Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Milestones Charter School

Charter | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $98,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

83 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2007

I am extremely pleased with the way things have been going this year. My children are thriving in the small school community. I feel lucky to have found this school. Are there issues that still need to be addressed? Yes, but far less than at the public school that my children attended previously. And aren't there ongoing issues with any school?I say good luck and goodbye to the nay-sayers. I hope they find the perfection they are looking for. This is a new school that has grown tremendously. I have found the administration very easy to talk to. The teachers are, on a whole, fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

This school year has gotten off to a great start. While I know last year was a transition year, this year thus far seems filled with activities and fun educational days. My kids come home with great reviews of their days. They love their teachers, I would recommend this school to anyone that has a child that wants to learn and have fun doing it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2007

Make sure you read ALL the review. Babysitting at best. Public school is a safer, better option. They are only out to make money here, education is LAST on the list
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

I'm sure all of these possitive reviews are written by school personal. Read through all the reviews to find out the negative truth about this school. This year has shown us the lack of integrity the school possesses. As parents, coming to the administration with concerns has left us with a great disappointment. Totally unprofessional and uncaring. Would not recommend this school. Our children deserve better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

This school is excellent! My children all have above average test scores and they enjoy going to school. The Administration know my children by name as well as their personality as well as what is going on in their life. It is the personal touches that make this school a great place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

Below average at best. Administration is awful ! This school lacks in every way. Poor library no computer program, art , music and pe is nothing more then baby sitting. To much ego from the principal and vice principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

This school is deficient in several areas. Library resources are very limited, computer use is non-existent and their class curriculum lacks challenge for most students. It is evident this school offers nothing out of the ordinary. Be open minded that this school has lots of room for improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

I love this school. My boys have been here from kindergarten, they are now in 10,5 & 3rd grade. I have seen a few problems but for the most part they are taken care of.If anyone thinks that there are not problems within a school, you are dreaming.Public schools are far worse.There are a few teachers that need to be reminded of their roles as educators and not buddies to the teenagers.I have only had problems with one teacher and one aide, other than that we are very happy. If I have a problem, the admin listens to my issues and we resolve it. Don't complain about something if you are not willing to help with the solution.Be a part of the shcool and the growing, not part of the problem by badmouthing the great people here.Take your concerns to the source & help find a solution. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

My child has went to this school for two years now. I have been very pleased with her teachers. I would recommend anyone interested in this school to check it out for yourself. I agree with some of the comments brought up in other posts about leadership, but the teachers are great and that is number one for me! I have never worried that my child was not in a safe, loving and nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

My son had a great teacher. I didn't have any problems with administration, but I know several parents who did. I would not recommend this school. The teacher turnover was significant last year. In music, my son came home many, many days and said they only played freeze dance. In PE, they ran around the gym. No computers at this school because they don't work, they were donated and are old. Unacceptable! Everyone school in the country should offer computer classes, and I haven't come across one yet, except Milestones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2007

I feel so lucky to be a part of the Milestones community. Administration, teachers and staff have always had the best interest of the children at heart. My child has thrived at Milestones, and his test scores reflect excellent teaching that meets state standards. I absolutely love that the principal and administrators know all students, and many parents and siblings, by first name! I can always be sure that my child is well cared for and looked after while at Milestones. I have been sad to read that some families were not happy at Milestones, but like any school, Milestones could never be a perfect match for all students/families. It is definitely a school that is new and in the process of growing, and that should be kept in mind by potential parents. But is it awesome to be a part of that growth and exciting change!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

I am a teacher and proud parent of 2 Milestone's students. My children have had a wonderful school experience here. They excelled in their aims and terra nova scores and they have made wonderful friends. Milestones teaches to each child individually, and their number one concern is the education and safety of each and every child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 16, 2007

I am sad to say I am pulling my kids out of this school. The leadership and 'truthful' parent communication was & is lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

What was once a caring, wonderful teaching environment for our children has become a disorganized mess. The principal and vice principal are doing a poor job at trying to maintain order. Bullying has become the norm in the middle school. School work is minimal. Milestones is not the top notch school it once was. I would advise any parent to consider other schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

I have been a teacher at Milestones for many years and I can honestly say that the 2006/07 school year has been the best year ever. Milestones has the best, most committed teachers that feel so supported in any way by administration. As teachers, we are lucky enough to know all the children regardless of their grade. The Milestones philosophy, that everyone is cared for and respected, is understood and carried out by everyone. Milestones is a wonderful school for students and their families. Teachers are given the flexibility to make learning fun and engaging; always meeting standards.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 3, 2007

I sent my children to this school last year because of the wonderful reports of their teaching techniques. I was impressed with their patients with the children, but found the school to be a bit disorganized. My children came from an advanced school system, and when I asked them if they learned anything this past year, they told me 'Mommy, I did not learn anything this year.' It is pretty bad when the children tell you that they learned nothing this year. Keep looking if you want your child to be chanllenged in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

While I am sure it's difficult to please everyone, when I drop my child off at school, I see happy children, pleased parents and a staff that has always been friendly and helpful. My advice is to check the school out for yourself and make a decision based on your feelings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

I have been taking my son to milestones for 3 years. I am very happy with the teachers, and the way they educate my son. He comes home with something new every day through out the school year. I think the school is doing a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

My son has been there for 4 years, since he was in preschool. I love it. I have never had a problem with administration and the teachers are wonderful. My son has had the best in education and love from all. What administrative change? The same people have been there from my start and I believe from the schools start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2007

This year has shown us the lack of integrity the school possesses. As parents, coming to the administration with concerns has left us with a great disappointment. Totally unprofessional and uncaring. Would not recommend this school. Our children deserve better.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 42%
Hispanic 14% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Donna Steadman
Fax number
  • (602) 404-5456

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Volleyball
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4707 East Robert E Lee Street
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 404-1009

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT