Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ellsworth Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2013

My kids have attended this school for a couple years now and they have been doing great. The most important thing to me is how well the teachers work with their students. There are some negatives, but I am sure every school has something that could be improved. Overall my kids love it and I know how much the teachers care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2013

I am moving to the area and have been trying to decide which school I am sending my son to. I have called this school several times in the past few weeks and have never had anyone answer. To me this is very frustrating and makes me feel that another school would be a better choice even though I will be living a block from this school. the star ratings are not applicable to me so please do not go by that
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2012

Office staff has been very friendly and helpful the times I have gone in. The teachers seem to understand what is develpmentally appropriate which is nice to see. My kids are really happy so I am too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

Truly disappointed in this school. The teachers treat kids like they are stupid. The homework is the same thing over and over again each week. It is done in one day and then they can play the rest of the week because it is not do until the end of the week. The staff never answers the phone. They lose important paperwork which then in return causes issues. The principal allows bad behavior to go on at the school especially bullies and tell them to learn to deal with the bullies. There isn't much of a school support system there either. If I would have known it was going to be this bad...I would have never would have moved into the neighborhood. DON'T SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL unless you don't care about your child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

As a parent of a student st this school it is unacceptable that we have to call 6 or more times to get them to answer the phone. on many,many occassions, I have called over and over and only get voice mail. They have my child during the day, so I need to know I can reach someone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

The school could use more of a "team" attitude within the staff and parents but overall my child loves coming to the school and most of the teachers are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2011

I felt that my child was bored in this school. My child knew most of the materials that was given before he enter the school. They do not accommodate for those that are above the average student. They also lack communication with the parents and the PTO is not very personal to those that don't attend the PTO meetings. I ended up putting my child in a different school (a charter school) where my child is actually learning something. I would not recommend this school to anyone and the principal is not much better than the rest of the staff. I would recommend putting your child in a charter school before I would recommend this school ever!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

I love this school, they staff is always doing the best. I love to have a great school in my neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

This is a comminuty school. The parents and teachers have strong PTO and sense of pride for the school. We are truly a village.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 17, 2009

not happy need more teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

The school is in it's second year now, and I am extremely pleased. I agree with other parents that the front office staff is amazing, very responsive, and always recognizes my husband, my attending child and my pre-school age children by name. The teachers routines, although sketchy last year, have been solidified and work well now. The school, in it's first year, was rated performing plus, which is a wonderful feat the entire staff should be very proud of! I love Ellsworth and will do everything to help sponsor the school for my younger children to enjoy too. I have never had any issues with any staff member responding to our inquisitions or concerns promptly and professionally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

This school is awesome. The District is lacking a little though. This school has a high enrollment compared to the others in this District. They are the smallest building with the most amount of kids, and they received the Highest label. That says a lot for the teachers, staff & principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

I love the front office staff and amdministration! They are always positive, upbeat, and helpful. The administration is always visible throughout the school and very supportive of her staff. Safety of the students is a priority in this school! In response to an earlier comment about attendance, they sent home a letter during testing time explaining the reasons for being concerned about attendance. That is part of the state requirements during AIMS testing. They have to have over a certain average. I don't know of any schools that aren't concerned with attenandce.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

Ellsworth is a school with wonderful, caring children who come prepared each day and ready to learn. Ellsworth can be an excelling school once the proper administration treats staff with the respect deserved. Ellsworth's 1st year was made up of caring teachers who were eager to learn. The parent support was wonderful and the PTO rocked! Also, those art classes that the school lacks were voted down on the ballots, that wasn't a school based decision. Unfortunately the taxes in the community may need to go up for the students to benefit from art programs. Best of luck for the following years.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 18, 2008

I am extremely pleased with the education my child is getting here. I love the fact it is an indoor school and that they have a Smart Board in every classroom. My child's teacher was AWESOME! She did reading groups on a regular basis and challenged her high groups with Lit. Studies, Book Reports and Research Reports! My child had a wonderful experience in second grade at Ellsworth Elementary, home of the Excelling Eagles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

I'm very happy with this school. The teachers are great. Its a growing community and I believe if the parents put in more effort to work with their kids and the school, then this school will be a great school. If you want more parents to participate you need to inform them of your meeting a few days in advance. Not the day before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

I feel like the school is lacking in many areas also (fine arts, music, etc). I have had a few issues this year with my daughters and when I have approached the principal, she in turn blames the teachers. It has been pretty rocky to say the least. I know that all first year schools go through growing pains but I have yet to see anything dynamic about this school. I guess we will have to wait and see. Oh, also parent participation is horrible. At every activity, you always see the same people over and over again. Don't get me worng, I love the people that show up because I know most of them really well, but it would be nice to see a variety of parents that are willing to invest in the education of their children. Maybe this would help the shool improve! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

My kids have been happy here this year. The teachers are great and despite being its first year things seem to be progressing smoothly. I would like to see a rewards program for the well behaved... alot of time seems to be wasted focusing on bad behavior issues. Also, its sad to see the lack of attention to the arts i.e. art, music, and even science. The kids have 2 seperate computer classes each week. Its almost as if they are being taught this is the only area of importance. Our teachers are wonderful though and are genuinely focusing on each child as best they can. Class sizes are around 30 kids +/- a few. Its sad to see public school principals who only care about attendance rather than grades. We as parents care more about the education our children are receiving rather than the attendace records during AIMS testing time.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Hispanic 29% 43%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

38454 N. Carolina Ave
Queen Creek, AZ 85240
Phone: (480) 882-3520

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Combs Traditional Academy
San Tan Valley, AZ



Cambridge Academy East
Queen Creek, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT