« Back to compare
/ / / School Profile

Contact this school

6320 N. 82nd Street
Scottsdale, AZ 85250

School website
(480) 484-3100
(480) 484-3101
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Pueblo Elementary School address.

April 03, 2015
Our family moved back to Scottsdale after 12 years out of state. It was a no brainer that we would be sending our children to SUSD (as myself and husband both spent our school days in SUSD). We had two boys in school (1st & 2nd grade) and our daughter would be starting in a year. We didn't place our boys in the Spanish program that first year (huge mistake on our part). But by our second year at Pueblo, our daughter was about to start Kindergarten. We knew she would florish in Spanish and decided to talk to the boys' teachers about getting them into the Spanish program as well. In the end, the Spanish was a great fit for one of our boys but not the other. Now it's been 3 years and all my children a doing wonderful at school. Even our (now) 3rd grader, who started Spanish in the 2nd grade, is doing great! Pueblo is a great school and I would highly recommend their FLI (Foreign Language Immersion) Program.

- submitted by a parent

March 30, 2015
Last year I learned of Pueblo and that they had opened up classes for toddlers. I have been so incredibly pleased with my daughters progress this year in school. I generally am the only one that speaks to her in Spanish since she was born and she would generally respond to me in English, even though she understood everything I say in Spanish. Prior to enrolling her in Pueblo she would be shy about speaking in Spanish but since being at Pueblo, she talks so much more to me in Spanish. She is also excelling in actually reading in English and knows her numbers, letters, shapes and how to write her name as well and she is barely 4 years old. The day is very structured but allows for them to be kids and play and learn. Spanish and English language is intertwined throughout the day in regular conversation - which is the best way to learn any language. I receive weekly updates from teachers. Overall, I am very pleased with my choice of enrolling my daughter into Pueblo. I like where the school is going and how dedicated they are to educating these kids in both English and Spanish which will only benefit the children to know multiple languages as they get older. Such a great school!

- submitted by a parent

March 27, 2015
Pueblo is a great school and a warm and welcoming community. The administrators are professional and the teachers are terrific. We are energized, diverse, and we have Spanish immersion!!! Viva Pueblo.

- submitted by a parent

September 22, 2014
I went to this school between 2005-2012. In Kindergarten, they though I was had autism, so half the time I was in a special class. I do not remember a "padded room", but there was one room that was padded on the floor and has some soft things in there, but there was a one-windowed, dark room that they put students in that were not listening at all. It always scared me, and I always heard cries from it. Then they finally figured out I was not had autism, therefore being a normal student. All of my teachers were great, except for my 4th grade teacher who got fired. Other than being mistaken for having autism and a bad teacher, this school is simply amazing. Would recommend it

- submitted by a community member

November 07, 2013
Not for special ED KIDS RUN AWAY AS FAST AS YOU CAN..Parents of TYPICAL kids I'm glad your child is having a good experience but there are kids being abused in their behavioral class on campus in the back of the school near the playground, ask to see their padded room and see how proud you are of your school then.

- submitted by a parent

July 23, 2013
As a parent of 4 children in the SUSD and having grown up in Scottsdale, we have had opportunities to visit many schools, we are huge supporters of the SUSD. Pueblo Elementary is a flourishing school and has a community feel. We are very proud of our "FLI" program and our new status as a School of Choice. I highly recommend Pueblo and encourage you to tour our great school. Go Dust Devils!

- submitted by a parent

July 18, 2013
We open-enrolled our children at Pueblo because of the Spanish Foreign Language Immersion (FLI) Program. They love going to school, are excited to be learning Spanish and have made wonderful friends. There is an amazing group of parents that is totally committed to making Pueblo better, and the enthusiasm of the administrators is contagious. I only wish there would have been a program like this around when I was in elementary school!

- submitted by a parent

July 10, 2013
Pueblo was the WORST experience I have ever had. Im a mother of a good girl who has high functioning autism. She was placed in a behavioral class with kids who had severe problems screaming yelling. They have a padded room they place the kids in when they didnt listen(I was not aware of this) It took me a year and many threats to get her out of there I was so worried I went there every day periodically to make sure she wasnt being mis- treated. Erin Preston was her teacher and a joke she was abusive to the children.(this teacher is now in TX beware) even the TA were happy she was gone. Principal is HORRIBLE. How do you justify placing a child with autism in a padded room!! I truly feel for the kids stuck in this environment I had to threaten to take it to the court system to get my daughter OUT!! She had lots of bad reports here, but when she changed schools to PIMA autism class she has had no bad reports and is a fun kid and the teachers love her there, she spends half of the time in a general class and has a best friend in the general class! Pueblo should be ashamed of them selves. Learning was non existent for my daughter who was already behind to to special needs!!

- submitted by a parent

June 10, 2013
I could send my children to our neighborhood school in north Scottsdale, but instead send them to Pueblo for the foreign language immersion program. I am so pleased with how my kids learn half the day in Spanish, while sacrificing nothing...they still learn the complete SUSD curriculum, get specials, etc. I have been very pleased with the administration's responsiveness to parents and feel the teachers are very good at communicating with parents. I am also very pleased with their summer Spanish camp.

- submitted by a parent

November 15, 2011
Pueblo has been a great partner in our child's education. Our son is in the Foreign Language Immersion Program and is reading, writing and well on his way to speaking Spanish at a very proficient level. (You will find that a great number of parents opt out of their area schools in favor of taking their kids to this great program). The teachers are receptive to involved parents. Dr. Hale is fantastic and Ms. Kim, Ms. Maria and the rest of the Kid's Club staff is caring and wonderful.

- submitted by a parent

February 08, 2011
I pulled my son out of Kindergarten from Pima, a supposedly superior school, in 2006. He attended a private Kindergarten for the rest of the year. Then he went to Pueblo, our neighborhood school, and wow--what a difference. He is in the first group of the Foreign Language Immersion program and there is not enough time to give this enough praise. The FLI teachers--on both the Spanish and English sides--are fantastic. They are completely dedicated to the kids. The principal and vice-principal are equally devoted. My son had some adjustments issues in first grade. Rather than humiliate and isolate him as Pima did (w/out my knowledge for several weeks), they called me in, we talked calmly, and got him the help he needed. Today he's a well-adjusted, energetic and well-liked 4th grader. His lowest grade this year was a B+. Not too bad for a kid the "better school" targeted to get rid of.

- submitted by a parent
no rating
May 31, 2009
I open enrolled my daughter in the Foreign Language Immersion program for the 2007-2008 school year. As part of the 'pilot' group of children, she has had an amazing experience. I am so happy with the quality of instruction and her progress in speaking, reading and writing in Spanish as well as English. She tests above grade level in all skills. Pueblo's administration is very involved in making the school wonderful and I'm very impressed with their commitment and caring. We have a rowing group of parents who are involvd with making Pueblo the best that it can be.

- submitted by a parent
no rating
May 27, 2009
We open-enrolled our daughter from an Excelling school in Scottsdale to Pueblo's Foreign Language Immersion Program. Absolutely love it! The administration and faculty are amazing - we couldn't be happier!

- submitted by a parent

May 27, 2009
We are extraordinarily pleased with this school. It offers a fantastic Spanish Immersion Program which both are children are attending. Principals and teachers have exceeded our expectations and we are so grateful to have this program offered by SUSD.

- submitted by a parent
no rating
May 27, 2009
I opted our of our neighborhood school to put my daughter in the new Spanish Immersion Program at Pueblo. She is thriving and I am thrilled. The teachers are involved and caring, as is the administration. Parental involvement is really on the rise as well. This is a school on the upswing!

- submitted by a parent

August 26, 2008
I wish to let all the parents know that there is a unique and caring para-educator that works at Pueblo. She goes above and beyond the call and treats her students and their parents like her own family. This lady is a god send. Pueblo school should feel lucky and proud to have such an outstanding person working there. I can't say enough wonderful things about this lady. Parents, It would be to your advantage to have such an extraordinary caring person futher educate your child. This para educator is the finest there is. This fine lady's name is Lisa Minard. If there was an award for sensitivity, respect, and outstanding merit it wouldn't be enough to thank her...........from a greatful single parent

- submitted by a parent

April 05, 2007
We are lucky to have such a great principal and teachers in our community.

- submitted by a parent

April 19, 2006
School has excellent teachers and a wonderful principal. As long as you are an involved parent, you'll love the education provided at this school.

- submitted by a parent

August 22, 2005
Pueblo has a great staff and great families. My children are always safe and the environment is positive and encouraging. We could have chose to attend other schools but we really liked the community at Pueblo.

- submitted by a parent

January 22, 2004
Pueblo is an average school with the potential to be so much better. It needs much more parent involvement.

- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »

Contact school


Find out what parents are saying about Pueblo Elementary School


Nearby homes and rentals

Last modified: October 4, 2015

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pueblo Elementary School
6320 N. 82nd Street, Scottsdale, AZ  85250
(480) 484-3100
Last modified Pueblo Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pueblo Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top