Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

San Tan Heights Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 714 students

Our school is best known for

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

88 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 2, 2007

I have been areound this school since it opened, there has been many changes, some for the better and some not. This year, however, has been a great improvment. THe principal is doing a great job getting things together. The teachers are eager to make this the best school in teh area and finally there is a great leader in the district. My only concern is that it will all change again next year, almost every year we have new leadership in district and schools and the teachers move on quickly, with a little consistancy I think the school would be an excellent choice. Oh and of course they need to add extra curricular classes for the younger kids too!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 1, 2007

Since the two school have split, the overall quality of both schools has improved. I have a preschooler at San Tan Heights and an older child at Mountain Vista. I am at both schools dropping and picking up my kids and I can tell you, the schools are not overcrowded and teachers, principals, and staff are doing the best they can with the changes. Everything is in a trial and error stage. But I do agree with other parents, my kids have been to better schools, and academically the two schools are not strong. The curriculum is weak, homework is lacking, and parent involved is very low. Personally it will take time to see both schools performing at their full potential. And it will effort from principals, teachers, staff, and mostly parents. Yes, parents you do need to get involved with the school if you want to see the changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

we have children in 1st 3rd 4th and 6th. the staff always seems uninformed and doesnt seem to care about there jobs or the students. we moved into the area when it first opened. so we couldnt see how the school rated. if we could afford it we would transfer them somewhere else, or possibly even move. this is by far the worst school i have ever seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2006

We had 3 children at San Tan Heights but are very happy to have found a better, safer place to educate them. That was not a safe learning environment. There is not enough supervision. I do not feel that K-8 is the best way to educate our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

If you just moved out here you shouldnt complain about the school being crowded. Check those things out before you buy a house. If the school is that important maybe you should have looked at the quality of education instead of the low price tag on the house. This school is not perfect but they are trying to make it better.If you think the schools in surrounding areas are better then you should have moved there instead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2006

This school is very overcrowded but it is doing its best to deal. My daughter is in all day Kindergarten with Mrs. Greffe and she has been great with communication to all parents. My daughter loves coming to school every day and comes home excited to tell me what she is learning. We look forward to the split of the two schools so she can be in her own class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2006

This is my family's first year to attend this school and I am about to pull them out. It is the most unorganized excuse for a school I have ever witnessed. It is extremely overcrowded, there are no extra-curricular for k-4 (at least). There is no music program, the staff appears to be completely uninterested in concerns from parents are are quite rude. The principal is not interested in returning phone calls, I had to call the superintendent to get a response, then I did get one from Mountain Vista's principal. They requires students to be picked up at certain areas, but then do not allow you to get to those areas. Overall we are not pleased with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

I can only speak to K through 2nd greade but everything we have seen so far has been awesome. My wife helps in the class at least once a week with the 2nd grade class and is very involved in the school which gives her a good pulse on the school, she has nothing but praise. The population issue is something that you cannot control. Kind of like building the new 202 freeway and now it's bumper to bumper traffic in the morning. Maricopa never does a good job in planning for growth. Build big, they will come...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

My child is in all-day kindergarten, and although I like the teacher, I am not happy with the school. The communication between administration & parents is almost non-existent! I just find the school very unprepared for the 'overcrowding' problem. If they knew this was coming, they should have been better prepared!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2006

I am so frustrated with this school! I understand that they have had a huge over-population issue, but they have not made wise decisions to remedy that problem. Why not set up 'portable' classrooms until the new school is done?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

San Tan Heights Elementary School got an unfair news spot on Fox 10 news 8/8/06. The school district is struggling with the huge growth in the area and is working frantically to resolve the issues. The news story made it sound like San Tan Heights Elementary is not a completed school. In fact, the uncompleted school is 1/2 mile down the street and students should move in in 5 - 8 weeks. Instead of compounding issues that are being resolved (50+ students in classrooms) parents should be assisting. There are 2 teachers per classroom, the teacher who will stay and the one who will move to Mountain Vista Elementary. The safety issue for evacuating is the route the students must take, not the amount of students. The only outside access (other than the hallway door) from classrooms is a window, which can be broken in an emergency. Help, don't complain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

This school is disappointing considering the wonderful schools that are in the surrounding area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

the teachers are the only good thing at this school. the principals don't follow through with discipline and alot of the parents don't show up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

I feel that this is a very good school.. I feel that if parents got more involved with PTO, and things like that, they would see that the negativity they are always hearing, isn't always true. I feel that the more the parents are involved, the better the students are off! I am a room mom, volunteer, and go to all of the PTO meetings, and I have nothing bad to say about this school, other then I feel they should have extracurricular activities for the younger students. All in all, I enjoy this school, and feel my children have a great education here. My 4th grader is on high honor roll, and my kindergartener has learned to read and write very well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2006

I believe the school is doing as best as can be expected for the moment. The overcrowding problem in the QC area is is having a negative impact on all of the local schools. I absolutely love the first grade teacher my daughter was assigned. The parent involvement however is lacking sufficiently. Parents tend to have tons of comments but not donate any time or effort to improve things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2006

Do Not send your child here. Teachers are not interested in teaching the kids. My child in 2nd grade has always received the highest grades. When we moved here she started receiving c's. Teachers response was that all children were getting the same grades because they bored with the lessons and there were no other way to teach the kids. Teachers have no workbooks and have no control over classrooms. Upper grades do not long belong with smaller grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2006

San Tan Heights has wonderful teachers. This school would be great, if it was only a K-5 school. I don't think mixing 1st graders with 8th graders works. The 1st graders are exposed to fights and unnessary language. While the 8th graders act very immuture because they are around the younger children. I have to give the teachers credit for trying to make that school the best it can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

Academics are lacking at this school, there is a shortage of rooms and teachers. The higher grades are a diservice to the children. There are no sports and the school boards will not allow field trips. There are a handful of teachers that are great but they are lacking supplies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2005

San Tan is a rapidly growing school. Inovations are needd to keep up the pace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2005

I think this school has had many miss consumptions about it. I believe the students can learn, if they are willing to. My daughter is in Mrs. June's K all day class, and she seems to be teaching her very well. I believe the extra curricular activities are great. My daughter loves music, art, and most of all, she loves PE. They should have more sports for the kids, but other then that, it's fine. I think the parents could be a little more involved in schooling, as I participate in classroom if needed. Parent involvment is very important to me, and I feel if more parents were involved, that students would be more educated as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 42%
Hispanic 33% 43%
Black 8% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Hungarian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Performing Plus and AYP (2010)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Other
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hungarian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25 am
School end time
  • 3:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Art Moncibaez
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 888-2932

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Multi-aged
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Special education
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Other
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hungarian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Pinal County Health
  • Pinal County Sheriff Office
  • Cental Arizona College
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Mountian Vista Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 W. San Tan Heights Blvd.
Queen Creek, AZ 85242
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 888-2930

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ala San Tan
San Tan Valley, AZ


Eduprize School
Queen Creek, AZ



Walker Butte K-8
San Tan Valley, AZ


Combs Traditional Academy
San Tan Valley, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT