Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Mountain Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

70 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2010

Awesome school, awesome teachers!! Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

An amazing school that is very family oriented. I can walk into the office and the girls behind the desk easily know what children belong to me and know their names. They're personable. And not only do they focus on the best education that they can give my child with the best teachers they can get their hands on, they also do a great job keeping our kids safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Desert Mountain Elementary is a school that not only teaches but cares about the students. Its a place that works together with the community to make it the best school around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I love this school! I feel very much at home here. The principal, staff and teachers know my family by name. My son is very happy here, too. I feel he is well taken care of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Everything is great! Teachers care and are in tune with the children. The principal knows all the kids' names and is very involved. Front office is friendly and helpful. PTO is awesome; there are events all the time that the kids love.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

The Teachers, Staff and Kids are Awesome! It is an amazing school with lots of caring people and great spirit! It is an excelling school every year and Desert Mountain should WIN! It is the best school in our community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

The staff and teachers are excellent and are aware of my child's needs both academically and personally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Desert Mountain Elementary is great! The Principal and Staff are excellent. Any concerns that may arise are promptly addressed and resolved. The teachers care about the children, and their progression. There is a great atmosphere, and the children love going to school. Everyone is friendly, and know the children and families by name--amazing! I know they work hard to make this an excelling school. Thank You!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Very attentive and friendly staff. My son is in the 1st grade and this is the 5th school in 3 states he has attended. WE LOVE DME!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

The teachers and staff at Desert Mountain Elementary are amazing. They are all so hard working and dedicated to the students! I've been so impressed with how much interaction I have with my children's teachers!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Great school, great staff. Parents are very involved and they do a lot of fundraising to achieve school goals. Extremely happy that our daughter is enrolled in this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Desert Mountain Elementary School is the best! The teachers and support staff are wonderful and they really give the students the support they need to learn and grow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

The experience and expertise that the staff and faculty have is tremendous.The principal is wonderful and has a professional take on all matters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

I have had my child in other schools and I was told my child had troubles learning because she couldn't stay still at this school she has come with so many good things to say about her school and what she is learning I'm so proud to have her there and I love her teacher because she has brought out the best in my daughter I rate this school a 20
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

When you have a quality public school in your town it is easy to take it for granted. Three of my kids have atended DME and with the exception of one teacher-- we have found the teachers to be excellent. We looked at private schools and charter schools but in the end we didn't find anything better than what DME had to offer. This school has developed a track record as an excelling school and that speaks for itself. This is an all around great school because of the high quality of its administrators and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2009

I love DME! For kindergarten, my son went to a montesori school and when we moved into Queen creek I decided to put him into public school. When he arrived here he was behind academically. When he finished this past school year he was either at or above grade level. The teacher he had, who I thought was absolutely wonderful and always answered any questions I may have had and would even call me if she thought that my son might have forgot to mention to me. Mr. Shultz is great! I love how he interacts with everyone and doesn't just sit behind his desk. He makes it known that he is here to make sure his school is performing above and beyond the standards and thats why DME was an excelling school this year! Thanks to all the teachers and DME for being such a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

I think this schools is wonderful. The fact that Mr Schults takes the time to know his kids is a possitive in my book not a negative. The teachers are great and both my kids have learnt so much this year which is why this is an excelling school. Kids learn better when they are having fun and Mr Schultz allows our kids to enjoy school which helps them learn more. My childrens education and being taught well by their teachers is top priority for me but I also want them to enjoy school and they love it. If you want the ridged no fun schooling then go private but if you want your child to learn and enjoy themselves at the same time then this is a great shcool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2008

This school is horrible. I had lived in Gilbert before and when we moved I was disappointed. Everything was not right. My child would not learn anything. We chose to put him in a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2007

I have been very pleased with the quality of teaching at Desert Mountain. I have three children. Two years ago I pulled my children out, only to come back with a much better appreciation . I am very pleased to be back. The Principal, the techers, and the support staff are all awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2006

To the parent who posted a comment about Mr. Schultz playing the name game... tell me how many schools out there has the Principal ensure children are safely put in their parents car each day after school and greats them curbside each morning? Hmmm .. I've even told him that the staff should be doing this - not the Principal but whatever .. with a Masters degree and myself personally having many conversations with him I think our childrens education is his priority. If you feel there is a problem with the staff a big reason is the low wages our district pays and the exploding population of children being crammed into our schools. Sure there are outstanding teachers scattered through each grade at DME. The ones that need to be booted are 'tenured' a term they hide behind so making them get fired is impossible. Volunteer sometime! DME is A+
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 18% 43%
Black 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 987-5914

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22301 S. Hawes
Queen Creek, AZ 85242
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 987-5912

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ala QC Elementary School
Queen Creek, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT