Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Scottsdale, AZ
Students enrolled: 1,317
 

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

24 reviews of this school


Saguaro High School 5

Posted April 28, 2015
- a parent
What an amazing community! We could not be happier that we chose this neighborhood and school.

Saguaro High School 1

Posted February 24, 2015
- a student
Teachers care enough but the administration cares only about appearance. If you require any extra help as a result of ADHD, anxiety, ect. the admin won't even make an attempt to hide their agenda; running you out of the school.


Saguaro High School 5

Posted February 24, 2015
- a parent
My daughter currently attends this school as a freshman. If you look around town, you find choices, and as an "educational shopper" I've tried a few. She attended Veritas in middle school, and I'm pleased we did. Her study skills are focused, her classes were advanced, and she fit in well with the honors curriculum she chose here. Saguaro offers a large expanse of honors math and science classes, as well as the largest selection of foreign language classes in district. We came back to a public school for choices. Now keep in mind that some students in a public school aren't interested in being there, which classes they take, or if they pass. Projects given out in a class and only 4-5 students turn them in reflect poorly on the PARENTS . This isn't the responsibility of the school, but the families who send their kids there. A school cannot force a child to learn or do their homework. This school offers plenty of opportunities to succeed like honors and AP classes, and some of the finest teachers available. I shopped.. now it's my kid's turn to step up. She really enjoys the extracurriculars as well. Check out this little school, take a tour and give it a chance.

Saguaro High School 4

Posted December 19, 2008
- a parent
Teachers really do care if your student wants to learn! I agree with the statement of the front office women. Very rude and enjoy 'talking down' to students and even parents. They should be lucky they have jobs! My daughter has been there since 2007 and she's doing extremely well. Teachers care and will do what it takes to help your student but you have to help also at home.

Saguaro High School
no rating

Posted December 18, 2008
- a parent
My child has been attenting Saguaro since the beginning of the 2008 Fall semester. So far I am not that impressed. I do really love the choir program. However, like many high schools, all the emphasis seems to be placed on sports. Namely the football team. Ho-hum. I too think that the front office staff is extremely rude and arrogant. Which is funny actually. I don't know why they act so superior. I think more parents need to complain about their attitudes.


Saguaro High School 5

Posted January 02, 2008
- a parent
Saguaro is the 'real deal'! Saguaro is a terrific school and offers all students challenging & stimulating academic opportunities in a 'real world' diverse social setting. We wanted a great school that wasn't Scottsdale 'plastic' or shielded from reality for our daughter to be successfully prepared and transition to any college. Also, the administration is extremely supportive and has does an amazing job despite all the unfortunate events that were thrown their way. Most of the Saguaro teachers work hard and are fabulous - our daughter recently took the Arizona AIMS and exceeded all three of her AIMS tests! Last but not least, the athletic programs especially football are second to none and one of the best that the State has to offer. In life, it is all what you of make it and Saguaro can offer the tools to make your child's education a positive and rewarding life experience.

Saguaro High School 5

Posted September 14, 2007
- a parent
Despite their unfair reputation, and uncontrolable events that may have happened in the past year, I believe saguaro is an amazing school. So far, my wife, three of our children, and myself, have all graduated in the top 10% on the SAT's. One of my daugters decided to choose to attend her freshman year at Chapparal Highschool, and completely regrets making that decision. She is now a junior at Saguaro, and I don't believe I have seen her this happy in a long time. I am more than confident that my children are getting the education they deserve, and I will, without a doubt, be sending my next three children there in the future.

Saguaro High School 4

Posted August 10, 2007
- a parent
I've had two children graduate from Saguaro. One tested in the top 3% on his SAT's. He went on to graduate from an honors college. When we moved to a nearby community during their HS years they chose to commute 45 minutes each way to stay at Saguaro. They participated in band, drama, choir, chess club, and numerous other activities. We travelled to NY to see the choir perform at Carnegie Hall (the choir and director were outstanding). The Saguaro community is diverse and the parent involvment that I saw was terrific.


Saguaro High School
no rating

Posted June 29, 2007
- a student
i currently attend and i find it to be a socially overdriven school. even from viewing the yearbook you can tell the school is quite superficially focused. i personally cannot wait to leave and have enrolled in east valley institute classes in order to get away. a majority of the staff is rude and the principal is not interested in helping the students individually.

Saguaro High School 3

Posted April 20, 2006
- a parent
My daughter attended Saguaro for 4 years. She found a sufficient offering of honors and AP classes to be able to graduate with enough credits to start off as a midyear Sophomore in college. The voice program is well known.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saguaro High School
6250 N. 82nd Street, Scottsdale, AZ  85250
(480) 484-6100
Last modified Saguaro High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Saguaro High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top