Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Red Rock Elementary School

Public | PK-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

Red Rock School has been great for my kids. They started in 2nd grade and kindergarten. They love knowing everyone and the fact that most students will help others out. They bad reviews must come from parents that did not get their way or one of those parents that blames any problems the kid has on the school and does not look deep inside their parenting abilities and the fact that the child takes Zero responsibility for themselves. Living in a smaller community and having my children be able to be part of a family school is great. They are doing very well in education and social part of school. The teachers know almost every kid in the school and assist each other in educating and making the kids better human beings. They are great at teaching responsibility, even though some kids will never learn, and how to better themselves through education and social learning. the sports programs are up and coming as well as the local sports programs. All in all we could not have hoped for a better situation for our children and ourselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2013

Red Rock Elementary has been a awesome school for my daughter to attend. The teachers and staff work hard to encourage a atmosphere of learning. They are also working on developing more athletic opportunities for the children to participate in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

I am not sure why all the bad reviews? I enrolled my two children here, one of them with special needs. The staff and the services for him have been outstanding! They are very accommodating to special needs and communication is really great with the teachers. Also the teachers really look out for the safety of each child. My daughter LOVES the art class and comes home every day talking about it. Her being in 6th grade that is a plus! The only down fall is not having a full day Kindergarden. I think that would be even better. There is no aftercare. They do have to wear a collared shirt and whatever on the bottom. Hopefully soon they will change that and also the food they serve. I wish they would offer more choices and offer a salad bar for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2012

The school size allows staff to give one on one care, looking out for the safety of it's children and the ability to adapt to the needs of the students as they arise. I have seen absolutely wonderful and dedicated teachers here but like every other school I know some are more excellent than others! It is a clean and beautiful school ready to grow as our community does. I love the year round schedule though I had concerns at first! My child has attended since it opened and I'm a huge fan!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2011

The school has gone downhill under the current leadership of the principal/superintendent. Her lack of leadership has negatively affected the school, including some of the facility. There are some quality teachers but they are not permitted to differentiate instruction to a student, which limit what the teacher can do and keeps students at a status quo. My children have become lazy with their work as they are not challenged and very bored with the material. These are highly gifted students with so much potential. The sports programs have been minimized, which now the kids do not have an outlet for their abilities. Therefore, discipline problems increase and children are left unmotivated. With small class sizes this should be an excelling school, not just performance plus, as they so much brag about. They can change the schedule to whatever but until they change the standards and expectations students will not perform any better. The school gets only what they expect from students and that bar is not very high. If they want excelling students than teach them to excel....This is why my children will be removed next year into another school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

I loved the school when we first moved into the community a couple years ago. Even though there were only a few schools that participated with the after school sports programs, my kids looked forward to participating. I think that they have a good pool of teachers but they are overwhelmed with no planning session time and having to take on more responsibilities. There is not a designated challenge class this year, which can be a negative factor for new families with gifted children. The communication between the school and families is a negative. The school does not educate parents on other issues or concerns, so parents could talk to their children at home. However, Teacherease is great for communication between parents and teachers on student progress. Half day kindergarten is another negative for the school. Sports are a great mechanism for keeping our kids engaged and out of trouble but ours is very minimal. However, I do appreciate the dedicated teachers who extend their time so our children can have something.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

we pulled our child out of Red Rock because of many unfavorable situations. I do not see the administration as being open to the parents sharing in the education of their children. We were told that this is the way Red Rock has done things for almost 30 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

This is my childrens' first year at Red Rock My students are excelling. The teachers are dedicated and available at all times. My children love the PE, art and music program. They thoroughly enjoy all the programs that are offered as well as the academics. I hope to see these programs continue because the students surely benefit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2009

I pulled my kids out of this school after one year. Most of the teachers are good, the problems come from the administrators. The children are not receiving an education, they are being trained to pass the AIMS and similar tests. The facilities are beautiful, it's only one year old. I suggest they change their antiquated methods and get a new superintendent that compliments the modern facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

As a newly joined family of red rock, we are very pleased with red rock elementary. There are top notch teachers that have studied throughout the country.Also, with cut backs in the school budget affecting many areas in the u. S., Red rock found a way to bring music, art,p.E. And field trips to the students. Red rock also has a dress code policy that helps students comprehend structure and balance. Coming from the state of n.Y., We were unsure of how this school would measure up. We are thoroughly impressed. Keep up the great work, red rock!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

We love Red Rock Elementary! My daughter is learning so much and looks forward to going to school every day. I would like to know what the previous parent's unfavorable experience was. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

Our child experience has been less then favorable. After speaking with other parents we now realize that our child isn't the only one. Do not send your child to this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

My kid excelled like no other. Wow!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Hispanic 24% 43%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

33656 W. Aguirre Lane
Red Rock, AZ 85245
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 682-3331

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


A. C. E.
Marana, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT