Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Prescott Mile High Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 667 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2014

Our school district has an extensive Assistive Technology Library to help our students with disabilities and we continue to add devices / software. We are committed to helping train our teachers and staff on the various AT products. In education, one size does not fit all. Some of the most successful devices have been the use of iPads and tablets with Special Education applications downloaded on them, speech to text devices and software, classroom smartboards, textbook readers, therapeutical seating and stress reducers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 14, 2012

Was not impressed at all! He encountered all kinds of difficulties. He was bullied daily. He would report it and we talked to authorities at school. We were told the bullies were dealt with, yet it continued the entire school year. We talked to the school several times and nothing changed. When my son reported to the teachers about the bullies, still nothing was done. My son defended himself, but got tired of doing this day in and day out. There were more problems than just the bullies; He also had classes so far apart he had to run and barely made it, or was late. He had so many troubles with his locker (either the person above wouldn't let him get to his locker, or he didn't have enough time with as far apart as his classes were, or just a broken lock) that they moved his locker to another hall. It became so inconvenient that he ended up just carrying his books! How exhausting! It seemed that all of his energies were focused on non-school related matters so much so, that he began hating school. He has always loved school! When he told me he didn't want to go to school anymore, I knew there needed to be a big change. We left!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

mrs habeck i s the best teacher there it is the best school ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2008

mile high is the best school
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2007

The school is pretty good. Alot better than a few years ago. Many good teachers, some great. I suggest that some move on..act burned out, not excited anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2007

This school is a great school and is very strict. I attended this school for sixth and I had fun, Manny Chavez is now an 8th grade pre-algebra. He was also the wrestling coach for 16 years.


Posted June 20, 2007

Mile High is a great school! I attended Mile High all three years, and absolutely loved it! The teachers and staff are awesome and always put the students first! I would recommend Mile High to anyone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2006

I would not send my child anywhere else for middle school. This is a true middle school, meeting the needs of my kids and helping them understand thier diverse community. The teachers are terrific and the principal is a great guy. It is preparing my kids for high school and life in the big world. We love Mile High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

The leadership of the principal of this school is strong. Staff members are willing to work with parents to accomodate child's indivisual needs. They have nice music and art programs and sports teams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

Very good educational system with excellent teachers and concerned administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Hispanic 14% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 717-3298

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 South Granite St.
Prescott, AZ 86303
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 445-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Sacred Heart School
Prescott, AZ


Skyview School
Prescott, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT