Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Great Expectations Academy

Charter | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sahuarita

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $135,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,220.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 17 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 8, 2013

This is a wonderful school on so many levels. All the teachers are friendly and very helpful. Parent is always encouraged and very child is made to feel welcome and accepted. I have 2 children attending GEA and have had nothing but wonderful experiences here,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

My kids have been going there about 2 1/2 years & we love it there. The staff & teachers are our second family & we love them. After moving to AZ my son lost his special education benefits at another school. The sped group at GEA have worked to get him his benefits back & they work hard for him everyday. The students at the school are great too. In a few years my kids will no longer go there because they will be going on hs. Now if only we could add on the hs we would be great :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2012

GEA is a fantastic school that focuses on providing quality education and learning. My youngest son and youngest daughter started going here during the 2012 school year and both have dramatically improved in all areas of study, especially my son. When he attended another local school, he was failing and could not even read at his then current grade level. Now...he is reading and performing better in all the other subjects. He has grown by leaps and bounds educationally, which in turn has helped with his confidence and I credit this to the quality education, small class sizes as well as very devoted teachers who truly make sure "no student is left behind". My son is currently on an IEP for speech and learning and with that "extra attention" he is able to get here, truly has made a huge difference with him. I am so grateful that both him and his sister have the opportunity of going to this great school! Oh, and did I mention the parents!! The parent involvement and volunteering is wonderful, which also helps with my children's quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2012

This school is by far the best in the area with truly dedicated teachers and staff. You will see many parents involved and they have events all year. Kids absolutely this school. I love the art and music enrichment. Feels like a big family bc everyone knows everyone and helps out. They've made some campus updates and middle school teachers are amazing. I volunteer five days a week and see a lot the behind the scenes stuff, and can say this staff is truly wonderful and committed to making this school fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

My son attends kinder at this school and he absolutely loves it. The smaller environment is perfect for him, he adores his teacher, the afterschool YMCA program is fantastic, and he is learning and growing leaps and bounds. In my humble opinion, a childs first experience at school is crucial to their future success. How positive the experience is has everything to do with having a nurturing, structured, and safe environment for learning. GEA offers all of this and more to my child. Sincere thanks to GEA administration and staff for an exemplary program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

As a parent with children in the school as well as children who have gone on from here to do well in high school, I strongly disagree with the previous review. My experience has been that the school leadership strives for excellence in academics as well as citizenship, takes pride in an atmosphere of caring and respect, and always has the best interest of the students as their bottom line. The administration is comprised of very qualified individuals who do an excellent job in a very challenging bureaucratic and economic atmosphere and have managed to grow the school in its 13 years to a place where students and teachers alike can feel a sense of achievement and belonging. Every year my children attend this school better things happen both inside and outside the classroom and I am grateful to have the opportunity for them to attend GEA. Finally, I will state my opinion as to the preceding review: Anyone with an ax to grind can say negative things about a school or its leadership. Saying them does not make them true.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

I would give this school a sub-mediocre rating. My child has attended this school for several years and I have come to realize the leadership is happy with mediocrity. The discipline is appalling, mainly because there is none, the person taking over the leadership has no college degree and there is no person trained for overseeing or developing curriculm and instruction. The teachers here are not observed by a professional and are offered no feedback. They are not required to teach standards, they have no set curriculum. This school helps to keep Arizona last in the nation. I have no idea why anyone would want to keep their child here. Parents you are fooled to think just because it is small , it is better
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

The 'events' (mother/son and father/daughter, etc) at the school were done with the help of parent volunteers. As a parent involved in helping to put on these past events, I am very aware of the work involved in making them happen and that it takes many people to help. Times have changed and alot of families now have both parents working, which doesn't allow for alot of extra volunteer time. If these (or other events) are/were important to you, there is a parent organization that you could have been involved in and perhaps you could have taken the initiative to help organize an event. The ability for parents to get involved in their childs school/education is one of the great things about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

This school is the best! The teachers are excellent always challenging kids to do their best. Besides music, band, library, art, P.E., & computers they have an astronomy club and Spanish classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

I have had children enrolled here for 7 of its 10 years in existence. In my opinion GEA gets better every year. Teachers and support staff are competent and caring, parents are involved and students are excited about learning. I feel that bringing my children to GEA was the best decision I could have made for their early education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

The learning trend in this school is falling like a rock. Look at the State and district statistics. Teachers are not prepared.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2008

I have two children at GEA. This school has been such a blessing to my family. I LOVE the class sizes, the ciriculum and it does have alot of extra-ciricular activiities for a small school. My child really likes this school compared to the other he attended in Sahuarita.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

This is my childs 3rd yr at GEA and we love the school and the staff. She has had excellent teachers. We are extremely grateful to the administration for all their hard work, keeping the school running. We especially enjoy the small class size. If you are looking for a school that prides itself in higher eduation. GEA is for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

GEA is a great school with great teachers,great students, and a great administration. Anyone who says 'your child will suffer',if your not a parent volunteer, should get a reality check. That is not what GEA is about. The goal is for every child to succeed. Do watch out for the 'clicks' and 'favoritism' though. Luckily 99.9% of that problem is at a different school this year! Rock On GEA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2007

My children currently attend GEA and so far so good. We have been here a couple years.Yet I am prepared to pull my children out at any time.The teachers grade K-2 are great.Especially Mrs. Salerno if it was not for her we would not have returned back to the school this year.She is awesome! Although I have nothing good to say about the administration. My best advice to you is look out for the clicks and the favortizem.At this school it is all about parent volunteers,and if you are not one of the parents able to volunteer your child will suffer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2007

My daughter graduated from GEA in 2005. My son is graduating this year (2007). When my daughter went on to H.S., we discovered that she and many of her friends that also attended this school were far advanced in many subjects. Math was one area. The things they were teaching in their freshman year, they had already learned at GEA. Many skipped freshman science and were moved to Sophomore biology for their freshman year! Many of them also went into the english honors class. They didn't obtain this education on their own, so I give that credit to their education at GEA. My son is going into his freshman year with english and science honors classes. I think the class sizes were a big part of it. So what if the parents play a big part! What's wrong with that kind of involvement?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

My son has attended Great Expectations for 4, going on 5 years now, and I would say it is hands down the best school in the area (including Tucson). The small class sizes, and individual attention make for an excellent learning environment, while any problems that come up are quickly dealt with by the administration in a proactive way. The school also has a great art program and a high level of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

This will probably be the last year my students are at GEA. They are good for grades K-2, but weak after that. It is adminstratively very weak and short sighted and over the long run, our children lose out for this. I like the small class sizes and we'll miss that next year, but we need a more unified, well directed school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2007

My son has been here three weeks, he is already reading better! He is in special ed for reading and was stagnant at another school. I am so happy to listen to him read. Better yet, he is so proud!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2005

Five year old school. Growing and adding on. Moving in the right direction. Nice alternative to public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 42%
Hispanic 31% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (800) 399-2123

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1466 W. Camino Antigua
Sahuarita, AZ 85629
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 399-2121

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Anza Trail
Sahuarita, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT