Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

San Tan Heights Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 714 students

Our school is best known for

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

89 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2005

I think this school has had many miss consumptions about it. I believe the students can learn, if they are willing to. My daughter is in Mrs. June's K all day class, and she seems to be teaching her very well. I believe the extra curricular activities are great. My daughter loves music, art, and most of all, she loves PE. They should have more sports for the kids, but other then that, it's fine. I think the parents could be a little more involved in schooling, as I participate in classroom if needed. Parent involvment is very important to me, and I feel if more parents were involved, that students would be more educated as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2005

My two kids have been going here since December, and I am not impressed. I thought it would be better this year with a new principal and staff, but not much has changed. My son was bit by a dog on school grounds, and he was unable to locate an adult during recess to report it to, and when he told his teacher, she thought he was making it up. I had to find out from him that afternoon, and then was unable to get through by phone. My neighbor just told me her daughter broke her finger playing tetherball, and nobody informed her. There seems to be a real lack of communication here. On the plus side, I notice a lot of parents involved in the school, which may help it in the long run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

My children have attended this school since last year. The school is disorganized. The teachers are tired, unenthusiastic, and spend most their time trying to maintain a semblance of order in the classroom.There are very few fun activities for the children i.e., events such as science fairs, fund-raisers, extra curricular clubs, involvement in sports, music/drama etc. The school is boring. The decor is boring. Rules are enforced sporadically and selectively. It is the worst school my children have attended.Where is all the tax money going? Pinal County should be ashamed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2005

San Tan Heights K-8 is Unorganized/Under Staffed/Need School Books. Adnisisration Staff unable to answer any question in regards to school programs, answer for every question was 'I don't know or we haven't been approved for any funding yet. No Sports Programs or Orchestra or Band Classes, Why Not? This is a important part of children growing athletically and musically. PTO does not upste independant newspaper,all the other schools do to keep parents informed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2005

San Tan Heights has done wonders for my son. After moving from school to school, my son was behind in reading and frustrated with school. He was becoming aggressive and getting into trouble. In the third grade I feared that he would never enjoy school. The resource teachers and para-professionals took time to work with my son. The took a liking to him and enjoyed his personality and indiviual traits. They built confidence in him as a student and as a person. Mr. Semo, the principal, realized that my son was trying to do better and rewarded his small steps along the way. My son came to San Tan Heights failing in his primary years. Now, going into the fifth grade, he has achieved the Honor Roll and been rewarded as a Mighty Mustang. I am thankful that we found San Tan Heights and the fantastic faculty. Mustangs on the move!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2005

The school is beautiful. The system is getting its act together (need more after school programs), but the teachers are really the ones who shine here. They're a flexible team who works extremely hard to solve problems. Many of them volunteered their time for after-school programs when they weren't even paid for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

The teachers at this school seem to be patient with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

I think that San Tan Heights Elementary is trying hard but is a new school and they do not have the funding available for extracurricular activities nor academic programs. The Coolidge school district was definitely not prepared for the growth in this area and our children are suffering. I have a 7th grader and a 1st grader in the school. Both of my children have tested well above their grade level but these needs are not being addressed. My 1st graders class has split once this year and they still have 30 students in the class, the 7th graders class has split twice and they still have 36 students in the class. They are building on to give the 7th and 8th graders more room, that will hopefully accomodate the bodies, but I haven't seen anything that will improve the quality of the education that our children will receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

San Tan Heights Elementary has been opened for the last couple of years. We recently moved into this area from Gilbert, Arizona. We have a 7th grader and a 4th grader. Both boys. It is disappointing to our 7th grade son who enjoyed band at his elementary school that this school does not have a band at all. Also they do not have any type of sports. I can tell you with the growth here in San Tan Heights Coolidge School District was not prepared. My oldest son 7th grade class had close to 36 kids in one class. My 4th graders is at I believe 32. With this many children it is hard for my children to get the quality of education that they are used too. I beleive the teachers try their very best but I don't think they have the support they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 42%
Hispanic 33% 43%
Black 8% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Hungarian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Performing Plus and AYP (2010)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Other
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hungarian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25 am
School end time
  • 3:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Art Moncibaez
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 888-2932

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Multi-aged
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Special education
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Other
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hungarian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Pinal County Health
  • Pinal County Sheriff Office
  • Cental Arizona College
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Mountian Vista Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 W. San Tan Heights Blvd.
Queen Creek, AZ 85242
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 888-2930

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ala San Tan
San Tan Valley, AZ




Walker Butte K-8
San Tan Valley, AZ


Combs Traditional Academy
San Tan Valley, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT