Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lake Valley Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
Great school, wonderful educators. Most of these teachers could easily be found in expensive private schools. My kids have flourished at this school!!

Lake Valley Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
Love love love the teachers! Amazing and some have even been teacher of the year!


Lake Valley Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
My opinion is first graders shouldn't have hours and hours of homework. I am so happy with the structure and homework policy at lake valley.

Lake Valley Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
Great teachers and amazing school! Couldn't be more proud to go here!! The front office staff is friendly and truly cares. The teachers go out of their way to be genuinely good teachers with caring hearts. I love it here!

Lake Valley Elementary School 2

Posted March 22, 2014
- a community member
I have a friend with a child at this school. They are a year behind in Math in the lower grades and are teaching third grade math in the fourth grade. The AIMS math test has questions on things they have not even been taught according to the teachers so how can they possibly pass this exam? They are also teaching a type of multiplication that they won't even use in later grades called lattice which confuses the kids. No wonder this school is rated lower than other schools. Other schools also use Spalding phonics which is more advanced for language arts.


Lake Valley Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
I have to say that my son LOVES this school! He actually WANTS to go to school! That fact alone says a lot about the school because academics are very difficult for him! Yet, he enjoys his teacher, the classroom activities and new friends. Overall, the staff is kind, welcoming, and nuturing! I could not be happier about our choice to send him to Lake Valley Elementary!

Lake Valley Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a teacher
Confessions of a teacher.... I will admit that I am a teacher at Lake Valley, but don't assume this information is entirely biased. I finished student teaching in December and applied for a job at Lake Valley in June. Lake Valley was my first choice of schools for several reasons. Everyone from the superintendent to the maintenance folks are there for one reason- to make sure these kids get the best we can give them. The principal is down to earth and REALLY cares about each individual student. No school is perfect, and we may not have as much funding as other schools, but we are a family and we work together to make Lake Valley a great school. Teachers (including myself) spend a lot of extra time at the school and we have professional development meetings every week. When someone has a great idea, it is shared with the whole staff, so that we can emulate that person and learn from them. WE DO CARE about our students and our parents. We do the best we can to communicate with every parent and we want children to do the best they can. We've been told many times at meetings (and we do agree) that our job is to help a child grow from whatever level they are at.

Lake Valley Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a teacher
I have worked for Lake Valley for over 2 years and it has been an extremely good experience. The principal is very caring with the staff and has high expectations for us. We are held to high standards and this is for the best interests of all the children who attend. All of the teachers go out of their way to make a safe, academically focused class for each child. We are always getting professional developments to become the best we can be. I cannot say enough positive about this school!


Lake Valley Elementary School 1

Posted August 17, 2011
- a parent
Staff is rude and can't seem to work with me. They are not teaching her enough and setting her back in some ways.I have seen children walking alone in lines...where are their teachers? no extreme hair fashions?does this mean no mohawks? I don't believe it's any of their business.They have said my child needs to stand in a public hallway and wait for her teacher. She is standing there unattended!!! Shes only 5.The teacher wont release my child until she sees my face.....why should i release my child without seeing her face???

Lake Valley Elementary School 1

Posted May 19, 2010
- a parent
This was my daughters second year at this school and I held on just for her this whole school year. In my opinion the staff is not that caring and some rude. Academics did not seem to be highly regarded here or did the children's attire or language.I do not feel parents were welcome anytime at school and I personally only had one parent teacher conference this year.Last year was a different story because of just one teacher but the staff still was not very welcoming.Very displeased with this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Valley Elementary School
3900 N. Starlight Drive, Prescott Valley, AZ  86314
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (928) 759-4000
Last modified Lake Valley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top