Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sahuarita Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 745 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

My child has issues all last year at this school. The addressing of these concerns were swept under the rug over and over. I did not quit though. I will advocate for my child, that is my job. The bullying at this school is ridiculous. Teachers do not follow protocol when it somes to addressing these issues, and neither do the administrators. Upon bringing one indicent to the attention of an administrator, the bully was actually defended to me. I could not understand the audacity of what was being told to me. I wish there was a way I could revamp this school system as I feel no one, not even the superintendent can handle this properly. All of the schools in Sahuarita are a mess. Steer clear!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

We recently moved and my son transferred to this school. He likes the teachers and the students thus far seem nice. He isn't picked on or anything like that. Of course he's a very tall 8th grader which probably helps a little. I am not, however, impressed with the administrative staff WHATSOEVER! 1. We were told to show up at 8:00 and a counselor would escort my son to each class so he would not get lost. a. We showed up at 8:00, but the counselor did not come out until 8:40. He did not introduce himself by name to anyone (parent or student) and simply told the kids to follow him. He did not escort my son to each class and my son failed to find the cafeteria so he did not eat lunch at all that day. 2. Setting up his student ID. He was told later in the week by the cafeteria that he does not show up in the system as a student. After 3 days of dealing with this issue and asking for the staff to contact me, I have had to go down twice to the office to get answers as to why he doesn't show up and where my check is that I wrote to the cafeteria. (I want to ensure it is posted to HIS acct). So, to sum up...kids seem okay, food awesome, staff, meh!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2012

Teachers at SMS are BULLIES! My child is openly picked on for the amusement of other children. If I address it, of course it's " No ma'am, that NEVER happens." my daughter sure does an awful lot of crying because she was, yet again, humiliated! How I would LOVE to sit in these classrooms, and if there was any decent leadership at the top, somebody would be. We are moving in one month, thankfully! I can't wait to get away from this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

DONT GO TO THIS SCHOOL!!!!!!!!!!! This is a terrible school I can't stand it.Trust me this is not a good school.


Posted September 28, 2011

Warning! Warning! Warning! Before seriously considering this school district you might wanna find out what the school's philosophy is! The district believes that a struggling child can take a test multiple times until he/she passes without recording the actual failing grades! If this is something that you can live with then this is the place for your kids, if not then stay away! Do they seriously care about the education of your child or is it manipulation only to convince you, the concerned parent, that the staff isn't sold on the "easy way out!" Ask questions about "re-testing" and what happens to the first grade. Their computer grading website "worldbyme" will not show failing grades! Good luck and choose wisely!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2011

Do whatever you have to to get your kids in another school. My son was told by another kid, during an altercation, that since he knew the principal that my son would be the only one to get in trouble. This kid was absolutely correct, even though he only took reasonable measures to defend himself against a physical attack. The teachers were lackluster at best, and we were much happier when we moved into a neighboring school district. I am happy to have my kids out of the environment at Sahuarita Intermediate School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

S.M.S is a good school teachers and students are all awesome. The leadership class at S.M.S is extraordinary we do community service, food drives, and tons more. Its my favorite class and i always look forward to it everyday.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2008

After being here in Sahuarita for 2 Years this school does not offer to much security for our kids. I would not recomend this School to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

I am in LOVE with this school. It was so much fun, and the teachers are so understanding and make learning fun and easy. They have some problems here and there but overall this has been thee best school experience ever, and i am soooo excited to go back this year!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2008

I am very happy to be leaving the school this year. The classrooms are over crowded and they teach the AIM test instead of teaching us for high school. It is a great social event to go to school but other wise a usless experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 27, 2007

I love my school, friends, teachers, and the education and reputations are outstanding!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2007

The school is getting there. New leadership is showing with improved parental involvement. It is no longer discouraged. Curriculum ok. Could be better. Teacher turn over high but leveling out. Town boomed and the school suffered. Maybe things are on the right track now. We can hope.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2006

Over crowding should end with the new schools opening, library growing, new principal, academic competitions. PTO starting this year. I only wish all these things happened sooner since my child will be leaving at the end of this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2006

With the new principal in place it seems the school is finally on track. Regardless of the problems the school under new leadership holds great promise and is finally moving in the right direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2006

The school requires the children to wear uniforms which makes shopping for school [clothes] easier. They've recently added single sex classes where some of the classes are all boys or all girls, up to parents if you want your child to participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 43%
White 42% 42%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 399-1870

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

350 W Sahuarita Rd
Sahuarita, AZ 85629
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 625-3502

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Anza Trail
Sahuarita, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT