Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Combs Traditional Academy

Public | K-6 | 188 students

Combs Traditional Academy is best known for its back to basics curriculum.
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Excellent School! Very organized and great learning environment. Would definitely recommend this school for other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

I absolutely love CTA! - Involved teaching staff my son s teacher is always open and available for quick meetings and takes the time to provide attention to each individual s needs. - Top notch principle he is at each event, knows my entire families names, and is approachable, yet respected, by the students. My son sees him as a role model and someone to look up to (verse fear, as I have seen at other schools) - Great admin staff - Small school all teachers know all of the students and you get to form relationships (verse being a number) - Challenging curriculum I would strongly suggest you understand the learning environment before you make the move to a school like CTA. Be ready for your child to be challenged and very focused. My son seems to have more homework and higher standards than peers at other schools. My constructive feedback is: - I personally don t care for the combo classes and hope this changes in the future - Would love to see a before school program at this location (current it is at another local school and kids are bussed over) - Would like an increase on the security fence to be inclusive of the play area
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

Combs Traditional Academy- I am so proud of how my son is doing at this school. He has always struggled with confidence and his teacher Ms. Hrubec is always so helpful and finding ways that will help him succeed. I am very Thankful for the school and how hard all the teachers work at Combs Traditional Academy .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

I am very happy with this school. I've seen it grow and evolve over the past few years. It stands out as a great school, with great mentors and teachers. My only constructive feedback falls with the AM before school program being at a sepertae location
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

This school is One of a very limited number of schools in the state of Arizona that has one of the Best Top notch educations and teaching for Az.. I love this School I would drive from super far just to continue my daughters education here. My son will go there next year as well. The Staff is Awesome. The teachers not only care but they want your kid to succeed. The Principal is one of the best I have ever met in the educational system. The school has a small enrollment which makes the learning even more fun and challenging. My Daughter is learning like how I used to learn when I was a little girl growing up in the south. CTA is a Gem, a diamond in the ruff. Check it out it is worth your time and I can't say enough awesome things about them!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

CTA is a great school. I like my sons teachers and I feel the principal does an excellent job. I plan on sending my daughter there when she is old enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

its a good school i really i like it my daughter is happy there all the personal are very friendly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

Combs Traditional Academy is an amazing school! The principal is very hands on and available for parents to discuss any questions or concerns. The teachers genuinely care about each and ever one of their students. The small school environment allows teachers to focus time on each student as needed. I love the ciriculum and how it engages my student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

Combs Traditional Academy has been great for our son. I am so impressed with Mr. Berkshire the principal. He is present at every event. He knew my sons name on the third day of school! He truly cares about this school and it shows. My son has grown so much in the short time he has attended CTA. I love the small size of the and the great communication they provide to the parents. They are always very quick to respond to any questions I have. The only thing I could comment on that could improve is the pick up process. It is long because of the tiny parking lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2013

I love CTA! My children have been attending CTA since the school opened in 2010 & I have been very impressed with the curriculum provided at the school. The teachers are very dedicated to the students and their academic progress. I also love the uniforms and that the school promotes parent involvement. The school is small and really portrays a family type atmosphere. I would recommend this school to anyone looking for an accelerated program and that is willing to help their child succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2013

My son loves Combs Traditional Academy. This is his second year at the school, and he has grown so much.He is confident and eager to do his best. This school focuses not only on academics but on building character as well. It's so great to see the principal and teachers outside everyday helping the kids out of cars and into the classrooms. The principal is very involved and knows the names of all the children at the school. Combs Traditional Academy is not just a school, it is a tight-knit community trying to educate and help children be the best they can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

Our family loves Combs Traditional Academy. First of all, I love the uniforms. It really streamlines our morning routine. This year was our oldest daughter's first year of school. The Kindergarten teacher is awesome! Our daughter is excited about school and is doing very well in all areas of study. She loves her teacher and it is very clear that the teacher really cares about all of her students. The principal is also very involved in the academic success of each student. He shows great leadership skills but cares about each student, and knows them all by name. He even made it a point to express to me how impressed he was with how well our daughter is reading. They seem to strive to help all of the kids keep up, but they also make sure the kids who excel remain challenged, which is rare from what I've heard. They also help in developing students' character; their motto is Rigor, Responsibility, Respect. I feel my daughter will gain so much by learning at CTA. There are plenty of opportunities to be a parent volunteer, with PTO activities and in the classroom. Based on our experience, CTA does not disappoint.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

This is a great school. In my experience I have not had any issues with this school. My son loves coming here. He is no longer bored and expectations for him are high. His teachers are always asking the best from him. His teachers are constantly monitoring for progress and providing additional resources for the students. I really like this school and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

I cannot even begin to express how wonderful Combs Tradt'l Academy is! My children are excited to go to school, are engaged in their current studies and enjoy the staff and all of their peers/friends. I currently have 2 children enrolled at CTA, 1st and 2nd grade- this is their 1st year, they came from another school in the area and I have been blown away by the Leadership of Mr. Berkshire (princ) and all of his staff. THEY REALLY GENUINELY care about our future (our children) and it's demonstrated by their actions. I have seen a positive change in my kids from their discipline to their academics. The teachers ( specifically Ms. Sisco & Mrs. Rosenbaum) keep me informed and up to date on my children's progress, return emails/calls promptly and always have time for questions or concerns. I feel like I know what's going on and can help my children at home on the same page. Ms. Tanya (Admin Asst) dedicates her attention and cheerful energy to everyone who enters the school. Mr. Berkshire (principal) has excellent leadership abilities and while he runs a tight ship- you can sincerely feel from him that he cares about every student at his school! CTA should be proud of themselves!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • This school did not receive a designation in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a designation in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 42%
Hispanic 29% 43%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:05 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Marcus Berkshire
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (480) 987-5009

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Spalding Phonics & Saxon Math
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Combs Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

37327 N Gantzel Rd
San Tan Valley, AZ 85140
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 987-5320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ala San Tan
San Tan Valley, AZ


Cambridge Academy East
Queen Creek, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT