Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Metro Tech High School

Public | 9-12 | 1409 students

 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 18, 2014

Metro Tech High School located in Phoenix, Arizona is the best high school there is! I attended MTHS from my freshman year throughout my senior year and I absolutely loved it! Metro Tech isn't like any other school, it isn't a home school, its a school that you have to apply to get into therefore they only choose the best to get in. The teachers are one of a kind, very strict and very professional. They only want what's best for there students. If your looking for a great school to go to or looking for an "over achiever" school to send your kids to choose MTHS. You will not regret it! I went there and my three younger brothers are going there. Trust me you will never find a school like this!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2011

Metro Tech has had great success this last year. Our seniors earned $2,000,000 in scholarship offers, we had several dozen students win awards at state career technical student organization compeitions and several students earned awards at the national career technical student organization leadership confereces. As a teacher I find the students (for the most part) highly motivated and willing to learn. Our standardized test scores continue to go up.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 19, 2011

My daughter has attended Metro Tech High since her freshman year and she is now a Senior. The school has excellent teachers and they have supported my daughter to follow her dreams and goals. This is an excellent career high school. I never hear about student fights either which is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

I think this is a great school that helps students discover what they truly want to be
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2007

i'm a metro tech graduate. i graduated last year with academic honors. the experiences that i aquired at metro have helped me to get a good job and help my family. having gone to metro tech was the greatest decision that i could've made. the people where great and the teachers care about their students. they become your friends so that they may influence you to do more. i don not regret my decision to have attended metro tech. i was a student of the drafting program and i enjoyed every minute of it. thank you to all the staff and students that made my experience such an enjoyable one.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 7, 2007

This is the best school in the world!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2006

Wonderful alternative! This is a great opportunity for students ready to give up on high school. This school helps guide the student into a position they can start now and see themselves advancing in after graduation.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 23, 2005

it is a pretty good school my daughter graduted with high grade percentiles.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2003

This high school is a pretty good school based on my sons' comments etc., he likes school and is doing well, but i also think if kids had more support at home, as does mine, others could do just as well. Parents are very IMPORTANT in the success of their childrens academics. I see his friends and some are not doing so well, but are also dealing with lots of problems @home


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 95% 43%
Black 2% 5%
White 2% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 4:10 pm
School Leader's name
  • Kate McDonald
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 764-8215

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Technology
  • Vocational education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1900 W. Thomas Road
Phoenix, AZ 85015
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 764-8008

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT