Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

San Tan Heights Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 714 students

Our school is best known for

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

88 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2008

This school is very unfriendly toward parents. We entrust our children to the staff and teachers who act like they would rather not bother with parents. I have experienced this four days in a row now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

i think this is a great school for my child it should be a 5 star school! especially for the great teachers!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

Poor leadership with regards to Kindergarden. Mrs. Smith never showed up. Had sub for 2 weeks before they assigned Mrs. G. She stepped in to teach and nurture our littleones. The kids love her and are thriving under her care. Found out today the principal is Repalcing her w/out any notice to parents or students w/ a 8th grade teacher from Mtn Vista (no primary background)This will be there 3rd teacher since school started. Kindergardeners need structure/stability/nurturing. This principal has no regard for there well being. You can not make multipule changes like this at there age. Young minds have a hard time with trust & bonding. This is an outrage!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

The parents are not involved enough with their own kids. They are the first to complain about the teachers and administration but they do not look at the behavior of their kids. I see very little support for the PTO. This school would be great if they got involved. The teachers go above and beyond for the students with the resources available. The administration needs to have more of a presence in the school. My son and daughter do not even know who the prinicipal is. Discipline is much better this year. They seem to be cleaning house. Students are suspended when they need to be and the inschool suspension room is not a joke anymore. My kids love their teachers and the teachers communicate with me on a daily basis. This is a nice change this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

Students safety is a main priority on the campus now. I am only concerned with the communication from the administrators. I have tried numerous times to contact both of them and have never received a call back. I was finally able to get a hold of the in school suspension teacher, Mr. Johnson and he called me right back and took care of the issue right away. I think more parents need to be involved with the school. My kids are much happier this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2007

I have noticed a lot of changes for the better this school year! One thing that bothers me is that parents criticize the school for not having any extra curricular activitites, yet there have been two fundraisers and many do not participate. What gives?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

This is the worst school I have ever seen. I have tried numerous times to volunteer and the teachers don't want the help. I'm on the PTO and spend a decent amount of time at the school. The new principal is awesome!! If you have a problem go to Mrs.Nicholson and she'll get things done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

I agree with the teacher's comments. Parents, get involved! It doesn't take much to show your support. The teachers need you and the school needs you. We have the potential to be a fantastic school. Let's do it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

Considering all the changes this school has gone through, the teachers are still doing a great job. My kids are learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

I am a teacher at San Tan and I feel that the biggest problem is lack of involvement from parents. Teachers are made to do everything. Teachers cannot discipline if it is not done at home. Many parents will not allow their child to falter, often blaming the teacher or administration for problems the student is having. Please let your child accept the consequences now or it may be worse later on when you will not be able to step in. Give teachers the benefit of doubt and show support. This support will show your child that you value education and those who are trying to provide a learning environment for your child. Yes, this school needs more activities for kids. Please contact your board members and Dr. White!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 30, 2007

I've been disappointed by the leadership demonstrated by the school and the district. It has the potential to be a great school -- new building, great location, great neighborhood environment -- but children here are given inadequate structure and there are minimal hours of teaching events. The profanity from older kids is unbelievable and the teachers act like they don't hear it. The district needs to stand-up, acknowledge the problem, and fix it while it's still simple enough to address. Our kids know it's out of control, and some will merely take advantage of it and add to the problem. On a good note, there is much hope for this school. Some teachers are quite committed. It's time to clean house, pay enough to bring in some new educators, and provide a structured place for our children. If your child is here, get involved and mandate a change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2007

The teachers really shine here, especially the primary grades. The district could be better but hopefully they'll improve with time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2007

My children have thrived at this school. Sure, it's not perfect, but what school is? Parents should be more involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2007

All in all I am happy with the school. The new principal is doing a really good job. The school is really coming around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

Good school. Great teachers. For the parents complaining about not feeling welcome, get involved! Join the PTO or volunteer in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2007

I agreed with most of you when I first moved out to this area I wanted to pull my kids out of San Tan Heights and put them in a different school, we started talking to the teachers about what was going on with our children and they looked into what was happening and kept us up to date with emails and phone calls. Our children's grades have been the best they have ever been and the teachers really do care about the kids they are teaching. It is a fairly new school and they are getting themselves on track. I was going to transfer my kids to the new charter school that is being built but have since changed my mind and I going to keep my children in San Tan Heights.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

For all the parents complaining about the teachers, have you ever gone in and sat in your child's class to see what really goes on? These teachers are faced with many challenges and are doing fantastic. Many teachers do not have the supplies or the curriculum needed to teach, but they are still finding ways to teach our children the standards? Before bad-mouthing the staff, take some time and visit your child's classroom. At first we were concerned with our child's teacher, but after speaking with her and arranging a class visit we couldn't be happier with the education she is receiving. I do agree, however, that the communication between administration and parents is insufficient.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone. The administration is very negligent in responding to the safety and care of our children. They're not organized and chaos seems to be the norm. The quality of education is par. They seem to be uninformed on important issues to parents and they don't have a pulse on the needs of this community. If you're thinking about buying a home or moving to this area, think again. Housekeeping is poor, and the some of the employees have bad attitudes. The upside, K-3 have quality teachers for the most part. I believe parent involvement is poor because the leadership is poor. Hopefully, this school will make some adjustments and turn their image around because our parents, students and our community deserve better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

My daughter was enrolled at San Tan Heights for Kindergarten and is now completing 1st grade at Mountain Vista and I feel I have left her in these schools too long. I am pulling her out in May and have already applied to Edu-Prize for a better learning environment and far better education. I wish I would have pulled my daughter out sooner. I would encourage every parent to take a hard look at these schools and consider other options. I'm glad I did. I don't agree with the concept of a k-8 school and I don't understand why these schools are so bare and cold feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2007

I have a daughter that has been here for 2 years now and I am not happy with the school performance at all. There are to many kids per teacher still after the school split. It also seems that they lack on helping kids that are having trouble getting concepts that they should understand at there grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 42%
Hispanic 33% 43%
Black 8% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Hungarian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Performing Plus and AYP (2010)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Other
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hungarian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25 am
School end time
  • 3:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Art Moncibaez
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 888-2932

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Multi-aged
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Special education
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Other
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hungarian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Pinal County Health
  • Pinal County Sheriff Office
  • Cental Arizona College
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Mountian Vista Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 W. San Tan Heights Blvd.
Queen Creek, AZ 85242
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 888-2930

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ala San Tan
San Tan Valley, AZ


Eduprize School
Queen Creek, AZ



Walker Butte K-8
San Tan Valley, AZ


Combs Traditional Academy
San Tan Valley, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT