« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Scottsdale, AZ
Students enrolled: 473
 

Contact this school

3801 North Miller Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85251

(480) 874-3720
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School address.

August 11, 2015
i am an alum of OLPH and my son is starting his second year there. He had a wonderful kindergarten experience. Both KA and KB teachers were experienced and fabulous. I felt that they embraced my son's uniqueness and high spiritedness. They helped him grow as a learner and an individual. I have had nothing but amazing interactions with the office staff and administration. The parents are warm and welcoming and so involved. My son had an opportunity to be in the school play which was a fantastic experience, unlike any other opportunity in the valley. The older kids really looked after him and I felt that was such a great reflection of their character. I was a public school educator in the area for 15 years and I know that my son's needs as a person and as a student are being best met at OLPH. It is a special place. I couldn't be happier with our choice of schools for our son.

- submitted by a parent

July 16, 2015
This school's academics and discipline have steadily declined under the missing leadership of the current administration. With a fifty year plus history in this community, I am surprised the diocese and school board have let this happen. Fortunately, there exist better alternatives in the area. I would highly recommend looking at other schools.

- submitted by a community member

May 15, 2015
Bullies, bullies, bullies! Teachers and staff do NOTHING! Do not come to this school if you want your child bullied. This is supposed to be a Christian school? Why do they let this go on and on? Staff acts like you are a bother to them. They cannot retain a Spanish teacher for more than a few months lately. The new teachers are terrible. Save your money and go somewhere else.

- submitted by a parent

October 24, 2014
This school has been the worst experience since day one. We moved here from Boston and arrived to the school a month in. The K teacher had no desk for my son and actually said I didn't know he was starting today. The communication at this school is awful. 6 weeks into it our son has been bullied and the teacher and staff have done nothing about it. This school claims kindness is everything and shows nothing of that sort. The KA teacher is awful and has no idea how to handle her class. I never imagined in a million years a Catholic school would be as bad as they have. They leave no room for children to be creative or express themselves. They do not want your child to have a personality or be an individual. My son will never be anyone's puppet. We are happy to be leaving this awful school.

- submitted by a parent

September 12, 2014
I have two children at OLPH. I am very impressed with the quality of eduction, caring teachers and loving environment of OLPH. They have many resources to help students succeed that other schools do not have like after school tutoring, reading resource teacher, math resource teacher etc. Their annual theater production has won many national awards. Being in the play is a great experience for the kids. The parents of OLPH make it a welcoming environment for new families. I would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a smaller, private school with quality education.

- submitted by a parent

May 15, 2014
I have had mixed feelings concerning OLPH for the past 5 years. I currently have a child in a "lower" grade and a child in an "upper" grade, and one who previously attended. I agree that OLPH is a great school for younger students. I also agree that the science teacher is tough as nails, but do not necessarily think that is a boast-worthy quality. I have a child at Brophy, and he struggles in science there, but received an "A" each year he had the OLPH science teacher. If you as a parent, and your child conform to "her way or the highway" then you can earn an "A". (I have actually witnessed the science teacher snap on 2 different teachers, 1 adult volunteer, and a group of 3rd grade girls, all on separate occasions.) My child who is in an upper grade at OLPH has 3 teachers who consistently use Ren-Web, but none of the others do. It is very frustrating. My child had a failing grade in English and I did not know for weeks. I love the parents at this school. They are amazing. It should also be noted that OLPH has not been able to retain a returning Spanish teacher for several years. I agree that no school is perfect, that is why we have stayed at OLPH for so long.

- submitted by a parent

March 28, 2014
I respectfully differ with a few of the other comments regarding Our Lady of Perpetual Help Scottsdale. All of our children have attended OLPH since kindergarten and they have had nothing but positive experiences and support from teachers whenever they needed it. No school is perfect, but OLPH comes very close. The faculty and administration are very helpful and you can feel the Catholic identity as soon as you step onto the campus. We all need to be advocates for our children and be forthright with what we need and expect from the schools our children attend. Weekly assignments/tests come home that should advise a parent how their child is doing as well as progress reports mid-quarter, so it is hard for me to believe that a student or parent wouldn't know how poorly they were doing until it was too late to recover. All of my children's teachers effectively use RenWeb as well. The upper level science teacher is amazing - she has 28 years teaching experience and has a wealth of knowledge. It is true she is tough as nails and may seem intimidating, but she is FAIR. She sets high expectations for her students and strives to help them be self-directed and organized.

- submitted by a parent

January 16, 2014
If your child is doing poorly, you will not find out until it is nearly impossible for them to bring their grade up to passing. There is no concern for students who are struggling. You can pay for a tutor, a teacher at the school that is not your student's teacher. This school loves to make money and the church loves to take it. No lockers for students either. They are expected to carry around their 60 lbs backpack to each classroom. There is a serious disconnect.

- submitted by a parent

December 15, 2013
OLPH is almost a terrific school. Communication is very inconsistent between teacher and parent, however, the administration is excellent in communicating with families. I would highly recommend this school for younger students. Somewhere around 6th grade, the teachers became less interested in students' success, and less available for conferences. You are not able to simply stop by your child's classroom to ask the teacher a question. Not all teachers update the "RenWeb" grading site, and this causes a lot of missed assignments and test prepping on the wrong days. The upper level science teacher has been at this school for a very long time. Students learn at a young age to fear her. It is her way or the highway. She treats students, parents, and staff very, very disrespectfully. The administration is fearful of her, and will never side with the student or the parent when it concerns this teacher. Some parents will tell you that she is amazing at preparing your student for high school and college. She will prepare them, but at a terrible expense. My child is too frightened to ask her for help! The great families and great kids at this school are what save it!

- submitted by a parent

December 07, 2012
What a wonderful school. We came to this school at the end of the school year from out of state. We were immediately welcomed into OLPH by the outstanding students, faculty and administration. The kids are happy to go to school in this nurturing, kind environment, and we are so pleased with the academics-our kids are challenged in all subjects. Highly recommend this excellent school.

- submitted by a parent

July 22, 2010
It is really bad. The Science and Reading are extremely good but the math is absolutely terrible. If you want your child to have a future in math or something like that, do NOT send your child here. Also, it's really like an overprised, stricter public school. Really, think about what you are putting ur child through here. Any other school is the way to go.

- submitted by a parent
no rating
May 01, 2009
My son was new this year and he was made to feel welcome from the very first day of school. I feel so blessed to have him in this school . I would recommend this school to everyone.

- submitted by a parent

July 12, 2007
OLPH has been a nice school for my 2 kids. They are happy and like the catholic school environment. The parents and families are great and want the best for their kids. However, the principal is not very progressive and seems to do the very minimal throughout the school. The school would benefit from finding a principal that wants to be there and wants to find qualified teachers, not just the easy way out with hiring parents as teachers. It is a shame that we don't have an administrator as a principal. We really need one!

- submitted by a parent

Profile Completeness

INTERMEDIATE

Want to improve this school's profile?

All schools on GreatSchools begin with BASIC completeness, which includes important information like contact details and test scores. It’s up to the school community to take the next steps. As a parent or community member, you can share what you know with other families by writing a review or answering a few questions about what the school offers. As a school leader, you can upload photos, describe school programs, and more with an Official school profile.

The completeness meter moves to INTERMEDIATE, then ADVANCED, and finally HONOR ROLL as you complete the following: 10 or more reviews, at least 1 photo, and 9 program questions parents find helpful.

Want to improve this school’s profile? You can!
for Parents
for Schools
 
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: August 11, 2015

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School
3801 North Miller Road, Scottsdale, AZ  85251
(480) 874-3720
Last modified Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top