Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tri-City College Prep High School

Charter | 9-12 | 196 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Prescott

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $164,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 5, 2014

Really, I don't know how anyone could not love this school as a parent. It's a fun, safe environment with plenty of extracurriculars focused on getting your child the best possible education. As a student, I must admit it is a lot of work. If you are not ready for dedication and a little less sleep, then this school is not for you. However, it has given me great experiences and work habits; I would definitely recommend TCP to any determined student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2011

amazing really, im going into my junior year and let me tell you its not easy but it is worth it. i have a support system and and can get all the help from all the teachers. i wouldnt go anywhere else. i love tri city!! i would recommened it to anyone(=
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2010

Back in 2006 I wrote a review and somehow when I posted it, it only marked 1 star, this is certainly not true, it was at that time atleast a 5 star school. Now my daughter who graduated 3 years ago from there is in her Sr Year at a private University in AK going for her BS in Marine Biology. I truly feel that the base set up for her at Tri-City has helped her succeed so well at her University.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I am nearing the end of my freshman year and all I can say is that my A+ did NOT come easily. It takes hard work and dedication, but it's worth it if you want a quality education. The only thing I don't like about it is that there aren't very many extra curriculars. I love our teachers. They really know what they are doing and they are around anytime you need them for help. The students are respectful and hard working and are very involved in what goes on with the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2008

Great school growing with excellence ... College classes available ... My kid loves her school ... The programs are great .....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

I love Tri-City College Prep High School no drugs or violence and i feel safe
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2006

We really love this school and the opportunities it provides. The teachers and staff really put the effort into preparing students for college. The staff are highly qualified and certified teachers, most of the teachers have masters degrees or higher. The classes are definitely more difficult and do require a lot of effort, but the teachers really do want the students to succeed and they are very willing to help in any way they can. The availablity of college classes during the day is a great way to get a jump-start on college. Students can pretty much complete their freshman year of college while still in high school! As far as extracurricular activities, TCP keeps growing. They offer most of the popular sports (except football) as well as some unique sports like cricket and rowing. There are really a lot of extracurricular activities for such a small school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

No facilitities, tyrant runs the school yard with an iron ruler. Some of the teachers stack up, but with the heavy rotation of faculty who knows any more.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 15, 2005

I love how this school is small and how my child can enjoy the teahcers helping them and still knowing all the students so she's comfortable
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

My daughter attends this school just finishing her Soph year and I have been extremely pleased. The small class sizes allow her to receive more individual help then she would in a larger school. The classes offered are of high level and the standards expected are of the highest level as well. This school expects the students to go on to college and I feel that this attitude helps the students to expect it as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 42%
Hispanic 14% 43%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 2%N/A47%
Female 56%N/A49%
Male 44%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 777-0402

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5522 Side Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 777-0403

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Yavapai County High School
Prescott Valley, AZ


Bradshaw Mountain High School
Prescott Valley, AZ


Pace Preparatory Academy
Prescott Valley, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT