Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beaver Creek School

Public | PK-8 | 347 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2012

This school has a teaching staff that goes above and beyond for the sake of their students. Everyone on the staff wears many hats and all come early, stay late, and take home work. Children of many abilities attend and all are welcomed with open arms. Former students fondly remember their time at this school and frequently come back to visit; sometimes years later. Go Creekers!


Posted March 30, 2011

My two children attended Beaver Creek since Kindergarten. Next year, my son will be in H.S. and my daughter in sixth. We moved out of the Lake Montezuma area and miss Beaver Creek immensely. I am considering driving 45 minutes one way next year, just to bring my daughter back to Beaver Creek. The school that my daughter is in now makes her miserable in so many ways: bullying, lack of outside activities (K-kids, etc.), teaching to the tests, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

It's a small school but a good one and the teachers are geeat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

The school is very small but i like it that way...there are nice teacher there and i like them all.GO BOBCATS!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love the personal attention of the teachers. My granddaughter is safe there. Go Bobcats!!


Posted October 8, 2008

Poor parental envolvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

I am very unhappy with this school. I have more than one child in this school. The younger ones are doing fine. If there's an anti bullying policy I haven't witnessed it. I'm considering taking my kids to Camp Verde schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

This school has room for improvement, but they are really working hard at it. Their staff is dedicated and approachable, a big plus for parents! I have witnessed how interactive the principal is, and was very impressed. The staff fosters a community environment, which produces some pretty nice kids. And they encourage parent involvement, which I like. They have sports for older grades, but not younger ones. However, younger grades can participate in Garden Club, K-Kids (kiwanis) and Macro Math Club. I am not sure what grades it is for, but there is a Builder's Club as well. From what I have seen in the last 4 years, the school has increased their state ranking each year my daughter has attended. A nice small town school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2007

My daughter is returning for her second year at this school,. and I love it. She is well above her other classmates, and is encouraged to continue learning at higher levels. Also this school DOES NOT tolerate bullying, and specifically has a 'no bullying' policy, in which students are encouraged to report any bullying that they see to a parent, teacher or other adult.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2005

I did not care for the faculty at this school. They were kinda wishywashy and really didn't seem all that bright. the discipline level was almost ZERO. They allow bullying. This school is not for children who are already bursting at the seams for more knowledge, more of a 'you're not that bright, but we'll pass you anyway' kind of effect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2004

Beaver creek elementary is very good in the line of teaching and caring for the saftey and well being of our kids. The teachers and staff are exceptional and there for you when you need to talk to them about any situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
21%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 42%
Hispanic 32% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 5%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 567-5347

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4810 E. Beaver Creek Road
Rimrock, AZ 86335
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 567-4631

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT