Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Benjamin Franklin Charter School - Crismon

Charter | K-6 | 900 students

Our school is best know for its academically focused, well-rounded education.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 28, 2012

I love this school!!! It is not for people who want an easy ride. They raise the bar for both students and parents. The structured but loving environment was exactly what my son needed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

We absolutely love the BenFranklin-Crismon Campus! Our son has been there since Kindergarten. The academic program is accelerated and the teachers/principal are dedicated to the students. My son loves going to school and loves his teachers. This program encourages students to learn the material...not just memorize it for a test. We are blessed to have a program that teaches students in a way that allows them to think through a problem -- not just have one pop up on a computer screen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

Started my oldest child in 2nd grade at BFCS in Gilbert, Loved this school and staff. We moved to the BFCS Power campus because it is closer to our home. I LOVE this school too. There Curriculum is accelerated. If the child drops below a "B" Teachers tutor them until they are back up. The children wear conservative dress code or uniforms. The kids are taught virtues, values and patriotism and they are well mannered. The school only has one fund raising event .. the Fall Festival. They supply the children with the necessities for school, papers, books, pencils etc. Ask yourself why the public schools keep having fund raisers? Why do the parents have to buy supplies for the class? Where is all the MONEY? We get taxed & what happened to all the Lotto money?!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

I am gald I can say that not only my husband and I love Benjamin Franklin Charter School (Crismon Campus), my kids do as well! The structure in the classrooms, back to the basics education and the over all learning environment is set for success! Every staff member there is geared for the for the accademic and self advancements in every student from Kindergarten to 6th grade! With all this my kids look forward to going to school and hate it when they have to miss! I hope I never experience the day where they dread going to school! Benjamin Franklin Charter School is like family, always there for your kids best interest! Blessed to call them my kids school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

My son started this school a few months into the year and really struggled at first. His teacher did a wonderful job to catch him up to the rest of the students. He is only in Kindergarten and it is amazing the things he is doing. My 4 year old daughter can not wait to be joining him at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Because the class are great, the staff are very good at their job, and overall my son loves it and talks about school all the time!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

I am so pleased with Benjamin Franklin. My two daughters attend the one in Queen Creek, and we have only good things to say about the school. My kindergartener recited the preamble to the constitution after attending for 1 month... amazing. I love the patriotism that is emphasized. I appreciate the high acedemic standards, the opportunities for parental involvement, and the dress code. The teachers are all wonderful, and the principle is amazing. So grateful for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

Franklin is a great school where the students are very successful. Teachers and principal are great. Great discipline, and overall great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

This school is great. I have two sons attending BFCS (5th and 3rd grade) and my husband and I are very satisfied. The curriculum is very good, homeworks are adequate and the Principal, teachers and office staff are always willing to go the extra mile. Gabriela Valenzuela.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

I have 2 students in this school and they love it. We are very pleased as parents with the entire experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

My children love this school. They are excelling in all aspects of learning and they are challenged every day. I feel that this is the best school around to prepare a child for HS and college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

If you like your child to be an overachieving robot and do hours of homework everday. This school is for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

This really is a great school. The teachers are wonderful, and my children have enjoyed their experiences here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Overall great school, good teachers, have had a very pleasant experience since day 1. This is the first school I've experienced that really takes control of bullying, and doesn't tollerate it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2006

My children having been going to Ben Franklin for 9 years I love this school. If you want a great education this is the place to put your child. I love the parent involvment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2006

I am for the most part thrilled with this school! I don't think the office staff is very informed, or overly friendly, but the academics make up for that! My child is reading, doing math and spelling at a much higher level than friends his age! I don't believe my child would be doing as will as he is if he were at another school! I love to help out and believe there is a high parent involvement at this school! They welcome you into class at any time! Excellent school to attend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2005

Very impressed with academics. They require a lot of homework, which can be a negative if your child has trouble focusing. Teachers are wonderful. They definitely require respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

My children have ben going to BF for three years now. We have had little complaint, other than the facilities. We did have an instance last year that we felt deservec a bit more attention by the principal. This is why I rated him slightly lower than the teachers. I felt that the way the way the situation was handled was not fair to all side. My son got what he deserved, so I'm not being defensive. BF, I understand, will be moving next year. this will make our commute from QC considerable farther. As far as academics, BF is solid. We have no complaints. We home schooled for a number of years and found that our children were more successful on a different math program, but this is minor in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

great academics,parent involvment welcome, good sports program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

Only charter school in the area, growing nicely. Much tougher school than Power Ranch Elementary, but my children are doing better at Power Ranch. Liked the teachers well enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 42%
Hispanic 10% 43%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Shalisa Arnold
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 987-3517

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Teacher-run
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Benjamin Franklin High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22120 E. Queen Creek Rd.
Queen Creek, AZ 85142
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 987-0722

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Ala Mesa
Mesa, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT