Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvary Christian School

Private | PK-6 | 90 students

We are best known for a Christ-centered curriculum.
 
 

 

Living in Queen Creek

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $138,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,080.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2013

Calvary Christian school has amazing teachers that love God and care deeply about the children. they read in kindergarten. they are so advanced. they do a lot of fun things and programs and have great school outings. they learn the Word of God and memorize scriptures.they do all they can to make it affordable for families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

My school is Calvary Christian School and everyday it impresses me more! This school does amamzing things with & FOR the children and ALL centered around bible scriptures! This school has been the greatest blessing to my daughter (& me) and I will do all I can to make sure she can continue her education there! Thank you Calvary for being a school that I am proud to send my daughter to and that brings me/us great joy & comfort! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

My school is Calvary Christian School. My husband and I love this school. My oldest started Pre-School, now in will be in 1ST grade in 2013-2014 year and my youngest will be in Pre-K > They have loved every minute of the day. The children learn more then they do in a public school. They have Bible and Chapel and other classes like Computer lab, PE. Science. Social Studies "etc" We love all the teachers and other staff at the school. Everyone is so nice. I love the low ratio,so the children can have the attention that they need. My oldest daughter even would love to go on the weekends. We are proud to send our two children at Calvary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

Great teacher to student ratios. The students are nurtured, and in a positive environment which encourages them as they learn. Children don't just grow academically but develop wonderful interpersonal skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

Our children are growing up with a true sense of faith, love, and moral responsibility! Academically they are excelling! The teachers and school staff are caring and professional! The teachers are terrific and give each child individualized attention. We couldn't ask for more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

My son and daughter attend this school. Here is what you need to know, same lessons as the state school with 1 huge benefit. My kids have learned to love God, and learned tons of great bible stories! If you want an education, and direction in morals, values, and faith... this is the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

Fantastic school. My oldest kid has been here since pre-k. The teachers are excellent and they really care about the students. The environment is excellent for the little ones and their pre school and pre-k programs are the best in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

This has been a wonderful school for my pre-school and pre-k girls. I will be sending my 3rd child through this school! Wonderful environment, loving, great fundamentals, teaching morals and behavior in a Christian loving environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

Calvary Christian is a joy to be at. The teachers care about the students. The principal is out and about with the students. The academics are acclerated, and the teachers are making it a priority to see the students achieve first spiritually and then academically. This is a fantastic school. The class sizes are small, and there are openings in every grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

Great school. Teachers develop personal relationships with each student, due to low student/teacher ratios. Safe environment for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Gardening teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Clubs
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Viola Harrison
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (480) 988-7335

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Calvary Christian School is called to serve families desiring private affordable Christian education. We work in partnership with families to provide a safe, learning environment for their child.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
75
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
75

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Tax credits
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19248 East San Tan Boulevard
Queen Creek, AZ 85142
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 988-4241

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Patriot Academy
Queen Creek, AZ


Ala QC Elementary School
Queen Creek, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT