Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Sahuarita, AZ
Students enrolled: 393
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Walden Grove High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 16, 2015
- a student
The teachers are hired because of their ability to teach above all. They could have a doctorate, but if they're not able to help the students, it's no good. Because of this, the teachers at Walden are intelligent, but also enthusiastic and passionate.

Walden Grove High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 16, 2015
- a student
Many teachers give homework on a semi-weekly or weekly basis while math teachers usually give homework every night. This creates a good balance of homework for the weekdays and weekends.


Walden Grove High School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a student
Students are encouraged in some classes, especially honors and AP, to compete. In addition to this, the material isn't always easy, and students are pushed to succeed.

Walden Grove High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a student
Students are given respect, and are expected to reciprocate. Now that the students are high schoolers, they're treated that way, and it shows. The students feel like they're important and responsible, and so they are able to treat others with kindness and respect.

Walden Grove High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a student
The school tries to hire teachers who first and foremost care about what they do. They bring in people who care about the students and their future. They set an example of kindness and compassion. Walden also has several clubs which are devoted to compassion: a service club, a LINK leaders club for upperclassmen to help freshman, a SADD club to spread awareness of destructive decisions and their consequences, and others. The school is focused on these traits.


Walden Grove High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a student
"There's no drama." At every freshman orientation and assembly, the principal will at some point say this. It's been a long standing idea- that at Walden, you treat people with respect. Teachers, especially in the higher grades, will often give students more leeway, which could translate over into dishonesty, but it never does. I attribute it to the amazing teachers and staff who set the example for us.

Walden Grove High School 5

Posted August 16, 2015
- a student
During my second year at Walden, I became very ill, and wasn't able to continue attending. The school provided me with a homeschool option, and I was able to return the next year because of their help and support. The teachers and administration are enthusiastic, helpful, and they're good at what they do. They always try their best to help the students.

Walden Grove High School 5

Posted February 16, 2015
- a student
I enrolled during my first semester of my senior year, for the 2014-2015 school year. I really enjoyed this school. The teachers are excellent, they are always looking out for the students. The administration is also excellent. As well as the students who attend. The school is filled with a lot of good people. Unfortunately I had to leave after my first semester for family reasons. But If I could I would return in a heartbeat. Go Red Wolves! Class of 2015!


Walden Grove High School 4

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
My daughter goes to Walden Grove. It is her first year here and we are very happy. She transferred from Oregon and they had no problem putting her into the classes she needed, even though most of her classes were a year ahead of her peers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walden Grove High School
15510 S. Sahuarita Rd, Sahuarita, AZ  85629
(520) 625-3502
Last modified Walden Grove High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Walden Grove High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top