Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Maxine O Bush Elementary School 5

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
This is my sons first year attending Maxine O. Bush Elementary. He had attended two other schools on the west side of town prior to going to this school. We had just purchased a home nearby and quite honestly I was very much concerned with the reviews I had read. I decided to go with my instincts and enroll my son and see for myself. Because we were buying our home, I really had only one other option and this was private school and this was not in our budget. I was pleased that my son now looks forward to going to school everyday and no longer gives me a hassle every morning. This is such a weight off my shoulders, knowing my child enjoys school for a change. The staff is awesome and always helpful and concerned when it comes to the students well being. My son has always struggled in certain academics, which of course was a major concern for me. Previous schools had dragged their feet and never showed interest in testing him for a learning disability. But much thanks to his teacher for her concern and efforts, regarding my sons education, we got the necessary testing and paper work completed and has already shown improvement. He loves this school and it is by far the best school overall. You can't always rely on other peoples opinion because the problem may of resulted from their behavior and actions.

Maxine O Bush Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
Thanks to Mrs. Sells for her extraordinary teaching abilities and concern for her students. You are by far the best teacher I've known. Seeing I am a mother of 2 college graduates and another in high school, I have met a great deal of teachers. You are awesome!!


Maxine O Bush Elementary School 1

Posted July 18, 2014
- a parent
If you want a quality education for your children don't send them to this school. 1 out of 5 stars is not low enough to grade this school. Sorry to the kids who have to attend it.

Maxine O Bush Elementary School 3

Posted May 23, 2014
- a community member
I went to Maxine O Bush and yeah we have loud and careless kids but I dont think the teachers are lousy and don't do their jobs, they do give them the punishments they deserve and overall I liked this school, I did good because I payed attention and I think that if your kid is bad then there isn't any school that is going to magically fix him like you need to make him behave yourself so he can do good in school it's not Bush's fault because they try really hard and the teachers are really close to the students and i've been to other schools where the principal is hardly ever there and teachers were tempermental but maxine's principal is so close to us she's like our second mom and i think it's a really loving school

Maxine O Bush Elementary School 1

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
This school is a nightmare the so called principal is a witch she needs to be retrained on how to talk to parents. She is in south Phoenix but doesn't give her the right to treat people as ignorant as she is!!! Worst nightmare I attended the school therefore I figured it would be good for my children to go there but no it is horrible


Maxine O Bush Elementary School 3

Posted January 11, 2014
- a community member
Bush , has changed alot since Ms . Norwood came in . Shes cared about us , like a mother . She doesnt accept no homework being done , over the years we have gotten more teachers who care , who want us to have an education , teachers & parents are focusing on the past not the future . 2013-2014 has changed , this school has become a better foundation for our school . Im in 8th grade & im proud to say ive been their & I will promote in 2014 , from the help of the teachers , principle , parents , staff , etc . Bush has changed since Ms. Norwood came in , im proud to say shes expects alot from us , but at the end its worth it ( :

Maxine O Bush Elementary School 1

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
This by far is the worst school ever the principal always talk with an attitude or as if she is always correct without taking advice or listening she needs to do better herself! My child is in kindergarten as the year started she had a teacher who didn't speak english well!! Now she has moved to a new class room with a new teacher which was only there a week and now its different subs that always need help because the kids are to much for them i have sat in class a few times just to help the sub out! The school had to split the class room up between 2 other classes which means the 2 other classes was a over load!! How can a teacher teach when there is to many students to focus on. My child has had 3 teachers already they have no stability what so ever I will be withdrawing my child from this school today and will not look back!

Maxine O Bush Elementary School 1

Posted June 27, 2011
- a community member
i was a student in 2011 i was picked on and bulled by all the other kids and no staff or teacher did anything about it my teacher patrica kirkendoll just yelled at me for being picked on and bulled and always made fun of me to all the other students and then when when i told my teacher that a student was going to fight me after school she yelled at me and sent me to the office where the vice priciable agve me a refferl and told may mom it was for being out of calss i was onley there for maybe 4 months befor my mom had pulled me out


Maxine O Bush Elementary School 1

Posted May 17, 2011
- a parent
I have had 3 children attending this school at one time. Fortunatly one of them has moved on to high school. This scool has a very bad lack of dicilpline. The children are extremely rude and disrespectful not only to the staff and teachers but to any kind of authority figure. The teachers and administrators tend to look the other way and don't want to deal with it. The principal Pat Jury has absolutly NO idea of what goes on in her school, maybe that is why they need 2 so called Dicipline Specialists (aka Vice Principal). That is why I am taking my other 2 children out of this school!

Maxine O Bush Elementary School 1

Posted January 05, 2011
- a parent
My child has been going there for 2 years and has not learned a thing. she has not had a stable teacher there at all!!! This school sucks! its the worst school I have ever been to.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Maxine O Bush Elementary School
602 E Siesta Drive, Phoenix, AZ  85042
(602) 243-4800
Last modified Maxine O Bush Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Maxine O Bush Elementary School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top