Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain View Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2012

My son went to this school from 2nd grade through 5th grade and loved it. Teachers were supportive and staff friendly. This school got my son very prepared for middle school and he's now in high school. My daughter went there for kindergarten and 1st grade but then she had to leave due to us moving out of this area school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

It seems to have very caring teachers, as for the Principal, Mrs. Bindell I do not think she is the best person for the job. I am very disappointed in the school uniforms this year. I think that instead of forcing the 'good kids' to wear uniforms they should be enforcing the dress code that is already there. why should all children have to suffer because of a few 'bad parents'? Get the parents that 'allow' their child to ware offensive clothing to have to bring their kids something appropriate to wear. Make parents responsible for their children. I think that a happy child learns better. Uniforms do not make happy children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

We moved our children into this school for the start of the '06/'07 school year after receiving rave reviews about its staff from teachers at other schools. We couldn't be happier that we listened! The teachers are top notch and the Principal, Mrs. Bindell, is the best one I've encountered. This may be her first year as a Principal but you'd never know it! You can tell in everything she does that she truely cares about the children. It's all about them. The school and staff welcome parents with open arms and are sincerely appreciative of any help a parent can give. We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

Our daughter attended MVE from the end of 1st grade through 5th grade and we all loved it. She is a very good student and did well in all classes and our family enjoyed everything about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2005

Although disappointed about the lack of art programs for elementary students in the district, we loved Mtn. View overall. The administration, teachers, secretaries, nurse--everyone was caring and provided high quality education for our son. We were so glad he began his educational experience here--he loves school, thanks in part to the fantastic experience he had his first two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2005

This is a good school. The teachers are involved in their students educations and strive to provide a quality education for them. The leadership of the school is very hands off. Sometimes I like that, but other times I feel there should be a little more leadership. The activities of the school are varied. There are many opportunities for the students to be involved in different activities such as student council or art club. The student council tends to be very involved in community affairs. The raise money for many charitable orginizations. I would recommend this school to a family and would also recommend being involved in the school itself.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 13, 2005

Mountain View is an outstanding school that places a high priority on meeting the needs of students with learning disabilties and sensorial delays. The teachers are highly qualified and the English Learner program is a total program serving the students and their families. The school environment is very friendly and safe. The school encourages recognizing student character and offers many opportunities for students to challenge themselves with reading, math and writing.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted October 2, 2003

Mountain View has been a wonderful school for my son. The Teachers are Excellent. Two examples are Mrs Mcnair and Mr Boone, My son learned a great deal last year and enjoyed his teachers. I recently sent a letter to the newspaper mentioning the wonderful teachers who are undeniable excellent and a great staff. I do hope they print it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2003

A very good school with teachers who work hard teaching our children.


Posted March 28, 2003

Overall Mountainview Elementary School is a good school!


Posted October 15, 2002

We have recently moved to the area but our over all feeling about Mt View Elem school is wonderful so far after having a bad experience with a local charter school at the beginning of the year. The educational experience and the social experience is far superior at public school. My children are safe and happy at the PV Schools.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 42%
Hispanic 38% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 759-4720

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8601 E. Loos Drive
Prescott Valley, AZ 86314
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 759-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Granville Elementary School
Prescott Valley, AZ



Liberty Traditional School
Prescott Valley, AZ


Prescott Valley School
Prescott Valley, AZ


Lake Valley Elementary School
Prescott Valley, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT