Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sequoya Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 500 students

Education for the Whole Child

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 26 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2014

This school is fantastic. The teachers are wonderful; very experienced, educated and caring and the Principal is also very attentive to the student's, staff and parent's needs and always looking to improve every aspect of the school. Everything from the after school programs available to the students to the APT organized family functions are fantastic. This was my daughter's first year at Sequoya and we could not be happier with the programs available to her and the quality of her education that she has received. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Sequoya!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2014

Sequoya Elementary School is a fantastic place to grow, learn, and be part of a family in education. I have taught first through fifth grades over my career, and find Sequoya to be a positive, caring, enthusiastic school. Parents, Teachers, Staff, and Administration are committed to educating the whole child and consider each child their own. There is determination for success, pride in being a Sequoya Stallion, and a wonderful partnership between home and school. LOVE Sequoya Elementary and will teach here proudly until retirement.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 19, 2014

Sequoya is a wonderful place to work! I have taught at 2 other Scottsdale schools and have been a parent at 4, there is no comparison. Sequoya has a great community made up of effective leadership, experienced teachers, dedicated support staff, active parents and inquisitive students! I am pleased to be a member of this community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 19, 2014

Sequoya is a wonderful place to send my child. We all know that budget cuts are making things more difficult but you wouldn't know it the way Sequoya runs. They have wonderful activities like field day and plays and art walk. Sequoya is an A rated school with high test scores. The 4th and 5th grade have wonderful leadership opportunities. It goes above and beyond student council. The campus is safe and secure. The after school program, Project SAFE has a wonderful staff that helps with homework and does so much more. We love Sequoya!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2014

After much review of the local schools, we decided to open enroll my daughter at Sequoya for K. I have been so happy with this choice. Sequoya is a top rated school with a strong community. The pilar of this school is it's leadership forged by Dr. Braney. She is out on campus speaking with her students and parents everyday. There is also diverse leadership opportunities for ALL students in 4-5th grade. If you are looking for a highly academic school with a small town community feel in the middle of Scottsdale look no further. Lastly, the on-site pre-school (children's choice) is remarkable! We were paying a considerable amount more for childcare. This is not childcare, it is seasoned caring teachers preparing their students for K. Regards, parent of two Sequoya students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2014

This is an awesome school... We have two kids that we were prepared to send to private school - in fact we started pre-k at a private school... but decided to give the public school system a chance for k - and were pleasantly surprised! The teachers are fabulous, the classrooms have impressive technology, the kids always seem happy, the administration has a great handle of running the show and the community is really warm and parents are actively involved... and best evidence - my kids are always excited to get to school - even after 6 years of attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

Excellent special needs program-- especially for autistic children. My child has made such massive improvements since moving here. We moved into the area just for the school. This is a warm environment of friends, kindness, and support. There's just enough parental involvement (with very little obnoxious PTO pressure). Teachers and administration actually get along well together! Everyone is happy and seems to actually really love their jobs. You'll find teachers here who've been educating children with high quality for decades. The other day, an educator passed me in the hallway with a huge smile on her face and said "I LOVE my job!" She wasn't being sarcastic either. The new principal is outstanding, calm, and articulate. There's a hometown feeling here...we love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2011

Went here 4 years, 4 principals in as many years...very unhappy teaching staff. Teachers are pressured to score high, although classrooms are PACKED with out-of-boundary kids. Forget personalized attention. Its sink or swim here, parents are highly involved-although that means they also do scores of homework. The parents 'help' in class, I'd prefer certified teachers to do that. The grounds are dusty and dirty. Kinder kids snack outside, b/c the rooms get 'buggy'. It was gross to have them eat out on the dusty sandlot in the heat. Not what you'd expect from a Scottsdale school. The 'cool rooms' were not opened very often, and kids had to play in the heat a lot. Scary when the Nurse is absent. What are good test scores, if nobody cares on-campus and in-class?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2011

My son will possibly be starting kindergarten at Sequoya this year. Unfortunately my first and only impression of the school so far is in speaking with the secretary (or whomever answers the phone) in an attempt to set up a time to tour the school and find out more about the curriculum. (Both my husband and I were unsuccessful in accomlishing this.) If I had to base my opinion of the school on that experience alone, I would say the school must be horrible. But... we know many parents who love the school and we're still hoping we can connect with a teacher or somebody who can help us determine if this kindergarten will be a good fit for our little guy. Hope I will be able to add a new and positive review in the fall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

We have a very strong band of parents who are involved in every aspect of their childs education. The teachers are wonderful and nurturing. It's inspiring to see the comradare on campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

I literally moved into the school boundaries so my daughter could attend Sequoya. Academia is very important to our family, and living in Arizona where many schools are failing, it was very important to me that I place my children in an excelling school system. My child loves going to school everyday. She has grown socially, and enjoys all of the school hosted activities and events. The test scores do not reflect the younger grade levels academic performance, but I can say first hand, that my child has definitely exceeding my expectations for her this year. Parents are welcome, and the staff is excellent from the teachers, to the administration, to the lunch ladies and bus drivers. We really love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

Sequoya is a wonderful school. We relocated from the east three years ago and visited all three feeder elementary schools in the pipeline before choosing Sequoya. The school has had some instability with administration, but this year hired a dedicated and experienced principal who is committed to our kids and school community. The previous principal, left for personal reasons which did not include a desire to distance himself from Sequoya. It was simply a better fit for him and his family. Parent involvement here is impressive. Children at all levels are being challenged in a caring and adademically focused environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

This is our first year at Sequoya and we could not be happier with our decision. The teachers and administration are very supportive. Parents are welcome and encouraged to assist in the classes. The parent involvement surpasses what I have seen at private schools that require involvement. The children always have smiles on their faces. The test scores are some of the best in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

Our family is new to Sequoya this year...I have been very impressed with them & disagree with the recent posts. I have a kindergartner & a 2nd grader there, so feel like I have a broader perspective. I have been very pleased with the academic standards, as well as, the overall positive approach that both of their teachers have. Both of my daughters have very different learning styles and personalities, and are really excelling in their respective grades/classes (even with some bumps along the way). At the same time, is it realistic to expect that every teacher that your child encounters throughout their academic careers is going to meet your standards in every way? Of course not. And, it's not like that in the real world either...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

For the short time my children were there I liked the teacher one of my children had, but the other was not very understanding and commited to my childs education. She always compared him and I do not think that is fair, as many children are different and learn on their own level. Yes, there are state standards and most children should be at a certain level for their grade, but my child is unique and very bright in his own ways. She seemed unwilling to hear my ideas and thoughts about what we can do to help my son. I also think that the sand in the Kindergarten playground is not a good idea in this state. Children have allergies and every time I was on that playground I felt like I needed a mask to breathe. My child was sick often with allergies and coughing..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

This school is poorly run and ultimately you are taking a gamble. The staff are very inconsistant and you are putting your childs wellbeing at risk by having them grow up in this environment. Too many changes in leadership, poor communication from most members of staff. It is a misleading first impression as the office staff are delightful but as your insight into the school deepens-nothing but disappointment prevails.....I fully undersatnd why over the summer Dr Reid (the previous principal) chose to leave Sequoya. VERY poor choice of school even for AZ poor eductional standards!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

Best school in the phoenix area.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 27, 2006

Great school with high level of parent involvement. Quite a few teachers have been at the school for many years. Good gifted program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2005

Sequoy is one of the best public elementary schools in all of Phoenix. Great teachers. Huge parent involvement. There are alot of activities just after school, chess, guitar, extended care, tutoring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2004

Fabulous school. Excellent teachers and parent support system.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 42%
Hispanic 10% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • NCEA ACT (2013)
  • A Rating (DOE) (2013)
  • NCEA ACT (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • ASU Service Learning (2012)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Television/Radio News

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Gregory S. Reid
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 484-3201

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Service learning
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • walking, pick ups
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • CARE Committee
  • Drama club
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Peer Mediators
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Television/Radio News
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
87
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
87

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Cocpah Middle School
Chaparral High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11808 N. 64th St.
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 484-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Devereux
Scottsdale, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT