Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Leading Edge Academy is a tuition free public Charter School. We are committed to providing an educational program where each child can reach his/her personal potential. Our staff has a combined experience of 145 years in education (Average: 11 yrs. per teacher). Teachers provide encouragement, respect, patience and understanding for all students. A values-based environment challenges students to grow in personal character. We received a letter grade of B from the state of Arizona for student academic progress for two years running. This is equivalent to the previously earned state label of Highly Performing School. 100% of our 2011-12 5th graders (the highest grade level on this campus) scored MEETS or EXCEEDS on AIMS Reading. Leading Edge is partnering in a 3 yr program with the Center for Student Achievement in their Quality Schools Program. You are welcome to stop by for a visit any time.
July 16, 2013

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Leading Edge Academy Queen Creek 1

Posted June 17, 2016
- a parent
I wish could say my experience was great there, but it was not . It is sad how far behind my kids are on their education. The secretary is really unfriendly, and the school is in need of some serious TLC. The "bells and whistles" matter when students needs extra help. A reading center and a computer center would have really helped my kid last year. As far as the tenant/renter relationship, the Principal is heavily involved in the Church. This might be a great thing for some parents if they are looking for that. Most of the staff do not have their kids attend the school, but that is not my main concern. The lack of quality education is. There Gilbert and Maricopa campus are good, I recommend driving to them, but I would think twice before attending this one.

Leading Edge Academy Queen Creek
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted June 17, 2016
- a parent
It is not that the teachers are bad, there is just not a lot of differentiated learning. Most of the teachers are not knowledgeable of the needs of students with dysgraphia, dyslexia, or delays in learning. It is amazing how a good RTI program can help students. It is important to ask, "What does highly qualified mean?" What is a teacher's educational background? Why did they leave their last job? What continuing educational classes have they recently taken? We interview are doctors so why not are teachers? A teacher can be a great person...nice and caring, but it does not mean they are effective at teaching. There is a difference between nice and effective.


Leading Edge Academy Queen Creek
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 17, 2016
- a parent
This school does not develop honesty, integrity, and fairness. I have emails and other communication to prove what I am saying. Sadly, this site does not allow for documents to be posted. Many parents have left the school and most of the teachers do not have their own children attend the school. Parents must take an active role in their children's education. Is your child receiving a "Free and Appropriate Education?" Are their methods research based? Are they documenting learning? Is there a library, a lunch room, a computer lab etc? Where is the money they receive from the state going? School improvement? New curriculum? Again, parents must ask questions and be highly involved.

Leading Edge Academy Queen Creek 5

Posted May 15, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has been at this school a total of 2 and a half years. The teachers keep a good eye on the kids, and help them learn and develop good character. The education is outstanding, and class sizes are small. The principal is really good with the kids and does an amazing job relating to them in terms they can easily understand. The office staff is always friendly and professional as well. My daughter will have to move to another campus because she is finishing fifth grade, but wishes they had upper grades so she could stay-I do too. It's been a great experience. :)

Leading Edge Academy Queen Creek
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
LEA takes pride in teaching honesty, integrity, and fairness. They pledge to make sure students understand how important it is to respect others and themselves.


Leading Edge Academy Queen Creek 5

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
LEA is a great school, with small classrooms and a great curriculum. The environment is safe and my child loves being a student here. I would highly recommend this school.

Leading Edge Academy Queen Creek 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a community member
LEA has a small town small school feel while being state of the.art in terms of quality education. Teachers care tremendously attentive and kids get along. Great school both here and at junior high high school campus. Great choice as compared to the larger area charter schools which are too big and kids can become another number.

Leading Edge Academy Queen Creek 4

Posted August 15, 2014
- a parent
I must admit I was absolutely amazed with this school. They have amazing family-like vibes and the teachers/staff are perfect for my children. I hear endless stories from my fourth grade son about how much he loves his class and teachers, as well as many, many others. I recommend this school for anyone if not every. However, the principal here wasn't as friendly towards my son or our family. When engaging with him face to face he seemed stressed, and somewhat rude. He had a tendency of pushing our needs aside and neglecting my daughter's conflict with another child when attention was highly needed. It was disappointing seeing such a poor leader with such an amazing staff.


Leading Edge Academy Queen Creek 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
My child just started their second year at LEA. Once again, he is thrilled to be there and loves going to school everyday. He loves his teacher and his friends there. We are very pleased with Leading Edge and highly recommend it.

Leading Edge Academy Queen Creek 5

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
I would highly recommend this elementary school. My children have been attending since kindergarten and have experienced great educational success. The small school atmosphere provides a feeling of family and belonging. Students are challenged to be kids of character as well as pushed to be their best in academics. We have no regrets about choosing LEA.

Nearby schools

Leading Edge Academy Queen Creek
4815 West Hunt Hwy, Queen Creek, AZ  85142
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (480) 655-6787
Last modified Leading Edge Academy Queen Creek is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top