Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 70 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Navajo Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
When we first moved here from out of town, I was pointed to Navajo Elementary by a friend who had their children here. I enrolled my 10 year old into their STEAM academy, which he loves and is thriving in. He just wrote an MLA formatted paper, presented a power point presentation and designed a 3D model of the ultimate animal. My son loves coming to school and learning. My daughter is in third grade here and is encouraged by her teachers to give her best every day. She is an avid reader and enjoys watching her avatar move on the board with her "points" that she can earn by taking tests on books she's read. Everyone from the administration to the lunch staff to the other students here feels like family. It's a very supportive environment, meeting the very first need of any child- to feel appreciated and loved. Academics here are on point, kids are challenged and encouraged. I would recommend NES to any parent who values diversity and respect for their children.

Navajo Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
I love that the teachers here at Navajo do not simply "teach to test" but actually engage and teach my children curriculum that is fun and useful!


Navajo Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
The integrated program at Navajo has children with Special Needs in classrooms, it's beautiful to watch children embrace and protect their friends who learn a little differently.

Navajo Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2015
- a community member
As a former parent, I can testify that Navajo was a tremendous experience. This school is a true family community, embracing diversity and forward thinking. The STEAM aspects are amazing!

Navajo Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2015
- a teacher
Navajo Elementary focuses on the "whole child" and the individual needs of each student. There are plenty of programs that appeal to various types of learners: STEAM Academy, Special Education, English Language Learners, Readers everywhere on the spectrum, etc. There is not a single student who is not included in the general education classroom, regardless of their level of ability. Navajo Elementary has core beliefs when thinking about molding our future adult citizens: Respecting each other, Respecting our school, and Expecting the best. Outside of the school day, Navajo offers clubs that are both academic and social. Students are able to join clubs with other students, of any grade level, who share the same interests. This helps parents with the completion of homework while in homework club, for example, so that parents can focus on family time while at home. Our PTO, Watch D.O.G.S., and Teachers are very informed and involved in the community as a whole.


Navajo Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 07, 2015
- a teacher
Our Navajo Administration and Front Office Team help keep Navajo organized for our teachers, parents, and students.

Navajo Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 07, 2015
- a teacher
Positive Behavior incentives, Positive feedback from teachers, Accountable talk for students in the classrooms with each other

Navajo Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted October 07, 2015
- a teacher
Our parents are extremely supportive and involved. It is awesome to see so many parents advocating in a balanced, educated way for their students.


Navajo Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 07, 2015
- a teacher
Navajo uses Buffalo Buck behavior incentive, PBIS behavior management program with multiple resources, and a common goal of Respect (place, people) and expect the best.

Navajo Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2015
- a teacher
Navajo is a diverse school in the Scottsdale Unified School District. It offers many opportunities for all learning styles including STEAM (science, technology, engineering, art, and music), special areas, many interesting clubs and after school activities, Navajo has many resources for technology within the classroom: IXL accounts, home learning opportunities for kids, and student accounts for many online programs that have been purchased by the district. I am happy with the programs that Navajo has adopted for reading, providing phonics, fluency practice, comprehension, and both fiction and non-fiction text that are aligned with the Arizona College and Career Readiness Standards. Navajo also uses a school wide behavior plan, highlighting positive behavior systems with rewards and positive praise. Mrs. Amy Moore and Mrs. Erin Kadera are great leaders with innovative ideas for teaching and learning. All students are happy here at Navajo.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Navajo Elementary School
4525 N Granite Reef, Scottsdale, AZ  85251
(480) 484-6100
Last modified Navajo Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Navajo Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 70 reviews. Top