Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Ranch Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

65 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2014

This school is wonderful!! I am so saddened by some of the reviews that I am reading here. My kids have loved it here, great principal, great teachers, great honors program, everything is top notch. I am so glad we found this gem of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2014

The self contained gifted program has been a disappointment. Even though there actually was a teacher this past year (no teacher the year before) the kids played computer games for math. Integration of technology is needed but not at the expense of actual instruction (I taught gifted 7-12th graders math for 4 years. I also attended a gifted program as a child. This school's program has not been competitive). The promised curriculum of Junior Great Books and College of William and Mary was not followed and the homework had very little academic value or relevance. The gifted teacher did not have any previous gifted classroom experience and did not have a gifted endorsement even though PVUSD advertises all of their gifted teachers hold the endorsement. We have heard that the other gifted teachers here are experienced, mentally stable and genuinely good teachers, which is why we stuck around. The positives are the P.E. and Music teachers & Community Ed programs. To other posters- If you have a different opinion, then state it without resorting to actual personal attacks against other posters. Everyone has a different experience. GreatSchools asks for leadership ratings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2014

NR is a very strong small school on so many levels. Why some have taken a personal attack on the principal is surprising & may be a better reflection of the writers! We have had many wonderful interactions w/Dr Hartley...even when having to address our child being called in for behavior issues! We have learned over the last five years however, that every child has different needs in the classroom. We have 3rd and 5th grade students. They have been at NR the entire time. We have had great years and some just okay years depending on our children's needs & the particular teacher they had at the time. Parent involvement is important DEPENDING on your child and their individual needs. Some years we have needed to be more involved or less. The Self Contained Gifted Programs are outstanding. Again, depending on the child and their 'fit' into the program will impact on whether it is the program for your child or not! Teachers try to 'differentiate' whenever possible but as in ALL schools, when you have 20-35 kids in a class, there is only so much a teacher can do! We are excited for the next four years at NR and LOVE being a part of The Ranch Family! A Very Happy NR Parent! A+++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2014

The kids and parents are nice at this school. The administration lacks leadership, community building and drive to improve education. Some teachers are good, some are bad, really bad and should not be teachers. Be ready to send your child to Kumon and tutors to make up for lack of instruction. Administration is very hostile towards parents. So, if you are looking for a school to get involved with, this is not it. Be careful if you choose this school. However, the aftercare program (Wrangler Club) is wonderful. Too bad the school can't learn from Wrangler Club about how to be professional, respectful and caring towards kids. The specials teachers are also really good. But, the school building is old and dirty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2014

We LOVE this school. Great teachers and great families. It's unfortunate that some of these reviews seem more like personal attacks on Dr. Hartley. School isn't a babysitting service and your child's education starts in the home. Take responsibility and get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

This school is clearly over rated. This is my child's first year attending NRE and it has been nothing but a disappointment. If it wasn't for my child's excellent teacher, this school would deserve an even worse rating. This school's biggest failure is the hiring of Principal Hartley. She has not been doing an adequate job leading this school. Instead, she is making poor choices to improve the school environment rather than improve the academic quality of the school. For example, the decision to change school release has gone from bad to worse. Not only are kids being released like its a stampede but parents are banned from the front office. Its unsafe. The school has no right to turn parents away from picking up their child inside. if it is a noise issue, then all that is needed is for staff to respectfully tell parents to lower it down. Its not that difficult. Luckily, the weather is nice enough to wait outside. The other issue is Dr Hartley making certain parking areas "illegal" when there is no fire lane and no signs enforced by the city of Scottsdale. Where is the code that states no parking? Your "police" presence is getting old.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

Disappointed. I chose this school due to the raving reviews .We almost lost the PTA entirely this year due to a lack of involvement and zero interest from the parents to volunteer for the crucial positions (or even simple ones) . The 12th hour, it turned around, however, having a Board doesn't make the involvement happen. It's hard to feel welcomed in this school. The past year has seen many militant-feeling procedures regarding dropping off or picking up your children. Parents DO NOT feel welcomed when coming into the school - especially at pick up. The new POLICY does not allow us even to enter the building whatsoever to pick up a child (will be blazingly hot soon). The kids are instead released directly out of one of two outside gates. Not safe, Not practical. We end have to re-enter, sign in, just to pick up a form or have my child use the restroom before we leave. Logistically a nightmare I never expected. Some teachers are peaches, others could care a less, and have no interest in communicating with parents. I'm currently in this group. Still, my child enjoys it here, but then again, he would likely thrive at other schools. Don't go by the "AAA+++" ratings alone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2013

I have a child at North Ranch and one at Fireside. Fireside is shiny and new but North Ranch is my favorite. The teachers and staff have been wonderful and there is a huge community spirit between the parents, staff and teachers. The only problem is the pick-up/drop-off can be a headache but without a solution, I am not really complaining too much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2013

If your child has any special needs, is in special education or is not considered "gifted" DO NOT sent Your child to this school or any other PV district school. The principal and district staff do not have the needs of all children at heart only thier favorites or "exceptionals". The pricncipal thinks she is some kind of star and only aknowledges those families and children she likes or approves of. If your child is not considered "normal" or a "robot" they will be overlooked and even worse treated unfairly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2013

Great experience so far with Ms. Castellano and Ms.Shea. Excellent educators who keep the children motivated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2013

I agree that North Ranch is a tremendous school for students and families. That concept began when the school opened as the staff and parents agreed to make it happen the first year. The first event held was an open house followed by a family picnic in the nearby park. From that point on, learning was an interactive experience among the students, parents and staff - a tradition upheld to this very day. Jim Dewalt, first principal of North Ranch.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 26, 2012

A++ School! Wonderful teacher & staff. We are proud to be members of the North Ranch family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2012

We have been a North Ranch family since 2007. We left Copper Canyon because the smaller campus environment is exactly what our children needed. The principal and the staff welcomed us and consistently have provided an outstanding academic and social environment for our children. The principal is amazing, the teachers and staff are amazing, and the mascot club staff members are amazing. We love being a North Ranch family!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2012

My kids have been attending North Ranch since 2007. I have a son in 6th grade and a daughter in 3rd. Each of them have been consistently excelling every year. If they fall short in an area I am notified and provided the background needed to help them. The school and it's staff are open and easy to talk too. They take the kids education seriously as well as provide an equal and fair surrounding. No bullying is tolerated. I like that. I would recommend North Ranch and do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2012

North Ranch provides an outstanding learning environment for my daughter. The teachers and staff are caring and work hard to meet the needs of all of the students. I greatly appreciated the fact that her academic and social needs are taken into consideration. As a gifted student she was often unchallenged and bored in her previous school, this was not the case at North Ranch. Extension opportunities are provided in many subject areas allowing her to remain excited and motivated. I recommend "The Ranch" to everyone! It is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

Our child has attended North Ranch Elementary School since Kindergarten and is now almost finished with sixth grade. We'll miss this school. The overall experience has been excellent, especially as far as public schools go. No school is perfect, of course, but this has been a place where community was reasonably tight-knit; the PTA was mostly active and helpful; the principal and office staff were open, friendly and responsive; and the teachers worked hard to do right by the kids. Over the years, we've seen some less than stellar reviews written here, but they must be taken with a grain of salt; most parents are very pleased with the school and the education offered. In 7 years there, and knowing MANY other families and students from North Ranch, we feel comfortable recommending it highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

My son has attended North Ranch for 6 years and my daughter for 4 years. I love the fact that this is a small elementary school and that everyone from teachers, parents, and office staff are engaged in every child's well being. We have not experienced a significant problem with any teacher or the principal. The principal knows the kids' names and greets them in the hallway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

I despise the fact they refer to the principal as "THE QUEEN". She should be addressed properly as Dr. Hartley and nothing else. My student had 50 missing/late assignments and was never informed until the report card came. Teachers only seem to care if your student excels at what he or she does. Those students who need a bit of extra help or time. This school is no better than any other school in the district. Seems they need to concentrate their funds on items that are important & not for fun. Do these students really need iPads to use? NO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

I was very happy about the school until a new honor teacher was joined,the staff at the front desk is so great,other teachers that I know of them are good.But the new honor teacher is wasting the time in the class by showing the you tube videos according to the report from my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

My son has been at North Ranch for 2 years. The teachers have been attentive, enthusiastic and have high expectations for the kids. The school places an emphasis on treating each other with respect and kindness. We couldn't ask for more.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 42%
Hispanic 13% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16406 N. 61st Place
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Freedom Academy
Scottsdale, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT