Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Queen Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 610 students

We are proud recipients of the Arizona Educational Foundation A+ award.
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted December 18, 2013

Time flies when you re having fun at QCE! We had a very successful fall semester that couldn t have been accomplished without the wonderful students, parents and staff of Queen Creek Elementary. As we prepare for another eventful spring semester I would like to take the opportunity to reflect on the beginning of the year. Some of our fall highlights include receiving an A label from the state of Arizona. All schools are evaluated on how many students pass AIMS and how much students academically grow each year. Student of the Month Assemblies and Awards Ceremonies were held to honor all of the great achievements and progress our students make every day! We had a Flag Raising Ceremony for Veterans Day with a great job done by the Cub Scouts and QCE Choir! During Character Counts and Red Ribbon Week we had presentations from the MCSO Helicopter, QC Fire Department, ASU Men s Gymnastics Team and the Sheriff s Canine Unit. Coach has watched over the Cup Stacking Club and ongoing Running Club. The music teacher has led our K-4 After-School Choir and put on the 3rd and 4th Grade and Choir Holiday Performance. Our Special Ed. classes participated in the Special Olympics bowling competition. We had our annual Grandparent s Day Luncheon and Performance along with our Book Fair. PTO has been wonderful this year with their Cookie Dough Kick-Off, Santa Shop and Holiday Movie Night with funds raised going to all new classroom printers and PE equipment. I hope you are able to take some time and enjoy the holiday season with your family, friends and loved ones. I m very fortunate to have such great students, supportive families and a great staff. I look forward to 2014 and all that it encompasses right here at Queen Creek Elementary, together for children.

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2008

My daughter is the Little Coyotes program (special needs preK). We are absolutely thrilled with the school, classroom aide, her teacher and Mrs Horton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2006

This year is our first at QCE. I am very impressed with everything. The Principal, Erika Copeland, is compassionate, approachable and involved in all the daily routines. There are many after/before school activities and clubs for the students to be involved in. Tutoring and Homework Club are offered for those needing a little extra help. There is a highly recommended after school care on campus provided by The Boys and Girls Club. Our older child loves being a part of Ms. Noonan's class. She is a caring teacher who is giving our child the best 3rd grade education. We have nothing but fabulous things to say about our 1st grader's teacher, Mrs. Schiermyer too. She is energetic, kind and our child adores her. I think the staff and teachers are well qualified and seem to enjoy their careers. We could not be happier to be in part of QCE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2006

We are new the the Queen Creek School District. We came from a different (and awful) school district in this area. We were very unhappy with our choice to move to AZ until we moved into the Queen Creek Elementary boundaries. The new principal seems concerned about her students. The safety and education of students seems to be a top priority for her. We are proud of our small class sizes and friendly teachers. Queen Creek Elementary is an established school & they are doing a great job educating our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2005

There is no parental support and the school is not growing as quickly as the area. Not impressed witht the teachers nor principal. They have an excellent special ed. teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

My son went to the preschool program at QCE and he really did very well. He learned letter recognition, number recognition and other basic skills. The school invited the parents all the time and encouaged them to visit anytime. They had a library, music, and PE program and they all seemed very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Hispanic 25% 42%
Black 4% 5%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • A+ School of Excellence (2011)
  • "A" rated by ADE (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Erika Copeland
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (480) 987-0612

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Queen Creek Elementary has highly qualified teachers who know how to deliver effective instruction and help children grow, not just academically, but socially and emotionally as well. We stress academic achievement for all students and provide a learning environment that will provide for individual differences, promote self-worth, and establish an open channel of communication between our school and the community. Please don’t hesitate to introduce yourself when you’re here!
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Preschool
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Queen Creek Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23636 S. 204th St
Queen Creek, AZ 85242
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 987-5920

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ala QC Elementary School
Queen Creek, AZ






Calvary Christian School
Queen Creek, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT