Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Scottsdale

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $145,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2014

I have two children at OLPH. I am very impressed with the quality of eduction, caring teachers and loving environment of OLPH. They have many resources to help students succeed that other schools do not have like after school tutoring, reading resource teacher, math resource teacher etc. Their annual theater production has won many national awards. Being in the play is a great experience for the kids. The parents of OLPH make it a welcoming environment for new families. I would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a smaller, private school with quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2014

I have had mixed feelings concerning OLPH for the past 5 years. I currently have a child in a "lower" grade and a child in an "upper" grade, and one who previously attended. I agree that OLPH is a great school for younger students. I also agree that the science teacher is tough as nails, but do not necessarily think that is a boast-worthy quality. I have a child at Brophy, and he struggles in science there, but received an "A" each year he had the OLPH science teacher. If you as a parent, and your child conform to "her way or the highway" then you can earn an "A". (I have actually witnessed the science teacher snap on 2 different teachers, 1 adult volunteer, and a group of 3rd grade girls, all on separate occasions.) My child who is in an upper grade at OLPH has 3 teachers who consistently use Ren-Web, but none of the others do. It is very frustrating. My child had a failing grade in English and I did not know for weeks. I love the parents at this school. They are amazing. It should also be noted that OLPH has not been able to retain a returning Spanish teacher for several years. I agree that no school is perfect, that is why we have stayed at OLPH for so long.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

I respectfully differ with a few of the other comments regarding Our Lady of Perpetual Help Scottsdale. All of our children have attended OLPH since kindergarten and they have had nothing but positive experiences and support from teachers whenever they needed it. No school is perfect, but OLPH comes very close. The faculty and administration are very helpful and you can feel the Catholic identity as soon as you step onto the campus. We all need to be advocates for our children and be forthright with what we need and expect from the schools our children attend. Weekly assignments/tests come home that should advise a parent how their child is doing as well as progress reports mid-quarter, so it is hard for me to believe that a student or parent wouldn't know how poorly they were doing until it was too late to recover. All of my children's teachers effectively use RenWeb as well. The upper level science teacher is amazing - she has 28 years teaching experience and has a wealth of knowledge. It is true she is tough as nails and may seem intimidating, but she is FAIR. She sets high expectations for her students and strives to help them be self-directed and organized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

If your child is doing poorly, you will not find out until it is nearly impossible for them to bring their grade up to passing. There is no concern for students who are struggling. You can pay for a tutor, a teacher at the school that is not your student's teacher. This school loves to make money and the church loves to take it. No lockers for students either. They are expected to carry around their 60 lbs backpack to each classroom. There is a serious disconnect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2013

OLPH is almost a terrific school. Communication is very inconsistent between teacher and parent, however, the administration is excellent in communicating with families. I would highly recommend this school for younger students. Somewhere around 6th grade, the teachers became less interested in students' success, and less available for conferences. You are not able to simply stop by your child's classroom to ask the teacher a question. Not all teachers update the "RenWeb" grading site, and this causes a lot of missed assignments and test prepping on the wrong days. The upper level science teacher has been at this school for a very long time. Students learn at a young age to fear her. It is her way or the highway. She treats students, parents, and staff very, very disrespectfully. The administration is fearful of her, and will never side with the student or the parent when it concerns this teacher. Some parents will tell you that she is amazing at preparing your student for high school and college. She will prepare them, but at a terrible expense. My child is too frightened to ask her for help! The great families and great kids at this school are what save it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2012

What a wonderful school. We came to this school at the end of the school year from out of state. We were immediately welcomed into OLPH by the outstanding students, faculty and administration. The kids are happy to go to school in this nurturing, kind environment, and we are so pleased with the academics-our kids are challenged in all subjects. Highly recommend this excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2010

It is really bad. The Science and Reading are extremely good but the math is absolutely terrible. If you want your child to have a future in math or something like that, do NOT send your child here. Also, it's really like an overprised, stricter public school. Really, think about what you are putting ur child through here. Any other school is the way to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

My son was new this year and he was made to feel welcome from the very first day of school. I feel so blessed to have him in this school . I would recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

OLPH has been a nice school for my 2 kids. They are happy and like the catholic school environment. The parents and families are great and want the best for their kids. However, the principal is not very progressive and seems to do the very minimal throughout the school. The school would benefit from finding a principal that wants to be there and wants to find qualified teachers, not just the easy way out with hiring parents as teachers. It is a shame that we don't have an administrator as a principal. We really need one!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 42%
Hispanic 7% 43%
Two or more races 7% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Phoenix
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3801 North Miller Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone: (480) 874-3720

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Pima Elementary School
Scottsdale, AZ




Sierra Vista Academy
Scottsdale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT