Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Manzanita Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 820 students

A traditional neighborhood school with a 50 year history of excellence

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2013

All I can say, do not send your children at this school. School is a joke. Principal himself is a joke. They all just wanna be friends there. Lots of negative vibes there. I transferred my child somewhere else. Administration must change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2012

Manzanita is an awesome school. I've had kids going there since 1999 and I found that the best way to know what s going on is being actively involved. Every teacher has an e-mail and every time I had a concern I was able to get my questions answered. My kids all have had great teachers (ya, there's been bad ones too) but communicating with the teachers is the key. My youngest son was bullied a couple of years ago, the staff put an immediate end in a way that the bully was put to work and my son didn't have to change his habits. I've learned that the key is parent involvement. Get to know the teachers, staff and other parents, it makes a huge difference. Be involved, join the PTO, help out when you can. Get involved in your kids education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

This school has disappointed me this year. All of my kids have attended this school in the past and I must say the teachers are great, maybe not all but most. This year alot of things changed with the new principal which I have nothing good to say about, he is just definitely out of the question, no parent communication, and the office staff much less professional than past years. This school totally forgot they had parents coming from the south side of 39th Ave therefore they decided not to allow us to make a left turn into the school, so how are we supposed to get in to the school to drop off children. I guess gas prices, mileage, and time is not there problem. They even got a cop to cite everybody coming into the school from the south side that had to make that left turn in order to get in. Sad to say but this school doesn't care about parents or students that much. With all the inconvenience I have to go thru just to drop off and pick up my kids every day, I and alot of other parents living south of the school will be moving our children to different school even if we have to carpool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

Some may say good things about this school, maybe when your child/children attended this school a few years back it was different. my personal experience with my kids at this school with in a one years time isnt good. Ive had my childrens bullied, had my child come home to tell me that a teacher/staff at the school told them to trash there lunch, I dont get free lunch for my kids, I buy and pack my children lunch daily for school. Ive had my children not wanting to attend school anymore. If you really care about your child/children education and needs please find another school beside Manzanita, the staff at the front never answer the phone, the Principal himself is a JOKE...The teachers dont make time for Parent conference when you want to attend one...also your not allowed to disturb your child education...meaning u cant just show up and visit there classroom, look back and my parents used to visit my classroom,also their is alot of lack of communication and parent involvement is very low,he only time they ask for parent involvement is when the school decides to sell hotdogs,burgers and such,who knows what happens to that fund because the fliers my children bring back dont say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

I happen to love this schgol. I have read all kinds of negatives here and have to wonder where these parents are? I know they are not involved much with the PTO or school functions. How do I know this? Because I am involved in every aspect I can be involved in. So where are you? As for the teachers, they are ALL exceptional. They truly care about their students and go out of their way to help. My child is a special needs student and gets FANTASTIC care and consideration there! They are AWESOME!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

So there is a problem the way the students are schooled if you consider that 40 children in one class and one teacher teaching the class then it would seem that the gap is huge where is the homework ahhhhhhhhh where does this school rank ! All the parents who have a children there be aware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

i am a parent who have had nothing but fantastic parent teacher and also principal communication. i love this school and my children have had nothing but excellent teachers . and one awesome basketball team as well as coach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

This school has been a big disappointment. The quality of academic programs in the school is below standards for children with speacial needs and especially with acedemics in reading-writing. We were involved with several meetings with the LD teachers, principal and district too, this ended with discouraging results. Our observation the teachers seemed to misuse/abuse the make your day program and there was lack of professionalism with this group as well. I can really relate to the other posts from concerned parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

The quality of academic programs in the school is definitely substandard-especially math. Keep on top of your children to ensure that they don't get behind. The extracurricular activities are very limited in comparison with other schools-even schools within the same district. The parental involvement is low. We have been very involved, including several meetings with the principal and the district, and only got results because we pressed for them. Our children have complained of multiple incidences with several teachers in regards to the teachers behavior. There is definitely a lack of professionalism with some of them. On a good note, there are a handful of awesome teachers! Other than that, I would have never bought our home in this neighborhood if I knew then what I know now-I feel like we cheated our kids on their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2007

I think that quality of academic is low especially in math, there is little or no encouragement for parents to be actively involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2006

I think manazinta focused more on discpine of chilrdren than focusing on reading. Make sure you stay on them for your childs sake
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2006

My children went to Manzanita for most of their elementary careers. I moved two of them once. Both times they chose to go back. I did not like the discipline techniques used and ofcourse the new nclba has made teaching more difficult in that teachers focus on testing rather than core knowledge development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

Manzanita has continued to achieve despite the downward socio economic plunge of the neighborhood. The teachers have always been very concerned with each child & have high expectations.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 10, 2006

I think that Manzanita school has a friendly environment. There seems to be alot of joy that I see with the teachers and the students. I think that academically it falls short compared to other schools. The children hardly have homework and the homework they do have is really nothing. My children are not challenged. I do not like changing schools but am seeking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

I was a teacher at Manzanita for 7 years and found it to be one of the best schools I've seen. They have very friendly and caring staff. However, like most schools, some teachers are excellent and come are marginal. Be an active parent and get the best teacher for your child.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted August 23, 2005

Manzanita is a fine school , although I wish it had more for the kids. there isn't alot of extracurricular activities. I do notice that on functions (ie: open house,holiday programs etc) there are alot of families there but they don't seem to be very organized. I think the quality of academic programs is fine but classes are overcrowded and the kids don't get alot of individual attention . I feel like the ones who need a little extra could fall through the cracks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

Looking forward to my child attending. I think we can all profit from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2005

Manzanita is a great school. They have wonderful teachers and a principal that gets to know each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

Manzanita is a really good school. If you are the really nervous, cautious, yet excited at the same time when your child is about to start kindergarten(which we all are), then this the place to be. The first day is all about getting to know your child, basically just talking, playing, testing the intelligence of the children. Little tests verbally about what they already know, so they know where to start. Which I thought was a really good idea. Even though kindergarten is 'easy', kids these days have to know certain things before they can advance. For example, reading, writing and understanding phonics are introduced and taught throughout the rest of the year. Attention is greatly paid to these children in any and every area where it is needed. I like this school very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2004

Manzanita is a good school. I only wish that the class sizes were not so large. 25 - 30 kids per class seems too large. I would love to see the district help the students and teachers by reducing the class sizes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 43%
White 29% 42%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Tim Fountain
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (602) 347-2220

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
  • Performance stage
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
More from this school
  • Come check us out. We have a great staff that works hard to make the most of every experience for our kids.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Preschool
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Palo Verde Middle School
North Pointe
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8430 N 39th Ave
Phoenix, AZ 85051
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 347-2200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT