Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frances Brandon-Pickett Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 504 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2013

My grandkids are realtively new to FBP Elementary. Last Friday (Sept.7) they had Grandparents Day at the school. It was awesome! Not perfect but pretty close, especially when you consider you were working with that many K-4th graders who all wanted to show off who they are to their grandparents.


Posted May 30, 2010

We moved to Queen Creek in '09 and we're nervous about putting our son in a new School. The staff made us feel so welcome and the transition very easy! In the 14+ years of having both our sons in public Schools, FBPE has been hands down the best School! Our son has made tremendous progress, we finally have him in a School that understands and cares about his needs and takes the time to listen. They have the greatest p/up and drop off system.. No traffic or screaming parents... the staff and volunteers are outside in the rain or 120* heat every school day directing cars and making sure our students are safe. Loads of thanks and appreciation to the wonderful staff , awesome volunteers and excellent Teachers!! As our son would say "you rock!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

Excellent school. Positive approach that rewards student effort and behavior. Two thumbs up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

This school is so wonderful, I was very nervous putting my son into Kindergarten this year as he is my first to go to school. Pickett Elementary has made all my worries disappear the staff is amazing and my son absolutely loves to go to school everyday! I couldn't be happier with this school it is absolutely amazing!! The district we live in has a horrible reputation so I feel very blessed to have gotten my son into Pickett!! Keep up the good work Pickett!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

My daughter just finished her 5th Grade year, she had Mr Collins, he was an excellent teacher. My daughter excelled and is now in Honors Classes in Middle School I think Mr Collins is a big part of that! Great School was said to her my daughter have to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

end of year update for our first grader (see november 27,2007 post). now that all is said and done, we love pickett. our daughter's new teacher was great, good activities, good staff. we need more pto involvement and fundraisers. other schools in the district do really well with pto fundraising. pick up the slack and pickett will be even better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

first year for our first grader who went to private school last year. with so many new students this year we were worried because we got a new teacher. but so far so good and she really loves it there. but she's always telling us about the 'bad' kids and wild kids so we question the ability of staff to discipline and help promote good learning vs. teaching around distractions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2007

In the short time this school has been open, the administration has established a positive and learning-promoting culture. They are fantastic. Two thumbs up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2007

We recently moved to Queen Creek (1/07) and I was worried about my daughter starting in the middle of the school year. The staff and children made her feel right at home! She LOVES waking up and going to school every morning! This is a GREAT school! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

I have been very please with the care of each student. I have a 4rd grader in Mr. Keasler classroom and he is wounderful I don't thing I have seen so much individual attention on the students, like they have in F.B.P.E.S.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

Frances Brandon Pickett is the best Elementary School in the Queen Creek District. Mrs. Carr is involved and cares for her students. The Teachers & Staff do a good job. I would like to see more parents getting involved in their child's education. It's great having a school 'in the neighborhood' but I can't tell you how many times I have walked in the building and have not been recognized or acknowledged. I would like to see more precautions for the safety of my children. The school puts out a nice newsletter, The Pickett Post, but it's not consistent. The school's website is not updated. Parents are not always informed of what is going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2006

I am so impressed with Brandon pickett elementary. My child has been excelling beyond expectations. The Principal is involved and truly cares about the well being of the children and his or her learning process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2006

My son really loves this school! The classrooms have cool technology, such as 'Smart Boards'. The principal, Mrs. Carr, does Principal Challenges through out the school year. They are not easy and are age appropriate. The teachers there are great and very caring. When they know the student is capable of performing harder tasks, they know when to give them that little push for them to shine.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Hispanic 27% 42%
Black 8% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Asian 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22706 E. Village Loop
Queen Creek, AZ 85242
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 987-7421

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT