Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mercury Mine Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 557 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 19, 2008

Very good food, and good teachers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2008

We've been fairly happy with the school. Good teachers, wonderful crossing guards/aids! Strong sense of community. The principal is not very friendly, warm, caring or outgoing. Unfortunate really. Classes are a bit large and as with all school in our country there is the sense that the teachers never have enought time or help with the children that need a little more. The Character Counts program is ok, not enough individual recognition for those little things though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

I also have a child that needs more support than others. Part of the problem is the shool has never had so many children with special needs that aren't in special education. Additional effort requires additional funding and without that rating they get no help. I think they do the best they can. I just hope they don't give up on these kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

I have a child that requires additional effort and I don't feel the staff is willing to do anything above the absolute minimum. I am pretty disappointed in this school. Several other schools in the area make much more of an effort to improve their contact with students and parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

My child just moved into this school this year and I'm sure all of these reviews are correct for those parents that are fortunate enough to have children not requiring special assistance. The curriculum is interesting and they have a great reading program however their ability to teach difficult students could be seriously improved. The facility is clean and safe, except for the ongoing construction project, I think the fencing could be more secure around rambunctious children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

This school is tops from the Principal to the crossing guards, and every representative between. (not to minimize the value of the crossing guards) The over-all education experience of each child is highly valued here. Our 27 year-old and our 11 year-old have attended this school. I cannot say either of them ever had a teacher less than dedicated and extremely professional. Both were/are involved in strings and performing arts, having excellent teachers and experiences. There seems to always be something going on at Mercury Mine. Many dedicated parent volunteers work with staff and teachers to make learning exciting and fun. Communication has always been great. Discipline is what I would call rigid and efficient at this school. It is definitely New-Millenium-Politically-Correct, which there is no going back on now (in any learning institution). However, a no-nonsense approach to discipline is appreciated by parents who want an ordered learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

I definitely agree with this review. Unfortunately both parents work and cannot volunteer as much as we would like to. It does seem there is a better student/teacher relationship for the kids whose parents are able to volunteer. I have almost felt like we have been brushed off anytime I bring my concerns to the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

This is a good solid school. The teachers are excellent and dedicated. Much parent involvement in the past and is needed from new parents that want to be involved in their child's education. Many extracurricular activities and an excellent physical education department. They have their own gym. A plus in Arizona. This is an excelling school. They work hard and deserve this rating. Mercury Mine is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2007

My son and daughter have attended Mercury Mine and for the most part everything has gone very well and we have enjoyed most of the teachers. However, the schedule favors girls much more than boys. Only one recess is given and that is at lunchtime. Last year when my son was in second grade, when it came time to hand out awards for the best behavior, it was all girls that were rewarded, no boys. I know that this is a shift in our society anyway to view boys as 'boys will be boys', but we need stronger leaders who know how to appropriately discipline boys so they don't get labeled 'bad' at such a young age. Beyond that, academics are great, the extracurricular activities are in abundance, and I agree with another review that the parental involvement and preferential student treatment is reserved for a few.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

Nice School with real sense of community. Parent Teacher Volunteer group desires help, and plans various community building school events throughout the year. Families can really benefit from jumping in to help. Classroom have enriching volunteer and committee lead programs which include; Mini Museum, Mini Musicians, Classroom Gardening, Character Counts, Desert Learning Area, and Artist in Residence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2007

We are thrilled with Mercury Mine. Mrs. Alley is very organized and focused on making the school the best it can be. Positive behavior is recognized with a Character Counts program. Parent involvement is encouraged and appreciated, and there are so many different ways to help. We appreciate the extra programs that allow the children to learn through music, art, plays, and other creative ways. We look forward to watching our kids learn and grow at the Mine!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

Staff is great. Principal and discipline are not so great. Rather than rewarding positive behavior, emphasis seems to be on punishing bad behavior. Parent involvement is good, but limited to a small group of parents, whose children seem to get preferential treatment by staff. Extra curricular activities offered seem geared more to upper grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2006

Mercury Mine is an excellent school. Teachers are dedicated to the success of the students. My daughter is in her 3rd year at MMES. I wouldn't want her to go anywhere else. Mrs. Alley runs a tight ship. The kids respect her and follow the rules for the most part. The character counts that are given to children who earn them and it builds the morale at the school by rewarding good behavior. The ticketing system to correct unacceptable behavior is great. It is wonderful to know that the school cares enough to partner with the parents to correct unacceptable behavior before the kids get in middle or high school. The test scores are exceptional. I highly recommend Mercury Mine to any parent. You will be amazed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

Excellent multi-age program with lots of parental involvement and activities. School is rated as excelling and teachers are extremely dedicated. Kindergarten and first grade are excellent. Extracuricular activities like chess club and gardening.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2005

We are very pleased with this school. The sense of community with in the school is very encouraging for us. We are very excited for our daughter to attend MM for her upcoming first grade year. This past year I was pleasantly surprised in that my daughter can read simple sentences, add and subtract, and likes to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

This is a great school. Two of kids have attended the school. One of my kids was in special education and had a great male Resource teacher who made a huge difference in my son's academic performance and confdence. The speech pathlogist is also a wonderful person. The school has a very diverse student population and the kids get along extremely well. The principal, Donna Alley, is stern and a bit serious minded, but she is fair and definitely expects a lot out of her staff. There is not one bad thing I could say abut MMES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2005

I think this is a pretty good school. They have a neat drama/play group they do in the classroom. My daughter seemed very happy here and all of her friends parents were involved in the school. I know several students who struggled with the math department. Overall I would rate the school a 4.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

I love this school! Mercury Mine performs well and also teaches my kids actual life skills beyond the AIMS test. There are several extracurricular activities available to each grade level. The Kindergarten is all day, that means teachers don't have to rush our smallest students through a hectic 2.5 hour schedule. Kinders are lucky to have music, p.e., art, media and library as special areas as well as the 1-6th grades. Parents are encouraged to take an active part in their child's education. Administration and staff are supportive of parents' efforts. Parent/teacher communication is easy. This is a friendly environment that doesn't fail to teach well, achieve high goals and foster life-long learning. Students' work, art, experiments, and projects are displayed in the halls and media center. I think that shows the kids they are valued and their work is important. Mercury Mine is an outstanding place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2003

There is exceptional parental involvement in the school encouraged by a faculty committed to providing a broad range of experiences to the students. There is a drive to show the community that the quality of education compares favorably to the private and charter schools that have recruited students from the area.


Posted March 12, 2003

My child was at a private kindergarten and then a charter school before attending Mercury Mine. He did not like going to school prior to attending Mercury Mine and now he loves school!!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Hispanic 18% 43%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9640 North 28th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85028
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Roadrunner School
Phoenix, AZ


BASIS Phoenix
Phoenix, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT