Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

San Tan Foothills High School

Public | 9-12 | 421 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2013

My son is a senior this year and I am so pleased I moved him here and out of the nearby high school with the laptops. He has had a positive experience and he will be ready to face the challenge of the real world in May 2014! Thank you Foothills!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2013

My son had spent his 1st couple of years of high school at the very reputable Basha high- however he was struggling with grades & failing in math... we moved & I made the commute to Basha thinking it was the best place for him. After much debate I agreed to let my son spend the last semester of 10th grade at Foothills with obvious consequences of returning to Basha if any of thr horror stories I had read about Foothills were true. I must let you know my son has never been more excited about going to school, he loves this school, hes friends with everyone & no joke my son who had at best a low C & had to attend summer school because he failed math is now a straight A student- this is no joke.. I am really glad I gave this school a chance against my judgement- dont read a book by its cover & remeber everything you read on the internet is not true remember the commercial?? bonjour ;)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2013

teacher give up on stundents and no contact with parents, run away from here, Drugs are a very big problem on campus and have been brought to admin attention with no change?
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2012

I switched my son to this high school because he was struggling in a nearby large high school where there was little communication with teachers and administration. Great job Foothills, the environment is warm and supportive of the students and their needs. For those of you who are still not sure, go and take a tour, you will not be dissappointed. Your very own lap top isn't all it is cracked up to be. Students need teachers too and teachers that take the time to get to know them. It was hard for my son to get extra help in a class with over 45 students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2012

My son is in the non-traditional HS at Foothills, and I was really excited about it since my son struggles in the traditional school. Let me note that my son is not a drug addict or on probation, he is not a trouble maker in school in fact he is on the shy side. Yet the staff seems to treat them as second class citizens, the lunchroom staff is rude to them and the teacher instead of being encouraging seems to put them down. Not sure this is the right choice for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

The New Principal is amazing. Compared to other schools where I have worked, this one is doing really well. I too hear horror stories in the community about the school, but I have yet to see any major incidents. Our state scores are up and up, the staff cares about each student they have, we have access to amazing technology with smart boards in every classroom, and we offer a lot of school activites and classes (honors, AP, Engineering, Guitar, Foreign Language, etc...). It is great, all that is offered for being a small school. Most students participate in more than one activity. Students are friendly and not "clicky." Also the Special Ed. Department is fantastic. Every school has its problems, but I have to say, that this school has very few. I give it a 5!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 16, 2011

So far this school seems to be better than I had expected. I heard horror stories and kids going to other schools just because of the bad rumors, I am glad I choose to send my kids here! Funny how alot of these other kids who went to other schools are coming back to Foothills just after one week of school!! Kudos to Mr. Schenks what a positive role model for these boys!! The new principal is top notch!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

I think this school has so many better days ahead now that a new principal is coming in the Fall of 2011! However, the new principal has a big mess to clean up. The current principal has not been supportive of teachers and the current administration have ignored teachers and are not consistent at all with school rules and discipline and have an amazing way of turning things around to make it look like anything bad that happens is the teachers' fault. The new principal has a wonderful reputation with high morale, consistency, and competence! I see better days ahead!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 23, 2010

This school is going in the right direction, but as a parent of both a son and a daughter at San tan foothills, I am more and more unimpressed with one of the principals, Mr. Edwards. He seems unwilling to deal with issues and follow through on many of the school rules. I would also like to know what happened to the rule about electronics like cell phones and headphones. The administration looks the other way on this and the teachers aren't backed up with this! My daughter told me that kids are using these things all the time and the principals don't even care. But I make sure my kids follow this rule, even if the admoinistration doesn't have the stones to do what they said they were going to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2010

I just wanted to mention how hard working the art teacher - mrsH - is at San Tan Foothills.My son says there aren't a lot of supplies and she's willing to help out any way she can and come up with some creative ways around it. I hope the admin (or any admin) reads comments like these because administrators lose sight of what a lot of these teachers go through and I hope they give teachers like this credit where credit is deserved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

The teachers here are great, they're willing to put in extra hours and help their students as much as they can. The environment's pretty nice too, we don't have a lot of fights and there's a lot less racial problems or even fights in general than at many other schools.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 42%
Hispanic 36% 42%
Black 9% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1255 West Silverdale Road
Queen Creek, AZ 85243
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 677-4505

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Poston Butte High School
San Tan Valley, AZ




Queen Creek High School
Queen Creek, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT