Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eduprize School

Charter | K-8

 
 

GreatSchools
mobile

Finding great
schools is
now at your
fingertips »

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

90 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2011

Im amazed to hear such negative comments! I moved to Arizona 3 years ago, for the sole purpose of my son going to this unbelievable school. I heard about this school, came and visited and then moved my family to Arizona when he was offered a spot at this school. I can say that the aides do an amazing job of moving cars through carpool safely with the help of the teachers. Everyone is always very professional and friendly. I feel sad for those that have had a negative experience at this school. I can't even comprehend the schools that they must be accustomed to, if Eduprize isnt a 5 star school. My son has 22 students in his class right now; much different from what I have heard of the neighborhood public schools. Nothing is going to please everyone; but as for me, I could not ask for anything more. My son is safe, he is being challenged, his AIMS scores were amazing last year, the school has wonderful teachers that love their job, and Eduprize hasnt laid off 1 teacher since it opened. That gives me peace of mind in an economy where many schools are laying teachers off and splitting their classes up in the middle of the school year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

I'm bucking the trend here & not gush re: Eduprize. When you have a situation where a child has been called a name by a teacher in front of students, it is clear whose camp the admin. is in. I ask parents to consider that if the staff are blindly defending the teacher, who is advocating for your child? I was told that even though many kids witnessed the insult, none would be asked b/c it wouldn't be "appropriate" & that "teachers are only human." I contend that not interviewing them is inappropriate..it puts all power in the hands of the teachers & zero in the students'. It puts in question that if indeed their policy is not to ask others to get to the truth, who does that empower in cases of assault, abuse, and neglect? This "defend the teacher at all costs" is a dangerous game to play & puts our children at risk for abuse at the hands of the "we don't investigate" policy. And while name-calling of a 5 year is a minor infraction, it doesn't feel that way when it's your child whom is scared of one of the very people whose job it is to protect her. What (in)action would be taken if something serious were to occur? Fair warning: They're on the teacher's side, not your child's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2011

This school is fabulous! My daughter has been going there for 2 yrs and she has excelled in so many ways. She has scored higher on her AIMS tests since starting this school. She is now in the top 10 in her class. The parent involvement is great! I love getting all the positive feedback from her teacher and helping them out. This school is above and beyond levels of other schools around. Teachers are held to a higher standard, which is great! The students are also held to a higher standard which makes them into great adults. So very happy with this school, my children will never go to another elem. jr high school.!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2010

I've had 3 kids in Eduprize, One since it opened, a first grader, and Kinder. We love the school. There are alot of other choices out there, and we did try other schools before Eduprize opened.. NOTHING COMPARES! The teachers are great! They are held to very high standards, and truly care about the kids! The administration has proved to really be on top of things, at all times, and as a parent, I have never been so happy with a school! We've even moved, and I choose to drive alot further than I need to, just so that my kids can continue to go to school there. It's worth every minute of my time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

My son has been attending this school since it opened in 2007 and he is doing excellent compared to the public schools and other charter school he attended prior to Eduprize. I love the fact that they offer different schedules for the students. The T.O.P.S. program makes it easier for working parents. I am and continue to be impressed by this school. Way to go Eduprize!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

My kindergartner is already doing first grade work. There curriculum and staff are awesome! Parents are very involved and this is what helps the school and children succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

My daughters kindergarten year has been fantastic. The 80 hour volunteer committment changes the tenor of school since parents are more like co-teachers and their opinions matter. In an economy where budgets are cut, I feel Eduprize does an above average job utilizing the resources they have. They don't waste on school buses, or lunch programs. It is a noticeable difference between performance of my children and those in another area school. Mainly because Eduprize sets the learning metrics above other schools and state standards. Moreover, they actually teach your child based on their current performance which continually challenges and pushes them to excel. I would happily continue sending my child here and would recommend it way above others in the immediate area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

I wonder about a school where the majority of the comments are from the teachers that are employeed there. Was there a staff meeting that it was decided to put comments on GreatSchools?


Posted November 4, 2009

Communication is great. Attendance is real strict.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

This school is excellent. The work atmosphere is wonderful. Everyone is willing to help. There is constant professional development available to become better at the profession. In addition, there are an abundant amount of resources at teacher's disposal.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 21, 2009

I am a new teacher at the Queen Creek Campus this year. I recently moved from a wonderful school district in Illinois and I have to say I am so utterly amazed at the wonderful things going on at our school. The administration is the best I have ever worked for in all of my career. The teachers are professional and supportive. I hope to stay here until I retire!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 19, 2009

My children have been attending EDUPRIZE for 3 years now. The Education is wonderful, the teachers are awesome they love the kids. Some of the staff is rather snooty and treat people bad infront of others. The ladies at the front desk are awesome, most of your aides are great with the exception of no leadership. The new copy lady is so rude to the parents, which makes me never want to volunteer. The specialist are wonderful. The education though is what it is about.


Posted October 14, 2009

My family and I love Eduprize! This is our second year at the school, and I'm amazed at what they have done in the short amount of time they've been open. My kids are challenged at their level and are able to experience hands-on activities through theme based cottages. The teachers are always in communication with me and I know that my kids are in good hands. Overall, my husband and I are very pleased with the experience we've had thus far. We'll continue to be part of the Eduprize community and all that it has to offer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

When I first moved out to Queen Creek I looked at the School Districts out here and thought to myself, the housing market better rebound before my little one starts attending school. Once Eduprize was built, everything changed. I can't stress the fact that this school is light years ahead of the public schools in the area. From the curriculum, to the staff, this school bleeds excellence. The teachers at Eduprize are the best of the best, and seem to all come from an experienced background. My only problem with Eduprize is that they only go from k-8, so I have no clue what I'm going to do when my little one has to start high school. I'm worried that the structure, and education that my little one is gaining from Eduprize will be lost in the FUSD system. I guess we'll cross that road when we get there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I have been teaching five years now. This is my third year here at Eduprize. I feel proud to say I work for this school! I love my career and and it's because of my wonderful students and their terrific families, fabulous co-workers, and superb leadership. The support from the administration is unmatched. They give you the tools you need to help you be successful. I am very proud to be a part of this amazing school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 2, 2009

I am a parent and teacher at EDUPRIZE. I love the support we recieve for students, parents, and teachers. I have never worked for a better school. The administration is phenomenal. Joyce Fox a such a caring, wonderful principal who cares about everyone and wants to help in any way she can. I have never had a better principal for my daughter or as a teacher. The curriculum is fantastic. My daughter comes home happy every day and can tell me many new things she has learned in all academic areas. All the teachers are wonderful and highly qualified. I couldn't be more thrilled to have the honor of working at such a fine school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

I am a teacher at Eduprize and am proud to say I am also a parent of Eduprize. I feel so fortunate to have my sons attend such an outstanding school with administration and staff that TRULY CARE about my children's academics and well being. I, like other parents get the pleasure of volunteering in my 3 kids classrooms and I realize what a valuable resource and tool I am for their teachers. As a teacher, I feel so blessed to have a wonderful group of supportive parents who want to help their kiddos become successful in their education. They understand the importance of giving time to the classroom and to their child at home. Regarding the Life Fund, I too pay it and without hesitation. I see how that money is utilized and know that it is to help my children experience above average fieldtrips and presentations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

TOPS is fabulous! This program fits our family perfectly. My son is in 6th grade and the TOPS program has been the best thing for him. It allows him to attend school with a GREAT teacher. He gets home and can take a break and have lunch with his family. Then we work on homework and get ready for after school activities. No more running around like a crazy person trying to get everyone's homework finished and dinner and activities. The TOPS program has allowed our family to function so much better than a traditional school day did. So, if you are thinking about EduPrize, definitely look into the TOPS program and see if it would work for your family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Eduprize students and parents are of the highest caliber! As a teacher, I have been completely impressed with the level of interest and support the parents have for their students. The students are hard-working and well-behaved. As a parent of Eduprize students, I appreciate the dedication and hard work of the teachers and staff. Eduprize is and Excelling school that continues to impress!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 1, 2009

EDUPRIZE is an excellent school with so many opportunities for their students. All four of my children enjoy going to school each day. The school is absolutely beautiful. The halls are adorned with student work which they proudly display. It is quite a sight to see. My children feel safe at school and the atmosphere is absolutely pleasant. The cottage themes add additional fun and learning to an already incredible curriculum. Thank you for making EDUPRIZE a great place to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A46%
Female 249%N/A49%
Male 251%N/A51%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4567 W. Roberts
Queen Creek, AZ 85242
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 888-1610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ala San Tan
San Tan Valley, AZ




Calvary Christian School
Queen Creek, AZ


Walker Butte K-8
San Tan Valley, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT