Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
115 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 124 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


San Tan Heights K-8
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
I only had a problem with two teachers, the rest were very proactive but even they cannot battle this alone

San Tan Heights K-8
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
The homework was fine, the education was lacking and now she is a few quarters behind everyone else now that she switched schools but what do you expect when the teachers are allowed to show their Facebook during educational time


San Tan Heights K-8
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
This school Promotes fear and self hatred by not protecting its students from the teachers and the other students who make fun of the children. One teachers goes around and will make fun of the kids out loud in front of others , how is that for safe?!

San Tan Heights K-8
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
They are told to lie to parents about how they are bullied instead of solving the problems that usually end in violence.

San Tan Heights K-8 1

Posted October 17, 2015
- a community member
There are so many things wrong with this school! Horrible place to educate your child. Don't believe their lies. Severe behavior students assaulting other students and that is ok . These students are never removed from the classroom. Don't send your kid here for their own safety! Run away as quick as you can!


San Tan Heights K-8 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
**** GREAT EXPERIENCE*** My kid has attended San Tan Elementary since K, and he is currently in First grade .his Teacher for kinder garden "Mrs. Hill" was great he responded to her and went in prepare to First grade. Now he has Mrs Lugo for 1ST GRADE . she is such an amazing teacher keeps kids motivated and really cares about every kid in her classs room. The truth is that if you are looking for a good school I would recommended San Tan Heights Elementary, but more than recommend that we all as parents keep involved and participate on our kids education by assisting our kids with their homework and focusing on finding our kids learning abilities. many parents here write bad reviews on this school but when it comes down to being involved on school actibities the schoool offers to parents to help our kids with developing their strenghts maybe only 10% of the parents attended.

San Tan Heights K-8 1

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
So disappointed. There are too many issues to even begin listing. I doubt I have enough space on here and I'm sure people would not have enough time to read everything. On top of all the issues I have experienced this school year alone, now the school will be going to a 4 day school week. After looking at the calendar for next school year and seeing just how much time my children will be spending in school, I think it's time we look to another school. Just during the month of October, my children would only attend school for 9 days! What do they expect the kids to learn with only 9 days of teaching? So sad to see how much this school has gone downhill in recent years.

San Tan Heights K-8 5

Posted April 09, 2015
- a parent
The staff at this school is devoted to the students that they service. The new administration works hard to improve this school on a consistent basis. Kudos to them for always doing right by children


San Tan Heights K-8 4

Posted April 07, 2015
- a parent
San Tan Heights Elementary is a hidden gem. This is not the San Tan Heights Elementary of years ago, this is a new and improved school. The Prinicipal; Mr. Moncibaez and assistant Principal; Mrs. Hall are working hard to change the image of this school and raise the bar in academics, teacher accountability, student/parent accountability, after school programs and more. You can't take the "ratings" of a school and run with it, there are so many things that go into a schools "ratings" that are not dependent on the teachers and/or staff. This is a public school that is required to welcome every student from every back ground, no matter what and help make them succeed. There are good teachers at bad rated" schools and there are bad teachers at good rated" schools. You won't find a perfect school out there, be proactive, be a part of your child's education and that doesn't mean sitting at your computer and name calling. I can say I have always volunteered at my children's school, there is not a better way to see the inner workings of a school or a better way to truly know and understand who is teaching your child.

San Tan Heights K-8 1

Posted December 21, 2014
- a parent
Most unprofessional people I have ever dealt with. There are more excuses than answers to problems. When there was a lockdown at the school, parents like me were waiting at the gate to get our kids and no one ever bothered to tell us there was a lockdown. Some parents got a phone call, others did not get anything or got a call HOURS after the fact. There was no explanation as to why we were all standing around waiting for our kids and they were not being brought out. There are cases of bullying that go unaddressed or if it is addressed, the child behaving poorly is rewarded in an effort to get them to behave. If you are looking for a free babysitter for your unruly child, this is definitely your school!

Nearby schools

San Tan Heights K-8
2500 West San Tan Heights Boulevard, San Tan Valley, AZ  85142
(480) 888-7555
Last modified San Tan Heights K-8 is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top