Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
San Luis, AZ

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


San Luis High School 3

Posted October 26, 2013
- a student
In my opinion i believe that their are plenty of students who careless about school every year. Due to all the other yuma county schools get much more economic support then SLHS (San Luis High School) we do not get new equipment such as for sports, classes, textbookd or staff. Currently their are around 35 to 40 something students per class its hard to learn in a room who's capacity for students is above the average. For example in one of the classees their are 42 students. Although in slhs their are at least more than 7 students per class that really want to have a great career they are not given the chance and i hope SLHS someday has enough money to hire experienced teachers and the students have more chances on getting a career.

San Luis High School 3

Posted December 12, 2010
- a student
Yes, as the post below states, this school is crowded. It has been announced to be 110% well over its capacity with almost 3000 students. There is no plausible way to impede certain students who in fact do not care from enrolling, seeing as there is no other alternative. The budget deficit is greater every year. It does lack an auditorium, a proper track, and more room. The district does make the school a lower priority than the rest because parents have yet to demand better facilities for their children. Nonetheless, the school offers great programs for what are reffered to as "college bound" students. AP, accelerated, and dual credit courses are available to those who wish to challenge themselves academically and plan on attending a university/college. Personally, I have found my experience at this school quite fulfilling and worthwhile. I have become what in my opinion is a well-rounded individual (or as well-rounded as one may be at this age); I have not relied solely on what this, or any school, has had to offer. It has been a combination from both the "outside world" and school. At the end of the day, any education is a great education so long as one is willing to learn.


San Luis High School 1

Posted November 06, 2010
- a student
In my opinion after attending this school for 3 years i believe that their are plenty of students who careless about school every year. Due to all the other yuma county schools get much more economic support then SLHS (San Luis High School) we do not get new equipment such as for sports, classes, textbookd or staff. Currently their are around 35 to 40 something students per class its hard to learn in a room who's capacity for students is above the average. For example in one of the classees their are 42 students. Although in slhs their are at least more than 7 students per class that really want to have a great career they are not given the chance and i hope SLHS someday has enough money to hire experienced teachers and the students have more chances on getting a career.

San Luis High School 2

Posted April 23, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

San Luis High School 1

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


San Luis High School 5

Posted April 12, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

San Luis High School 0
no rating

Posted October 18, 2008
- a student
success at this school is limited. Resources are made available only to those whom the staff believe have an actual potential of graduating. Many are expected to attend the crappy college in Yuma and tell students not to waste their time going somewhere else. Staff are usually underqualified and do not take an interest in their students potential.

San Luis High School 2

Posted August 26, 2008
- a parent
No parent organization. Poor safety procedures of students. Poor community involvement by school or teachers. No challenging academic work for freshmen. No equity in band and sports programs as compared to other Yuma schools. Counselors limit students' academic potential.


San Luis High School 5

Posted July 20, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

San Luis High School 5

Posted April 07, 2008
- a student
I personally enjoy attending this school since there is so much to do. The staff is great and there are many after school activities. There are great events once in a while that gives this school its unique features.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Luis High School
1250 North Eighth Avenue, San Luis, AZ  85349
(928) 502-4600
Last modified San Luis High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
San Luis High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top