Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Skyline Ranch Elementary School

Public | PK-8 | 713 students

A positive, caring environment where students strive for academic excellence

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 14, 2014

I am pleased with the education that my kindergartner received last year. He transferred mid year and was really behind with his reading. by the end of the school year thanks to his teacher he was up to speed and is now reading short books. I really appreciate the teacher's daily emails to keep parents updated on the kids curriculum it really helped me help my child achieve success. I am looking forward to the next 8 years of my child's education at skyline ranch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

SKYLINE RANCH is an amazing school with the BEST admin and teachers-all employees are wonderful!!! Every member of the Skyline Staff has made a difference in one way or another for my children that have been attending Skyline since kindergarden, we are currently on year 7. The entire staff demonstrate positive behaviors and a culture like no other which has changed, grown and improved over the past couple of years. The teachers care about the students and encourage them to do their best in everything they do, academics, sports, behavior, attitute, BARK!!! I look forward to the next couple of years Skyline!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

I have loved Skyline Ranch for my Kindergarten son! He had ADHD and his teacher has been amazing! He has improved in all areas since the beginning of the year, and has learned so much so far. The staff is always friendly. I feel like this is a safe school that looks out for the students safety. I would recommend this school to anyone looking for a great school in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

Skyline Ranch K-8, Very pleased with all the staff & every single teacher my child has had thus far. We have been @ this school for 6 yrs & will continue to be a part of it. Looking forward to another awesome yr. with a lot of new faces (principle & vice principle, teachers etc) Finally I can say I feel safe with the way the drop off & pick up for students has evolved. Awesome School, fun& friendly staff that are willing to educate our students & willing to answer any parents questions or concerns. Thank you Skyline Ranch K-8 for encouraging my kids to strive to the fullest of All their achievements!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

My kids are new to this school this year. I like how involved the staff is with the kids. I like how they take time to take turns to supervise the kids from before school to after. I like how they are very concerned with the safety I the kids. It eases my mind. Seeing this is there first year at Skyline I can't comment on the education. I'm waiting to see. But as for the staff they are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

Wow, what a difference with the new administrators. They are everywhere. I went in to put money on my son's lunch account and all three were in the cafeteria supervising the kids. My son says they are in there everyday. Each morning when I drop off my son they are they are in the front of the building welcoming the kids. It really is a pleasant change from the past few years. My son loves going to school this year and always talks about kids getting awards for good behavior. I see a lot of great things happening at the school. If it continues this is going to be a great year. Great job Florence for putting new administrators in the school. The teachers seem very happy too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

My children have been going to this school for 3 years and I have seen a lot of improvement in the quality of care provided to the students. The staff is nice and really treats the students like family. This school offers a lot of extra curricular activities for the students to be involved in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2013

Great school improving every year... Office staff can be a little bet more friendly. Was given a tour by Jackie, very friendly answerd my question and the princpal toook time to speak to our family. My girls love the school and their Bully prevention program. I was even offered a parenting community class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

love it, MUCH better than when we were at skyline ranch, my daughters grades went up, the teacher still enjoys teaching unlike teachers we have had at schools past. love the people in the office, and everyone is more than willing to help when we have a question.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

Horrible school. I taught here for one year and they have NO interest in your children! Just interested in how many kids they can fit into a classroom!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 2, 2011

This school is probably the one of the worst schools my children have ever attended!!! Kids are out of control in the classrooms, teachers and administration do nothing about it, even after being reported several times. The administration is terrible, the people who work the front desk are are only there to collect a paycheck and really don't care what happens at the school as long as they are getting paid. Do not send your child to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2011

This school is lacking from the moment it starts. This school year started with all the parents and students showing up for registration and NONE of the schedules being ready for 6 to 8 grade. When they did print them they were incorrect. Missing classes and incorrect classes. Then a quarter into the year they issued the teachers a lesson plan, and started a "Reteach" program. Kids sit a hear the same thing they have already learned in the regular math and english classes. It has no enrichment portion, even though that is part of the name of these new classes. It is mid year and there are schedule problems again. There is no challenge in the classroom. (When a teacher says they are challenging your child but they have a 99% to 100% in the class there is no learning occuring.) Add into all of this that there is NO involvement by parents. I went to a PTO meeting and there were 6 people present including me and the PTO board. I was offered the open position on the board because I showed up. I am looking for a private school for both of my kids. Put your kid in a charter school like eduprize or Ben Franklin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2010

We have been ecstatic with the teachers and principal. That is what is most important in a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2010

When we moved to Skyline I heard many bad things about the school but couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised they were wrong. I have been so impressed with the teachers commitment to the kids and the value of learning they are teaching. Parent involvement really makes a big impact on how children learn, and I think that if the parents take an active role in their children the teachers will be able to succeed more. The bad reviews are from years ago and the rating on this site does not reflect the current status of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

Great school! The teachers and staff are very friendly and my son really enjoys going to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

I think the test scores speak for themselves. We all have opinions and very specific experiances. Even as a very involved parent, without the combined effort from the teacher, it remains a losing battle. Teaching is not a 'job' it is a career choice and should be treated that way by every teacher or they are in teaching for the wrong reasons. Unfortunatly, our teachers are not graded as our students are, and if they were, many of them would have to change their ways or be on their way. This is a result of the Florence District allowing low standards to be kept by their teaching staff. My son repeatedly complains about how tired he is of the teachers yelling. That really does not make a pleasant learning environment. I don't blame the teachers, I blame FUSD for establishing and maintaining incredibly low standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2009

I have two boys that attend this school and can say nothing but great things about it! I have never had a problem here, and the teachers that I have dealt with over the last two years have been great. As far as overcrowding is concerned, you show me a public school that doesn't have 20-30 kids per class. I'm thirty years old and they had the same problem back when I was in school. Overall I would rate Skyline a great and safe school to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

I am currently an 8th grader at Skyline Ranch. I have attended this school for about four years and would have to admit that this school has changed big time since the first year! Most teachers care for the students to succeed in their class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2009

I am now a Seventh Grade student at Skyline Ranch and I think that the school is amazing!I will have been a Student there for 2 years now and over the time I have seen a great improvement in the school.The teachers work hard to make sure their classes have all the materials needed,They have even go out of their way to bring in items of their own such as movies that have to do with the material we are learing in class,during AIMS,(My teacher was unaware of the snacks we got from the school)and spent her money on snacks for the students so they didn't have to go without.They listen to the students when they have a problem/concern with the class/student.They handle the situation in a very fair way and now they are even moving students to Magma Ranch to'cut down'on the population problem.--A Skyline Student
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2007

I also have two kids at this school. I was scared to death to send them to this school after reading some of the postings on this page but I have found my experience to be the complete opposite from those postings. The people who are upset that there are 22 to 25 kids in a class need to visit any public school back east. We grew up with 35 kids to a class and we still got a good education. I agree with the person who said the parents need to step up. Take the time to educate YOUR child. Take ownership of your own responsibility and stop putting it off on the school and teachers. My kids teachers good and let me know right away if there is an issue that needs to be addressed. I am pleased with my decision to send my kids to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 42%
Hispanic 33% 43%
Black 9% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:05 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Toby Haugen
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 655-6136

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
714
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
714

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Poston Butte High School
Florence High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1084 W. San Tan Hills
Queen Creek, AZ 85243
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 888-7520

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ala San Tan
San Tan Valley, AZ


Mountain Vista Middle School
San Tan Valley, AZ


Eduprize School
Queen Creek, AZ


Combs Traditional Academy
San Tan Valley, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT