Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered - Mountain

Charter | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

58 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2011

This is a far cry from the school Maria Montessori developed. I doubt that Maria would withhold recess from children for not completing work. Parents are very involved & the Principal seems to have her heart in the right place with little action. My child's teacher is knowledgeable but since my child is in the older group of kids the assistant teacher often provides instruction. The assistant teacher has no teacher training & from my observations doesn't enjoy working with children. The office staff is rude & the campus is unsecured with plenty of access for anybody to come & go. They have security cameras that are wired to be viewed in the office by nobody in particular. The secretary can't monitor them while she is performing her job tasks. Additionally I have been in the office alone while nobody was monitoring the campus security. If you or you child is allergic to cats this is the wrong place for you. The school keeps a cat that is allowed to roam freely in & out of buildings & sleep on the office chairs, giving you a great sneeze every where you go. My child is performing above grade level & although we have requested it has not been challenged with new materials.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

Is there a perfect school? I would have to say no. I drive more than 50 miles a day to and from school but I do it because it is worth it! MDS provides a safe and thought-provoking environment. I have a child in the 2nd grade and another in the 4th grade. My children have learned to have respect for their community as well as for themselves. In this "me" centered world, I am encouraged that they are being taught that they are part of a bigger picture. I truly see future leaders in this school. The students are encouraged as well as challenged. I like being able to communicate to the teachers and see immediate action. If you are looking for a school where your child could reach his/her full potential, I would strongly recommend sending your child(ren) to MDS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2011

I have had my children in this school for a long time. My daughter has been at MDS since she was 2 and my son since he was 15 months. I couldn't have found a better school for them. Class size is small and with the an assistant in every classroom, the kids get all the individual attention they need to be successful. The school is small but quaint and it has a comfortable quality about it. MDS may not be as up to date as other elementary and middle schools but what it lacks in technological wizardry it makes up for in genuine personality. The teachers are dedicated to making sure that each student gets the attention that they need. The children can work at a pace that is best for them which helps them develop a sense of independence and accomplishment. MDS is a great school for any child 3 years through 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

The ONLY thing that this school has going for it is that it is, at least loosely, based upon the Montessori method. My children have been going to this school for for years, and to my utter astonishment, they still have a very obvious lack of organization. The teachers that I have spoken to are hardly impressive and I find the people in the "office" to be rude and very unprofessional. The irony is not lost on me that they hold the children to one standard and then they themselves are completely disrespectful to children and they appear to not really understand children. They appear to struggle and are always coming across as if they are in over their heads and that they are needy. The school is still in need of repairs. You may ask why I let my kids still go there, and the only real answer I can offer is, even as bad as this place is, the local elementary schools are not any better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

My daughter started kindergarten last fall and we ve been very happy with our choice. We looked at 6 other schools and choose this one because: 1. My child can move at her own pace and have an individualized education plan. They don t hold her at the class average but allow her to move at her speed 2. My daughter does not move onto the next subject until she fully understands and can show evidence that she has learned what is expected. 3. The school is really good about realizing that all aspects of a child's life affect their learning. 4. They have a great 11 to 1 ratio in kindergarten. Also, it s not a system that depends on getting a "good teacher". It is student driven instruction rather than teacher driven, and students have personal responsibility for their education. Some other things we ve seen: they really love parent involvement, although they re still working out the kinks in organizing it efficiently; the teachers and principal are very invested in the students; they have high standards for the kids and their behavior in the class; communication is still a little rusty sometimes, but they are trying hard. All in all, my daughter loves going to school and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

MDS allows for great interaction of parents in classroom, in extra-ciricular choices, in fund-raising,etc. Few schools welcome the questions and concerns of the adults or children as much as this school`s founders Ed and Peg Huffman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2011

Above all else, MDS is a child-centered campus. Following the true Montessori philosophy that balances responsibility with freedom, MDS strives to inform everyone involved in a child's education that even young children can, and should, be expected to be responsible for themselves. Our Primary classes begin this process for parents and children as young as 3; our K-only class puts the parents & children on a fast-track to becoming independent not only in self-help/daily living skills, but academically, as well. This theme is carried on through Junior & Senior Elementary and Middle School. If you're looking for an education that will prepare your child for the challenging world that faces all of us, MDS is an excellent choice. We push academics, of course! But in an effort to educate the "whole child" we use teachable moments to play out "what if" scenarios that demonstrate to the children that every choice has a consequence and that we, as individuals, are responsible for those choices. We all have the power to change our own lives, because we're not limited by the curriculum "fed" to us by teachers. Independence is expected.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 13, 2011

My daughter started kindergarten at this school in 2010. She loves it, and so do we. We appreciate the small community, pleasant classrooms with windows, the healthy-living guidelines for lunches and school preparations (no TV before school), and the natural learning environment, Our daughter began reading prior to kindergarten. Rather than holding her back to learn at the pace of the teacher, her teacher developed a curriculum plan to meet her ability level. We look forward to her continued education at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

This is an awesome school. We used to live close, but we moved away and still drive about 40 minutes each way because the quality of education is remarkable. The middle school isn't a scary place, which is why we originally looked here. One of my kids has been fortunate enough to attend from preschool all the way through to this year, eigth grade. And my sons that went to middle school both say that "Once you've done Mr. Walker's middle school, high school and college are a piece of cake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

My daughters have gone to this school for 4 years and I love it. There is an amazing parent committee this year that has really stepped up with Field Trips and great events. They teach personal responsibility and most of all if your child does have issues they work with you and the child. Montessori embodies the whole person and the class sizes are small. I highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

For the 3rd year in a row, these people have impressed me. They really care about the children in their care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

Montessori is the way to go. Intergrates mind/body/soul into the childs lifestyle. The staff and teachers here are very dedicated to the well-being and overall growth of the child. Thier teaching styles and love of the program combined with parent involvement make it a win-win situation. My son has learned and grown very well under this style of education. I enjoy the group interactions and encouragement for the child to be responsible for thier actions and thier part of the community. These benefits are only topped by the fact that they are a charter school! Why place a child in the public school system when there is MDS available?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2009

Why choose a montessori education? there are many reasons i have decided to enroll my two children at this school. a montessori education includes a complete body/mind/spirit approach and we find our children excel academically as well. there is emphasis on the learning process which includes developing a stratagy of how to think, as much as the individual concept itself. the children are learning through manipulation of materials and strengthening their cognitive processes with various learning techniques. the teachers provide an environment of mutual respect and leadership which in turn, helps the children create a community with each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2009

I enrolled my kids in this school when my oldest child entered middle school. The class sizes are small, the teaching staff is dedicated, and my children excel when they graduate from the middle school program. We moved to a suburb in 2002 and I still drive my children 40 minutes each way because the quality of education and community sense can't be surpassed anywhere I've looked, and, trust me, I've looked. What I love about this school is the fact that they teach your children how to think! Their problem solving skills are exceptional because of the training that they've received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2009

My daughter has gone here since preschool. She has had the absolute best teachers. Very interactive with parents. Very interested in the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

I love this school. Both of my sons have loved it and done well there. It is a wonderful learning environment for the children, all the staff, teachers, office staff and principal, will all take the time to communicate with you. I feel that my children are getting a great education in an environment that is child friendly, safe and respectful of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

This is my daughter's second year at this school and my husband and I just love it. She has learned so much. I truly believe in the 'montessori way'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

I am a parent of 2 that attend this campus of Montessori. Both my husband and I believe wholeheartedly in the principles and philosophy here and both of our children (3 and 4 years old) absolutely love to attend. I feel like this campus is an extension of the home. Everyone is so caring and peaceful and it has helped both of my children relate to each other so much better at home. They feel that school is a safe place and therefore they have opened up their minds to learning and experiencing so much. We are grateful to have found this campus for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

I am a parent. My daughter is a student at mountainside montessori School since Kindergarten. I find staff and management very helpful. There is a lot of communication. My daughter loves to go School. I am very satisfied with her knowledge and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2007

My girls have gone to the school for almost 4 years. My oldest is in 2nd grade and my youngest is in Kindergarten. I love the principal, she is really good with everyone and will always take the time to communicate. They have chosen some really wonderful teachers and at the end of the day my daughters are happy to go to school and are thriving. They are able to work at there own pace and most of the kids are above grade level in Reading and Writing. I would highly recommend this school to any other parent , as a parent and an ex teacher as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 42%
Hispanic 35% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 395-0271

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9215 N. 14th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85020
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 943-7672

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT