Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
61 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 89 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Benjamin Franklin Charter School - Crismon 3

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
Curriculum is mediocre; could and should be more rigorous with science and math. With parent involvement and a good amount of time studying at home, kids can ace this school easily. My problem is when the school runs their mock emergency drills, they fail to inform parents that they had one. There are so many ways to send out alerts nowadays, that there shouldn't be any reasons why they don't. My child came home scared and said she saw a masked man through the window. That is terrifying for a child especially when the teacher herself didn't know of the drill and was scared too! They didn't advise the children afterwards that it was only a drill leaving the kids to wonder and be fearful.

Benjamin Franklin Charter School - Crismon 1

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
The only reason I am giving one star is because of the principal. Ms. Arnold is terrible when it comes to handling bully situations. Victims are usually the ones who get in trouble for defending themselves while the bullies, at best, get a warning. I'm not the only one who feels this way either. While the teachers and academics at this school are well above standard that doesn't mean anything when you have to comfort your child everyday because the principal lets their bully get away with making everyday for them a nightmare. A bully BTW who is well known by the staff and principal to be a bully and my child is not the only victim of this bully. This would never stand if Mr. McAfee was still there or even at the Power campus. Sadly, this may be our childs last year at the Crismon campus due to Ms. Arnolds inability/unwillingness to protect our child. Other than the current principal (and the bully that is still allowed to attend this school) it really is an amazing school.


Benjamin Franklin Charter School - Crismon 5

Posted November 28, 2015
- a community member
This school was established over 20 years ago. It's consistency in curriculum, standards, and ethics had continued to produce amazing results. This school has never compromised its values, and as a result, it has been going strong all this time. Students that attend this school are well advanced when they enter high school. Not only do they excel in academics, but the high standards that this school upholds, sets the stage for them to be kind and productive adults. What more could a parent want?

Benjamin Franklin Charter School - Crismon 3

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
because as a parent and not a worker at the school I rate the services my child gets from the teacher... it is not unfair to rate something that you think is right... then if teachers are going to rate their own work place is and unfair because is a bit like cheating, they are not the majority they are the ones giving the service not getting it... (is like a store i get sandwiches for my whole crew and if I don't good service or bad treatment then I rate them low) and if we cannot voice our opinions on the school webpage on anywhere then how are we supposed to ask and comments about things. In another note we have been saving all the notes of the homework my son does and unfortunately feel the teacher is trying to fail him, I can't believe that because a few spelling words missing the whole homework is counted a zero. but we'll see what teacher's got to tell me on the PTC.

Benjamin Franklin Charter School - Crismon
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 15, 2015
- a teacher
To Ms. Arnold, our principal, for helping us to acheive the high standards that this school's philosophy upholds. It is a constant effort, and we continue to strive to be the best. I want to thank her for the passion she has for our school, the love she has for our students, for her values, and for her example.


Benjamin Franklin Charter School - Crismon
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 13, 2015
- a teacher
Teachers at this school go through rigorous training and meetings. BFCS hires teachersand those that uphold the school values, and are highly qualified. It is a team effort, teachers can only be as effective as the parents allow. If it is not followed through at home, there is not much teachers can do. As a teacher, I am so grateful for parents that are involved in their child's education!

Benjamin Franklin Charter School - Crismon
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 13, 2015
- a teacher
The amount of time spent on homework is by grade level. Accomodations are given for any special needs. The typical amount of time for a 2nd grader to spend on homework is 45 minutes. The parents are told to please not let them spend more time on their homework, than their alloted time per grade level.

Benjamin Franklin Charter School - Crismon
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 11, 2015
- a teacher
Respecting students is mandatory in our school. Our teachers and staff must model the behavior they expect from their students. BFCS carefully selects its teachers and all of its staff members that hold the important virtue of respect and integrity.


Benjamin Franklin Charter School - Crismon
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 11, 2015
- a teacher
Our students are taught compassion and empathy through constant acts of service. They are taught unity as a school, classroom, and community members. This school encourages all acts of kindness and compassion for all. It is demonstrated on a daily basis by all of the staff and administration.

Benjamin Franklin Charter School - Crismon
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 11, 2015
- a teacher
Through monthly virtues, and constant communication with the students. Students are rewarded for acts of kindness, honesty and service, mostly through intrinsic motivation. We have a "Positive Discipline" plan set in place. Our students do things because they thrive on positive praise and encouragement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Benjamin Franklin Charter School - Crismon
22120 E. Queen Creek Rd., Queen Creek, AZ  85142
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 89 reviews. (480) 987-0722
Last modified Benjamin Franklin Charter School - Crismon is a Charter school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top