Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Abia Judd Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 585 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2014

Our daughter is just completing Kindergarten and she could not have had a better experience. Mrs. Geissel is a wonderful teacher who stepped up to the challenge of teaching a combined K-1 class and has done wonders this year! There are after-school clubs in which students as young and Kindergarten are able to participate. My daughter was involved with gymnastics club in the fall and nature club in the spring and has loved them both. Each week she has PE (physical education), music, art and library time in which the students are able to check out books. The front office staff is always friendly and helpful. It seems to me that parents are welcome at the school and encouraged to be involved in as many ways as possible. The PTA always has something going on in order to raised funds to help the school where there may be budget shortfalls. The staff not only stress academics, but strong character and leadership. It seems as though they are attempting to create independent thinkers who possess morals and empathy. We are SO sorry to hear the principal will be retiring at the end of the school year, but are optimistic a well-qualified replacement will be hired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2013

Very disappointed after 4 yrs, K-4. Environment is one of strict discipline and little compassion. Emphasis is on conformance and obeying rules vs learning. We had 1 great teacher, Mrs Yetman, 1 average and two very poor teachers, both of whom retired one yr too late for us. If we were staying in Prescott we would be transferring to a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

Abia Judd is top notch from the principle all the way down to the support staff. When I moved up here I was concerned about the quality of the schools and I will say AJ blows away the schools in the Phoenix/Mesa/ Gilber area. MRs. robertson is just amazing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

Another year done. My 4th grader loves his friends and teachers. After school clubs are a definite plus. Great place if you want your kids to act like kids, and are self-motivated to perform.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

Staff is caring and involved in every child. Willing to do whatever it takes to help children that may have special needs (my son has ADHD). We had to move and unfortunately he is no longer attending Abia Judd and we totally miss it. He still talks about how much he misses it a year later (coming out of first grade). His current school doesn't even compare to the level of quality and involvement this school provided for us. Great principle, teachers and overall staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Abia Judd Elementary School has dedicated and caring teachers. They are there for the students in every way. The teachers at Abia Judd are constantly looking for new and creative ways to teach. The students are the best testimony to the effectiveness of the teaching at Abia Judd. The test scores are high but more importantly, the students are happy to be in an environment where they are valued as individuals. Keep up the good work Abia Judd teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Abia Judd is a wonderful school with a caring, involved & motivated staff. I feel they do a great job preparing our children for success. The teachers go above & beyond to add activities that enrich our children's education. They put in the extra effort & time to create a wonderful learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Abia Judd is what a parent wants a school to be: a caring, motivating, academic environment that helps kids be their best! Kids feel safe, challenged and respected. Thank you for all the adults that make Abia Judd a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

The teachers and administration are so caring and involved with the students and ensuring they receive the very best with extremly limited monies. The State of AZ has cut their budget so much and we are all doing what every we can to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Abia Judd wraps its arms of caring around students, staff, parents and patrons. They love what they do and they love our kids!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 14, 2010

There is a great feeling of community at Abia Judd. The teachers and staff are always kind, loving and supportive. I love walking in there with my son every morning and knowing we are a part of something great. Our future depends on caring people like those at Abia Judd!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2008

AJ is a really good school but experiencing some growing pains with new principal and some changes in teachers. There are some really wonderful aides and playground helpers that go the extra mile! Mrs. Good and Mrs. Sammy rock! The only negative is that the PTA who does a phenomenol job in fundraising and support, does not have a welcoming atmosphere for newcomers. It is run by a group of women that want things to go their way and are not open to people outside their inner social circle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

Both of my girls go to school at Abia Judd. We have had such a great experience so far. This year they are in 1st and 3rd grades. They love their teachers and really enjoy going to school. The school really encourages parental involvement and is one of the best elementary schools in town. I know of many parents that drive their children from surrounding towns to attend school at Abia Judd. We are lucky enough to live in the district for this school, but I would consider driving them here if I had to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

This school is great, they have a lot of opportunities for the students to grow acedemically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

Wonderful location and parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2005

What I like about this school is that my children feel welcomed here. As a parent, I feel welcomed here also. Most of the staff know my children and they know I am their mother. I think the academic program is fine generally. My children takes classes for gifted children and the program is great. I wish they are provided everyday instead of twice a week. The school have wonderful music, art, PE, and computer programs and after school clubs. Parent involvement is high and PTA activities are great. This school is growing larger and parking is becoming a problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 42%
Hispanic 8% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Asian 1% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1749 Williamson Valley Rd.
Prescott, AZ 86305
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 717-3263

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Taylor Hicks School
Prescott, AZ



Sacred Heart School
Prescott, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT