Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


San Luis High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 08, 2016
- a community member
Most of the teachers are great! They respond to emails and calls and offer help to students. At every school there are some who don't fit this, but here there seem to be few of them.

San Luis High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 08, 2016
- a community member
Students are held accountable and opportunity for success is there for every student. Let's be honest, by high school students know what it means to be honest and have integrity, so the school can encourage it and challenge students to be better, but ultimately it is their decision.


San Luis High School 5

Posted June 08, 2016
- a community member
My child attended all 4 years of high school here. Almost every single teacher went above and beyond to assure he was successful. Administration listened to concerns and supported students and parents. I made sure I was involved in school activities and events that were offered (and there are several, including a PTO... even though parental involvement is low, they keep trying). Most classes were challenging and required time outside of the classroom. Parent are well informed of activities and child attendance and grades. I used the parent access to the grades to be able to see my child's grades at all times. Class sizes can be very big, but they do what they can to try to fix that until the district decides to build another school to accommodate the number of students. Overall, if you choose to be involved in your child's education, this is a great school.

San Luis High School 3

Posted October 26, 2013
- a student
In my opinion i believe that their are plenty of students who careless about school every year. Due to all the other yuma county schools get much more economic support then SLHS (San Luis High School) we do not get new equipment such as for sports, classes, textbookd or staff. Currently their are around 35 to 40 something students per class its hard to learn in a room who's capacity for students is above the average. For example in one of the classees their are 42 students. Although in slhs their are at least more than 7 students per class that really want to have a great career they are not given the chance and i hope SLHS someday has enough money to hire experienced teachers and the students have more chances on getting a career.

San Luis High School 3

Posted December 12, 2010
- a student
Yes, as the post below states, this school is crowded. It has been announced to be 110% well over its capacity with almost 3000 students. There is no plausible way to impede certain students who in fact do not care from enrolling, seeing as there is no other alternative. The budget deficit is greater every year. It does lack an auditorium, a proper track, and more room. The district does make the school a lower priority than the rest because parents have yet to demand better facilities for their children. Nonetheless, the school offers great programs for what are reffered to as "college bound" students. AP, accelerated, and dual credit courses are available to those who wish to challenge themselves academically and plan on attending a university/college. Personally, I have found my experience at this school quite fulfilling and worthwhile. I have become what in my opinion is a well-rounded individual (or as well-rounded as one may be at this age); I have not relied solely on what this, or any school, has had to offer. It has been a combination from both the "outside world" and school. At the end of the day, any education is a great education so long as one is willing to learn.


San Luis High School 1

Posted November 06, 2010
- a student
In my opinion after attending this school for 3 years i believe that their are plenty of students who careless about school every year. Due to all the other yuma county schools get much more economic support then SLHS (San Luis High School) we do not get new equipment such as for sports, classes, textbookd or staff. Currently their are around 35 to 40 something students per class its hard to learn in a room who's capacity for students is above the average. For example in one of the classees their are 42 students. Although in slhs their are at least more than 7 students per class that really want to have a great career they are not given the chance and i hope SLHS someday has enough money to hire experienced teachers and the students have more chances on getting a career.

San Luis High School
no rating

Posted October 18, 2008
- a student
success at this school is limited. Resources are made available only to those whom the staff believe have an actual potential of graduating. Many are expected to attend the crappy college in Yuma and tell students not to waste their time going somewhere else. Staff are usually underqualified and do not take an interest in their students potential.

San Luis High School 2

Posted August 26, 2008
- a parent
No parent organization. Poor safety procedures of students. Poor community involvement by school or teachers. No challenging academic work for freshmen. No equity in band and sports programs as compared to other Yuma schools. Counselors limit students' academic potential.


San Luis High School 5

Posted April 07, 2008
- a student
I personally enjoy attending this school since there is so much to do. The staff is great and there are many after school activities. There are great events once in a while that gives this school its unique features.

San Luis High School 4

Posted May 30, 2006
- a teacher
There is a lot of student involvement at this school, which is a good sign that it works.

Nearby schools

San Luis High School
1250 North Eighth Ave, San Luis, AZ  85349
(928) 502-4600
Last modified San Luis High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top