Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Yavapai Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 559 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2012

New Principal lacks interaction with parents. She doesn't seem very approachable neither does the vice principal. I hope they both will become more supportive with PTA as the previous principal was. We really miss her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

Yavapai is an amazing place for students to be themselves.The principal is very nice and fun.The school offers Thunderbird Acadamey which gives grades 2-6 a choice to join a before school or after school club. Therfore PROVES that Yavapai is a great school to enroll for. You can get an amazing home in the area of Scottsdale that is safe and very friendly for you and your family.


Posted April 8, 2011

I totally agree with things falling on deaf ears @ Yavapai elementary in Scottsdale, AZ!!! Everything ive ever said fell on deaf ears, & this is my first year for my child @ this school 2010-2011..... The principal is VERY MEAN? O.K., she might be a little mean, but I do not understand she failed to reprimand one of her lunch ladies, after she put my daughter in time out for not eating her lunch? Or maybe calling her MEAN, is too much, even after the fact that she called the police on my wife & I for asking the lunch lady what happened? Maybe because the lunch lady had her boyfriend hanging out @ work, ready to fight me as soon as I questioned her about what the heck happened? HHHHHHHMMMMMMM.................. Besides the fact that the principal lacks INTEGRITY in all matters of her position, its a OK school for your kids to learn!!! lol
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2007

An outstanding staff and administration! Yavapai has developed outstanding programs to meet the needs of all learners. My son has matured greatly during his first 4 years. Communication is excellent! Teachers and administration are accessible and willing to assist when necessary. This school deserves a pat on the back!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

My child has been at Yavapai since Pre-K and has enjoyed being at Yavapai for the most part, but this year has been extremely disappointing and worrisome! The teachers are great and really care for the students. The Principal is effective and has done a lot for Yavapai, but there is one huge problem at this school: Bullies! My child is being bullied. I reported the problem more than twice and it seems to have fallen on deaf ears. My child will not return to Yavapai and I would not recommend this school until they protect our children from bullies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

I want to thank Yavapai for a great first year with the Scottsdale District. Coming in as a 6th grader was made easy for my child.My childs homeroom teacher is the best, she really works hard to keep our child on track and does her best to motivate allowing for our child to reach higher standards.At times it is a struggle , but she always manages to pull our child through.The Leadership is outstanding and is there when you need help.I am very greatful we made the switch.My child has a better attitude towards school since they have been at Yavapai.The school does alot for all the students.Thanks to the PTA for all they do to support the kids as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2007

I belived that this school is doing much better this year it has improved when it comes to better teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2006

New to the District this school year 06/07.We are so far very pleased to be here!Everyone has been very helpful in meeting our needs.Our son's teacher is very understanding and meets his needs with asking for that extra mile.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2006

-Incredible environment for learning -outstanding innovations -child-centered -super staff
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted October 29, 2005

This is by far the worst school I could have imagined.It is in the Scottsdale school district,but doesnt even compare to the schools more north. There are a lot of bullies, and my child learned all the spanish cuss words the first week of school.The school is comprised of kids from a low income housing project, and the majority of the kids are hispanic, with quite a few as ESL students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2005

Not a lot of parent involvement unfortunately. However, it has a lot of diversity.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted September 14, 2005

I love my Yavapai Elementary, starting from the top, Mrs. Cohen is friendly and accessible. I see her on the campus and interacting with students in a positive way. Many of the teachers and teacher aides are bilingual which is great for our community, especially the children. I am really delighted over the reading programs and like how they encourage it for all ages. What a true luxury it is, to hear a six year old read. I have seen Yavapai improve over the last few hears, not only in academics but the atmosphere as well. Yavapai is what we make of it, join the PTA to see how we can continue to improve. Our Yavapai teachers really do care!--Mommy of two students enrolled
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2005

As a former student of Yavapai Elementary School, when it came time to select a school for my child, I knew I couldn t go wrong with my alma mater. Sure things have changed over the years but I knew the spirit of the school would always remain the same. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. Not only are they committed to their students during school hours but they always volunteer for extra school functions after hours. The principal works hard to create a fun yet safe atmosphere for our students to learn in. I am very happy with my decision to stay with the Scottsdale School District and Yavapai Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

My child is in an outstanding first grade class at Yavapai. My child had the opportunity to loop from kindergarten to first grade with two highly qualified teachers who have been team teaching since last year. I am so excited about Ms. Cohen's dedication to looping. I am happy to know that my child is in a fun learning community. I just want to take the time to thank the wonderful teachers and staff at Yavapai for doing a fabulous job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

My child has attended Yavapai for three years now. I am pleased to share with other parents that everything that has happened at Yavapai has been positive. The principal and teachers are very informative and helpful. The PTA has been great! My child loves going to school at Yavapai. He feels safe in the classroom and on the playground.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

I have taught at Yavapai for four years now. I completed my student teaching at Yavapai, graduated and taught in another district for one year. I knew in my heart that Yavapai was the school for me so I returned for my second year of teaching. I felt welcome, appreciated, and valued at Yavapai as a professional. Not every school is perfect, but I feel that Yavapai is perfect for me. I realize that several parents might disagree with how safe our school is or the quality of our teachers and principal, but I am a teacher at Yavapai and I know that our school is safe. The teachers and staff do their best to provide a safe learning environment. Our teachers at Yavapai and our principal are all higly qualified and are doing what is best for our school, our children, and our community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 19, 2005

Yavapai has been a great school to my 2 children. The principal and teachers have put forth all of the necessary effort in providing the best education for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2004

I think that the Principal is awesome. I really like their program that allows children to stay with the same class mates at they go up a grade. It has been fun watching my kidnergartener learn to sound out words and develop basic math skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2004

Overcrowded, low income area, some dedicated teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2003

This school gets worse and worse with every passing year. I am so glad it is my child's last year there. The playing feild is totally unsafe (full of holes), and the supervision is sorely lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 60% 43%
White 23% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 8% 5%
Black 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 484-3801

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

701 North Miller Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85257
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 484-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Laird School
Tempe, AZ



Sierra Vista Academy
Scottsdale, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT