Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Taylor Hicks School

Public | K-5 | 1 student

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2010

We have the best school because of several things. One being the level of parent involvement. We have a great principal and teachers who really encourage parent involvment and the great programs like the reading program and Character Counts. The staff is so friendly and always very welcoming. We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

The staff is amazing! Everyone who works there loves the students and does all they can for each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

the families are awesome and the teachers are awesome too!!! lots of community pride at our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

I drive my kids from my school distrct to Taylor Hicks school district. The family friendly school is the best. Wonderful art teacher, PE, Music. The staff really cares and the PTA is VERY involved. Again I drive 30 min just so my kids can go to the best school around. My kids assigned school is 1.1 miles away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Taylor Hicks has exceptional teachers.....I am in constant contact with the staff in regards to my tutoring business....a very welcome feeling at this school at all times. That is a wonderful gift.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

The staff is amazing and really cares about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Great place to have your kids (in our case grand kids).


Posted May 12, 2010

Wonderful sense of community! Mrs. Cole Rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Taylor Hicks is a great school! What always has impressed me is the enormous outreach that the staff gives to parents to encourage their involvement in the education of their kids. Parents are eager to help and feel welcome into their classrooms. Thanks Taylor Hicks teachers and staff! You're awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

GO Bobcats! Taylor Hicks has the best faculty and staff. My kids are getting a great education and they are treated with honor and respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Taylor Hicks is our extended family! Small town at it's best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Best school anywhere, hands down! Wish I could have attended as a child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Every teacher and administrator is dedicated to the school and each student. They create a safe and loving environment in which to learn and our kids love going every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

My kids are receiving a great education from Taylor Hicks. The staff and teachers are wonderful! Thank you Taylor Hicks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Family involvement! . I feel Teachers have your child's best interest in hand. I feel everyone working there goes above and beyond for you and your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

We have the BEST teachers and principal. They really LOVE our kids! They work hard to provide a great education to our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Taylor HIcks is a great family school. The staff are friendly, helpful and involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Taylor Hicks School has awesome teachers and staff. They are always willing to help the little ones and everyone works together. Taylor Hicks has been a great choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Taylor Hicks Elementary School has an amazing outlook. Our principal and our teachers are so focused on making sure our children get the best education possible no matter what the circumstances and they do it with such passion. They willingly welcome the parents involvement and appreciate it. Everyone involved in any form at Taylor Hicks is exceptionally devoted to our school and our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Taylor Hicks is the best because of all the time the teachers and staff put in to making it the best. The staff shows that it cares all the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 42%
Hispanic 8% 43%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1845 Campbell Ave.
Prescott, AZ 86301
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 445-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT