Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Park View Middle School

Charter | 6-10

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Prescott Valley

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $110,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 28, 2010

It feels like our child is taking school with family - everyone is so friendly and interested in the children. We feel they are safe and protected in the envirnoment there. The teachers are excellent and have great ways of getting the children interested in what they are learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2010

It is an awesome school! the teachers are great! and you learn in a fun way!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2009

fantastic, loving, organized--it's got it all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

My youngest son is entering 8th grade, and, as his brothers before him, attended ParkView since 6th grade. As a parent, it is such a delight to listen in as they talk about fun assignments that they had with the same teacher. Likewise, I find a sense of satisfaction when they sincerely tell others how much they like and take pride in ParkView. Believe me when I say that I never had to force any one of my sons to attend school at ParkView. Their attendance records are perfect because each one of my sons wanted to make them perfect. With all honesty, it is disheartening for me to read negative reports reflected here because I have been a parent of ParkView basically since it began. Therefore, I have witnessed an abundance amount of the school's history and the intentions of admin and staff are sincere. My name is Sue Ferguson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

I have been a parent of ParkView basically since it began. My oldest son graduated from Park View and is now a high school graduate as well. It is important to note that he is daily challenged with Tourette Syndrome. This being disclosed, I can say, with all certainty, that Park View provided my son with the tools he needed to launch into high school. Their special education department provided all the services he required to succeed and them some. The positive structure and family type environment provided my son with security. As a parent I felt safe knowing he was being educated by the Park View team of teachers and administrators. My middle son just graduated this year and is now ready for high school. He is a student that takes his education seriously and will tell anyone that Park View is a school that is serious about teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

Parkview is the worst school I've ever dealt with! The teachers are unprofessional and seem to be lacking in modern teaching techniques. They will teach your children to be cattle.They take away there individuality and freedom of expression!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

I do not like this school at all. It is way abnormally small, you feel closterfobic, their is no gym, some teachers are rude and the blue book is for kindergarteners, if you do not get your adjena signed evey night, or forget to wash your PVMS shirt, you get written up, then after a few times, you will get friday school for nothing! it is a terrible school and you should send your student to Glassford or Bradshaw.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2008

I am very happy with this school. The small class size assists with the teachers ability to know and understand the learning styles of individual students. My daughter is not only excelling at the school, but is happy to get up every morning to go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

Great teacher student ratio Family oriented community No students slip through the cracks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2006

I am disappointed with this school now, It's going down hill in everyway. I'm happy this is my daughter last year here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

Park Veiw has been a possitive experience for all 3 of my kids. The teachers are personable and curriculum challenging without being overwhelming. They encourage parent involvement at all levels. My kids have had no problem in transitioning to High School, in fact, much of what they learned was repeated their first year. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

I wanted to thank Parkview Middle School for giving our children a great middle school experience. Three of our five children have already attended and two more are up and coming. Parkview teachers,staff and volunteers have always had our childrens best interst in mind when it comes to education and a positive middle school experience. The teaching is a positive experience and I believe this is why Parkview is an excelling school and so are their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

Park View has been a welcome change for my son. The smaller classes result in a more controlled atmosphere. The teachers have accepted my son's unique learning style and encouraged him in his areas of interest. The curriculum includes fun learning opportunities as well as hands on activities. Many times the lessons are reworked so that they can reflect current events, i.e. studying about hurricanes during the time when the three major hurricanes hit Florida. The school has many after school clubs where students can get involved. The librarian has helped my son find books that interest him. The principal seems genuinely interested in every child. I feel that this school provides a healthy atmosphere where middle schoolers can learn and grow as independent thinkers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

Horrible, what else can you really say? Do not put your child in this school especially if you moved from a large city. The only thing you will get are complaints and a bad education. You are warned!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Hispanic 26% 43%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Black 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A47%
Female 47%N/A49%
Male 53%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 775-6253

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8300 E Dana Dr
Prescott Valley, AZ 86314
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 775-5115

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Liberty Traditional School
Prescott Valley, AZ


Glassford Hill Middle School
Prescott Valley, AZ


Prescott Valley School
Prescott Valley, AZ



Heritage Middle School
Chino Valley, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT