Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Prescott Valley School

Charter | K-12 | 172 students

We are best known for exemplary archery program.

 
 

Living in Prescott Valley

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $110,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 21, 2014

Greatly improved and rigorous program of instruction! I have a kindergartener and a senior attending PVS. The school has made great strides in improving the instructional program over the last 3 years. The school no longer uses workbooks for instruction and all instruction is delivered via direct instruction by state certified teachers. My high schooler participates in most of the competitive sports offered and my little one loves the FREE after school enrichment program. As a working mom it is a plus to have free full day kindergarten as well as a free after school program. We are excited about the expanding campus and new playground that is supposed to be going in this summer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

I have 2 children currently attending PVS (Grades K & 1). My Kinder has asbergers and struggles daily, any other school would've pushed him aside and labeled him a problem child. This School has stepped up to the challenge! His teacher is absolutely amazing!! He gets the 1-on-1 he needs and we communicate daily on his struggles/strengths. I have watched both my children flourish since they started attending PVS. I will never send my children back to a regular public school again!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2012

I went to this school for nearly 3 years, and it is a very poor school. The curriculum is far below the grade level that the students should be at. When I attended this school, I got good grades, but I wasn't learning anything. I left after junior high and at my new high school, I struggled with every subject. I know this has happened with many of my other classmates as well, and most of them dropped out because their new school was too difficult. PVS makes their students fall behind. It is easy to get good grades at PVS, but you will not learn anything. If all you want is a report card with A's and B's, then maybe this school is for you. But if you want to actually get an education and be successful, stay far away from PVS.


Posted April 5, 2012

I attended this school from 2003-2005. I am sure some things have improved since then, but my experience at that time was terrible. I received straight A-s and graduated a year early from this school because I was allowed to grade my own work. Never once was I challenged mentally, my high school curriculum was basically identical to what I had in junior high. I had to attend two years of community college to be eligible to attend a four-year university as PVS did not offer any lab sciences or advanced math. Because I pursued engineering, this was a serious detriment and left me struggling with every math class I ever took, most college students graduate high school with Calculus II and I graduated with Geometry. If your child is interested in science, math or engineering, I would strongly suggest a school where advanced classes are available. Also, the students were very unhappy and hostile.


Posted March 3, 2012

PVS has made a lot of positive changes in the last year! We have a college prep focus that permeates the high school grades (9-12). The elementary (K-8) is focused on math, science, and reading that is based in higher order thinking skill development. After school sports are available in grades 7-12, which include volleyball, basketball, flag football, archery, golf, soccer, and softball. Most importantly, PVS has earned North Central Accreditation candidacy status and will be fully accredited by the winter of 2012. Additionally, our school offers FREE full day Kindergarten, transportation, and a breakfast and lunch program. If you are looking for a safe school for your family, where the teachers truly care about every student, and academic excellence is a priority please stop by for a tour today!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 17, 2010

I enjoy my time at PVCS. It is one of the best teaching experiences I have had and is definetly better than a larger traditional school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 17, 2010

The best thing about the school is the small family atmosphere. There is a small student to teacher ratio and the teachers really care about the students. The archery team has won state two years in a row and has competed nationally in the NASP Tournament in Louisville, KY.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2010

I love Prescott Valley Charter School. My daughter graduated from this school last year and is now in college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2010

I have two students that have graduated from this school and one still attending. The school has made some positive changes which enhance student learning and foster student accountability. The teacher's are caring and concerned about the students. The small class sizes enable student learning. It is my school of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2010

I love teaching at this school! It is wonderful to be able to teach in a school where every student is given the opportunity to learn in a safe and comfortable environment. Low class size also allows a teacher to establish one-on-one relationships with students and to understand learning needs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 29, 2009

I had 2 children graduate from this school. One is in the Navy, taking college classes. The other one has almost complete her schooling for a college degree. They loved this school for the most part. It was safe, and the teachers care about the students. Sometimes my kids got bored sitting in class all day. They loved the afterschool extra curriculum activities and the small school atmosphere, where they made some lifetime freindship bonds. I am going to be taking my youngest son out of of a Jr High public school,with over 2000 kids, and putting him in this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2008

My children all attend Prescott Valley School. I have one child who has graduated from P.V.H.S., and is doing extraordinarily well in college. She learned goal setting, how to work independently, and time management all of which were priceless to have in secondary education. The uniforms and rules keep education the focus, it is a safe atmosphere physically and emotionally. The staff and teachers are always willing to help in any way they can and truly like their students! I love that! I know there are different levels of academics, college bound and community college bound, depending on the ability and motivation of the student. My child graduated with a scholarship to a state university so in my mind curriculum is not an issue. I believe students are able to attend Yavapai College (a local community college) during high school for dual credit. In my mind it is a fabulous school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

I went to Prescott Valley School 2003-05. They don't have a very good curriculum, they have workbooks called PAKs and then the students grade them themselves. I always got straight A's here, but when I went to a public school, I really struggled. Prescott Valley School made me fall behind because of their simple curriculum.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2007

My child graduated from Prescott Valley High School. The school and staff were wonderful. She graduated a year early and excelled through 11th and 12th grade. There is such a great family atmosphere at the school. There are no clicks, everyone is friends with each other. I love the school uniform. It is so nice not to worry about all of the problems and issues that come with the different kind of dress that is out there nowadays. My child had trouble at the bigger schools and when I enrolled her here she thrived and did very well with the type of curriculum they offered. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

I have a ninth grade son who is doing wonderful at this school. He struggled terribly in public school. The staff goes above and beyond the call to make sure these kids are successful. I do feel that some of their rules are a little overboard, but I would rather deal with that sort of thing than have to worry if my child was safe or not at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2006

It is my personal experience that this school is not appropriate for high school students with college ambitions. Students are basically required to attend a junior college before a university because this school does not offer classes in higher math, lab sciences, etc.; classes that are necessary for entrance into universities. When I enrolled my child in this school, I was convinced by the principal that it was a 'college prep' school. They were very wrong, and although my child graduated among the top of her class, when she reached college she struggled to keep up with the students that graduated from the public high schools. The curriculum at prescott valley school is very basic and not enough to prepare the student for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

I feel this school lacks in its concern of the academics for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2003

I have been very satisfied with the results of this school. Kids that normally fail are being challenged to use their brain. These strugling kids are thriving. I have yet to be brought home a report card with anything lower than a B. Reportcard day used to be a burden on the family, now we go out and celebrate. To the extra curricular activities I give a thumbs up. And the discipline is fair and given when needed.If your looking for a school. This would be top choice in my book.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
12%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
20%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Underperforming".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 16% 43%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Czech
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Performing Plus School under AZ Learns (2010)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Czech
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Monika Fuller
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (928) 775-4457

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Czech
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9500 Lorna Lane
Prescott Valley, AZ 86314
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 772-8744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Granville Elementary School
Prescott Valley, AZ




Liberty Traditional School
Prescott Valley, AZ



Humboldt Elementary School
Dewey-Humboldt, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT