Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Phoenix, AZ
Students enrolled: 184
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered - Mountain 1

Posted March 20, 2015
- a community member
This is the worst school ever!!! I would never send my child here. The staff Is uneducated. Choose a different school for your child.

Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered - Mountain 5

Posted February 05, 2015
- a parent
A fantastic true Montessori school which also have been performing above average growth/progress and have received grade of A from the Arizona Department of Education. The principal and the staff are amazing at their job , doing everything they can to make the learning environment for the kids , safe , fun and stimulating . The community of parents is diverse and engaged in all the aspect of school's function. The teachers , the teacher aides who are all Montessori certified are skilled , patient and kind towards all the students . All you have to do is just walk into the beautiful school ground to notice all the happy faces telling you what a thriving school community it is . After school childcare and activities are provided for those who are interested.


Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered - Mountain 5

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has attended Montessori Day School - Mountainside for 5 years. We love this school! The schools co-founders, Peg & Ed Huffman, have enacted their vision of a harmonious and industrious educational experience. The school director, Pat Freeman, is fabulous. She has her finger on the pulse of the school and works tirelessly for the welfare of her students. When we considered other schools, we could barely get any time with their teaching staff let alone their director. Pat's ability as a director and her openness as a human being were key in our decision. The teachers are uniformly committed to providing their students with the best education. And they and the administrative staff do so with great heart. You may find schools that have more resources (with the active extra-curricular program here, we've never had an issue). But you will never find a school that achieves so much academically with so much heart, soul, and warmth for the children. Visit the campus and you'll feel it immediately for yourself. Terrific school, great vision, a genuine sense of mission and purpose, highly-qualified and committed staff, and a director and co-founders who have realized a dream.

Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered - Mountain 5

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
We picked Montessori Day School for our children precisely because it is first and foremost focused on meeting the educational needs of children, and it provides an extraordinary value in education and social interaction. The mission of the school is reflected in every facet and feature of its programs, and is evidenced by direct observation of its daily operation. This means that the needs of the children come first, as determined by partnership between experienced and dedicated educators and the children themselves who understand those needs. The children in the school benefit from learning a framework to build their own self discipline. This school uses the Responsible Thinking Process to provide a framework for children to discipline themselves, not only in learning but also in behavior. The parents are an integral part of the school. Sending children to this school provides an opportunity to participate in school programs, events, and even operations. We are proud to be associated with this school, the realization of the vision of many talented and committed professional educators and others who wanted the best for their children.

Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered - Mountain 5

Posted November 25, 2013
- a parent
My 5 yr old daughter is thriving at Montessori Day School and I couldn't be happier with the experience. Just meet the director Pat Freeman and she will tell you the history of how this school came about and the direction it is going. It is truly a unique school and such a blessing to be of charter as well. My daughters teachers, Ms. Romana and Ms. Tomasa know how to teach by letting the children "think for themselves" all the while creating a safe and respectful learning environment where children can feel safe and happy to be in the classroom together. I believe this is why my daughter is learning so much in the short time she has been there. She has just begun kindergarten and has already learned things that are not typically taught Until 8th grade! The learning environment and parent involvement are what I like best about this school. I plan on sending all three of my children through this school. Currently I drive almost 2hrs back and forth to school, but I am not the only parent doing so. I know of two other families who have done the same.


Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered - Mountain 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Great school awesome office staff, teachers and maintence. A family frendly environment.Its a must see.

Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered - Mountain 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
This is an excellent school. With very involved parents and teachers it makes my child's learning experience wonderful.

Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered - Mountain 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
I love the Montessori approach to education and my daughter absolutely loves going to school here.


Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered - Mountain 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a teacher
Montessori Day has been graded "A" by the Arizona Department of Education for the past two years because of the high progress of its students and the school's attention to meeting all requirements. What great teams to work with, at both campuses! Parents included!

Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered - Mountain 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
Both my children attended this school. It is a great school with wonderful, and caring teachers who take the time to communicate with parents, and address the students needs. Administration is kind and understanding and on top of any issues that may arise. The education my children received from Montessori is priceless.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered - Mountain
9215 N. 14th Street, Phoenix, AZ  85020
(602) 943-7672
Last modified Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered - Mountain is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered - Mountain Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 67 reviews. Top