Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kathryn Sue Simonton Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

97 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2013

A good school for children in lower grades, but bullying issues with administration doing nothing about the issue in the upper grades. Very disappointed this year in this school on attention to major problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

Very happy with the school so far. Very nice facilities, plenty of room for the students and a staff that has experience. They are a "B" rated school but only missed an "A" rating by a couple of points. The teachers seem to focus on positive reinforcement rather than negative as many young teachers do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

I was not impressed in the least. The teachers we good for the most part but the district as a whole needs a LOT of improvement. Ending up pulling my kids (not because of the teachers) because of the poor practices of the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2011

I have lived very close in proximity to this schools for over 6 years now. Prior to this year, I didn't have any children old enough to attend. I must admit that the reason I purchased my house in the location that it resides was partly due to the closeness to the school. Now that my child attends Kindergarten here, I am quite impressed. Before enrolling my child, I was concerned as there are many children that live in the neighborhood that go to the newer charter type schools that have opened up recently. This made me question whether or not Simonton was the right school for us. After a referral to my child's teacher, I was elated with the outcome of this school year. I think that you should consider all of the negatives you are hearing and research them for yourself. I haven't had any issues with the school and my child's teacher is very warm, caring and provides a great learning environment. Also, the parent involvement is outstanding. I think you can send your child to the "worst or best" school out there, but yout child's education really comes down to how much you are willing to put in to him/her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2010

There has been little improvement over the last year with the leadership of the school. The teachers are great with communicating with the parents. When asking the teachers about the leadership they usually do not want to dicuss it because of fear of reprocussions. This school has improved over the years but still has a long way to go to be the best in the district. The district did grow from one school a little over five years ago to have a High School now. This does not mean training should not be provided to administrators on how to manage. There are somethings I take very seriously and my kids safety is first and foremost. I will not allow them to attend this school. This would require a change in leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

The teachers are absolutely amazing as well as the support staff!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I have really enjoyed all of the staff and administration at my children's school. I feel that all of the teachers go above and beyond to help the students suceed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I have met many of the teacher and find them to be wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Both my kids attend school at Simonton and we love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

Because we have the best teachers and pinciple. Simonton School Rocks with character and drive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Excellent principal! Her years of experience, leadership, love for the students and vision for what our children deserve in an education set her apart from other principals. She and the teachers have a cooperative effort that focuses on improving our school and the quality of education our children receive each year. She really seeks out opportunities to be involved with the kids and know who each and every one of the students. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The teachers and all of the staff give 100% into the kid's learning and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Why do you love Kathryn Sue Simonton Elementary School? The staff is great and quick to rectify a situation without hesitation. They are also easy to talk to and keep me well informed about my children who attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

We love the staff at Simonton! They are amazing and completely dedicated to the education of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Because the staff cares! The teachers are there because they honestly LOVE shaping little minds. KSSE Rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

My kindergarten child has received a wonderful education from this school. Her teacher has been an amazing support and been wonderful to the students and families!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

My daughter is a teacher at this school and she helps make it great!


Posted April 25, 2010

My child has had 4 really great teachers. They care about the kids, provide great support, and understand how to keep the kids interested in learning. The kids get a well rounded education; including teachings about dinosaurs, wildlife, forests, people in history, growing plants, making maps, designing, and writing reports. At times my child comes home AFTER TURNING IN A BOOK REPORT that was enjoyed so much that the book report writing and drawing continues at home. My child also now loves to read and often time reads while I am driving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Great Teachers and Staff. My daughter loves going to school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Excellant Principal and Staff. Teachers who make a HUGE difference. My kids love their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Hispanic 22% 43%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

40300 N. Simonton Blvd
Queen Creek, AZ 85240
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 987-5330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cambridge Academy East
Queen Creek, AZ




Ranch Elementary School
San Tan Valley, AZ


Combs Traditional Academy
San Tan Valley, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT