Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
79 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 89 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Ranch Elementary School 2

Posted April 26, 2016
- a parent
We had high expectations for the new principal and a new year. Sorely disappointed. This school is for you and your children if you want legitimate concerns about physical safety and quality of academic instruction to be dismissed out of hand.

North Ranch Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
Our new principal Mr Spranger is amazing. He is involved, gets things done and has safety always first. He is engaged with the kids and lets the teachers do what they do best...TEACH!!! My daughter brought home a wonderful encouraging letter from her teacher Ms Leslie Preston re: the Az Merit tests that reminded the students that the test did not define who they are. They each of them are important and has wonderful talents that extend beyond the test. We have been at NR for 7 years and love it!!


North Ranch Elementary School 1

Posted April 08, 2015
- a parent
Money grabber! Kids are not pushed to excel! All they ask is your money. Administration is not attentive with parent's concern.

North Ranch Elementary School 5

Posted February 13, 2015
- a parent
My child is studying in Kindergarten here and so far we are very happy with the school. He looks forward to going to school every day and loves his teacher Miss Hilderbrand. We found the school safe and caring for the kids.

North Ranch Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2015
- a parent
Awesome school! Teachers, principal and staff are wonderful, this is my son's 6th year at North Ranch with one left to go....we will be so sad to leave this wonderful teaching environment. Love the Wranglers! Go North Ranch.


North Ranch Elementary School 2

Posted November 16, 2014
- a parent
Recommendation- before you send your child here, allow the current principal to retire. Believe the other posts. She really does choose favorites. Consider yourself lucky if you and your child are one of those. If not, she will blame things on you and your child that other parents and children do and tell you you should leave the school. Forget it if you child has any special needs. She will push you out. And, forget it if you want to address teachers yelling at children and talking to them inappropriately. You will be shunned. This is a place where you have to put on your Rose Colored glasses or get out. This is not a school that tries to better itself but rather covers up its problems. You can even tell from the posts here. If you have a concern, no matter how valid, the other parents will turn on because they only want to send their children to a good school and will pretend the best they can that this is it. Now, there actually are some great teachers here. But it is a gamble and since no one cares that there are horrible ones, those horrible ones overshadow.

North Ranch Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2014
- a parent
I was sorry to see some negative reviews and they made me a bit nervous prior to school starting. This our first year. However, my daughter has been extremely happy at NR. Therefore, I am happy. So far so good!

North Ranch Elementary School 5

Posted July 30, 2014
- a parent
This school is wonderful!! I am so saddened by some of the reviews that I am reading here. My kids have loved it here, great principal, great teachers, great honors program, everything is top notch. I am so glad we found this gem of a school.


North Ranch Elementary School 2

Posted July 18, 2014
- a parent
The self contained gifted program has been a disappointment. Even though there actually was a teacher this past year (no teacher the year before) the kids played computer games for math. Integration of technology is needed but not at the expense of actual instruction (I taught gifted 7-12th graders math for 4 years. I also attended a gifted program as a child. This school's program has not been competitive). The promised curriculum of Junior Great Books and College of William and Mary was not followed and the homework had very little academic value or relevance. The gifted teacher did not have any previous gifted classroom experience and did not have a gifted endorsement even though PVUSD advertises all of their gifted teachers hold the endorsement. We have heard that the other gifted teachers here are experienced, mentally stable and genuinely good teachers, which is why we stuck around. The positives are the P.E. and Music teachers & Community Ed programs. To other posters- If you have a different opinion, then state it without resorting to actual personal attacks against other posters. Everyone has a different experience. GreatSchools asks for leadership ratings.

North Ranch Elementary School 4

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
NR is a very strong small school on so many levels. Why some have taken a personal attack on the principal is surprising & may be a better reflection of the writers! We have had many wonderful interactions w/Dr Hartley...even when having to address our child being called in for behavior issues! We have learned over the last five years however, that every child has different needs in the classroom. We have 3rd and 5th grade students. They have been at NR the entire time. We have had great years and some just okay years depending on our children's needs & the particular teacher they had at the time. Parent involvement is important DEPENDING on your child and their individual needs. Some years we have needed to be more involved or less. The Self Contained Gifted Programs are outstanding. Again, depending on the child and their 'fit' into the program will impact on whether it is the program for your child or not! Teachers try to 'differentiate' whenever possible but as in ALL schools, when you have 20-35 kids in a class, there is only so much a teacher can do! We are excited for the next four years at NR and LOVE being a part of The Ranch Family! A Very Happy NR Parent! A+++

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Ranch Elementary School
16406 N. 61st Place, Scottsdale, AZ  85254
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 89 reviews. (602) 449-6400
Last modified North Ranch Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top