that is being encouraged by the hard work of everyone.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 6, 2004

My son attended Heard school and I have no way of thanking them for how much they did for us. I was amazed to see the principal's energy. She is everywhere! She is really involved with her students. My son was challenged; he was reading at 3rd grade level while he was in 1st grade and this is the result of each teacher working one on one with each one of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2003

We were worried at first moving our children to this school but I am extremely pleased with this school. The principle is great with the teachers and the students, the teachers really are top notch. They have better readers than other 'supposedly GREAT' schools in the area. We love you Heard, keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
28%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 69% 42%
Asian 16% 3%
Black 6% 5%
White 5% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 6%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 257-3881

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2301 W Thomas Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85015
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 257-3880

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Encanto School
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT