Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Supai Middle School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2012

Supai has a beautiful campus. The principal received an outstanding award. However, the school has not achieved AYP for the third year because the principal has failed as an administrator to offer strategic training to the teachers that in turn is highly effective when teaching in a challenged school. There are not enough texts, materials, or supplies to effectively teach the students. The principal has a negative rapport with all staff members.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2012

Supai's Principal is the worst ever! She has brought nothing to the school but, strife. I am appauled that they chose her as Principal of the year, obviously an attempt to make the dismal failure of the school to look better. I feel very sad that she is the districts last hope. The bullying is at a dangerous pitch and the AYP scores are proof that there is little teaching going on. Not all teachers are bad like the ones that never leave their desks, pass out papers, eat chips and drink soda. There are some very devoted teachers. The Pincipal has no patients for the children and has displayed her anger in some damaging ways. She needs to stop taking credit for the green grass and worry about the real problems going on there instead of worrying herself about school uniforms. She was a failure at Pima Elementary when she would lock small chikdren in a 5x5 room for a full week, throw work at them, all by themselves with no instructions at all. Instead of moving her around through the district where she can damage children I would rather pay her to stay home! If it wasn't for some teachers there that actually do teach, I would have not given any stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

Supai started out as a good school the 'new' principal was great, now that she has been there a few years things are no longer on her top list, sports is not her concern at all, she allowed a office staff person to organize all sports and lets just say alot of promises were made to the coaches and teams and NOTHING was ever followed thru on, when several coaches called to talk her about this she acted like she knew nothing about anything, and to her office staff she ok'd everything, two years have gone by and the girls softball program still has no uniforms as promised, volleyball just received there's two days before a game, first volleyball coach quit due to the schools empty promises, and who is the ones that suffer thru this the kids, Supai is known as the worst school around for any sports,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

I love supai. The amount of extra activities alone is....Well, amazing. The new 21st century program is great if parents dont get home till late. The band teacher is phonomenal, we all love him, casey rabe. He also teaches at hohokam elementary school and (in my opinion) rivals my previous band teacher, sally dubensky, at tonalea elementary in favoritism. All of the kids love his enthusiasm in band and music, hes arranged a field trip to california. Were going to go to knott's berry farm and fender guitar facory. This is the first year hes managed to ge this done! the soar program is annoying but -although we may not know it- it assists us in more ways than one. It provokes us to get our homework done at home, get to class on time and bring the required materials to class. Soar is not a disciplinary program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2008

Supai is a horrible school. The kids have no structure there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

Our son attended Supai from Fall 2000 to Spring 02. Our daughter is now in her second year. My wife and I agree that we have seen Supai advance from a very poor school, with almost an inner-city feel (when my son attended), to a great school filled with teachers seeking excellence (which it clearly seems to be, today!). The band teacher Casey Rabe is particularly good. If your kid is band-oriented, I strongly recomend this school, for just that reason. The kids (based on our visits with teachers in their classrooms, as well as my daughter's experiences over the past two years) are being provided with an education which will set them on the right path, ready to meet high school head-on. And, in my opinion, that's the primary goal for a middle school. Supai's level of teaching is clearly excellent--not something I say about many Scottsdale schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

I feel this school offers the best program for limited English students in the district. It has the least parent support and the most dedicated teachers. The principal is innovative and caring. I am not a parent of a Supai student but work at the school as a professional


Posted June 2, 2005

Supai... Where to begin... The much touted 'No Bullying Policy' is NOT enforced at all. My daughter was bullied mercilessly and nothing was ever done... Parents - if your children enjoy singing and are interested in being in the school chorus, you may want to rethink it. Unfortunately, I just have NOTHING good to say about Supai....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2004

I like what I've seen of the principal and the vice principal. What's more, Supai Middle School and Pima Elementary are both blessed with the same good band teacher. My daughter doesn't get along well with her math teacher. They have a math-reinforcement class available, in addition to the regular math course, which speaks well of their commitment to shoring up a traditional weakness in American education. My daughter is dismayed at the discipline. Neither teachers nor the administration responded to an ongoing problem she had with a bully. My daughter was so unhappy there that when we bought a home, one of the criteria was that it be in the service area of a different middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2004

drugs run rampant. I have to tell my kids everyday how to handle being approached by kids with marijuana. I'll continue to report it to the administration but it's so prevalent, it's almost as if they need a lock down and search.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2002

I am trying to understand why the prices for bottled water and slices of pizza (from Peter Piper Pizza) cost as much to purchase as they would in any for profit retailer.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 43%
White 32% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 10% 5%
Black 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 484-5801

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6720 East Continental
Scottsdale, AZ 85257
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 484-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sierra Vista Academy
Scottsdale, AZ





New Way Academy
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT