Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

American Leadership Academy - Queen Creek

Charter | 9-12 | 128 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2014

So happy with the school! My 4 kids attend, this is their 2nd year and they love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2014

This is such a great school!! The teachers are wonderful and really care about education. I have noticed that alot of students are LDS, it does not matter if the students are or not....the education of the students is priority at this school. I have had 2 of my children go there and graduate! They did extremely well with A's and B's on their report card. The staff are busy when you walk into the office, so sometimes you might have to wait for a minute, but they Always take care of you. LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2014

We have been very pleased with ALA overall. We transferred from BFCS (also a great school), because we feel that ALA is more well-rounded. The atmosphere is loving, and the staff really wants to be there! We feel that any concerns we've had have been addressed and the admin. has an open door policy. We are glad to have our children learning here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2014

Academically, I am like with this school. Some of the teachers have really helped my kids, but then I find out tht 90% of the teachers are not returning. Strange. I am not happy that is very biased to the LDS group. Some of the reward/ incentive trips are to help service LDS people and are geared to the LDS kids. How is that a reward for getting good grades. I am not happy with the front office staff. You can stand there while they talk to amongst themselves before helping you. The last day of school you had the option of going to 8th grade promotion or come in cleaning attire (with gloves) to clean the school. Free child labor. Staff kids wander the school without getting in trouble. And for some reason they do not do the state tax credit. What is that about? How does a public charter school not take the state tax credit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2014

After spending many years at a A+ charter school(K-8) that was nearby, my husband and I decided to switch our child to ALA for junior high and high school. This choice was not taken lightly since a good education is important to me as a parent. With LOTS of research & after speaking to administration at ALA (at length with LOTS of questions) I am SO happy and thrilled that we made the choice and placed our child at ALA! Our daughter has come home from school excited and motivated like never before to succeed. The opportunities that are available to children at ALA are endless and I can not stress enough how caring and dedicated the teachers are their to the students. As a educator myself I know working with children is not easy and sometimes the motivation can be difficult, but I have not once gone into ALA and seen a staff member, teacher, or administrator not look happy about being at their job. I have read some of the other reviews on here about the issues of it being an "LDS" school... we are not LDS and never have I felt it was an issue. My daughter has never come home upset or complaining, nor have I ever felt like I was treated differently there because we weren't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

I heard great things about this school so I enrolled my child hoping for the best. If you are not LDS I would NOT recommend this school! It is obvious they are a Mormon school and show blatant favoritism toward their Mormon students. We are a Christian family and my child was told we are not Christian. Ridiculous! School is to educate and church is to worship. They called their celebration of the new Temple a "cultural celebration". I am pulling her out and sending her to a local public high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

I love this school! It has allowed my daughter to come out of her shell and become the leader that I knew she could be. I appreciate the academics as well as the extra curricular opportunities. I know that the school has a true open door policy that help me be a partner in education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

I thought that sending my children to a school that was primarily attended by LDS children would be a great idea. I was wrong. Unfortunately, the school is run very much like an LDS ward. The directors and the office staff, even though they are paid, act like ward volunteers. They get the job done as though doing it in their spare time, and never go the extra step to make any improvements. Too much emphasis is put on making things look pretty on the outside, while ignoring curriculum, student achievement, and staff development. Also, in true LDS fashion, any time you bring your concerns to those in charge, they try to make you feel guilty for complaining. There are some really good teachers at this school, but I am afraid they won't stay because they will not be rewarded or supported by the administration. Sadly, I am taking my kids out of the high school at the end of this year, and sending them to a local high school next year. I just can't afford to risk my kid's education at ALA. As long as ALA is run by LDS staff, it will never compete with the other high school in the areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2013

Love, love love this school. Love the curriculum they offer my children and the basis around Covey's 7 Habits. The teacher are willing to help you child if they are having a hard time with assignments. Office staff is very helpful and remember who you are when you walk in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

The "leadership" concept is lip service. Teaching methods are inconsistent and ineffective. Issues with staff retention. No recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • This school did not receive a designation in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a designation in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 42%
Hispanic 9% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 42%N/A49%
Male 58%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 988-3280

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22721 S. Ellsworth Rd.
Suite 103
Queen Creek, AZ 85142
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 988-3204

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Canyon State Academy
Queen Creek, AZ





Patriot Academy
Queen Creek, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT